We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
58/18 Moo 8, Haad Yao, Ko Phangan, Thailand
Announcement
New and Improved Wi-fi
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    379
    53
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
86
62
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (474)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (128)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (104)
All months
Oban
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When we were dropped off at Shiralea we were a bit worried as there wasn't a person in sight. We had a wander around to look for the bar as there was no one at reception due to the time of year. When we found the bar, we loved it. Really chilled out with reggae music, hammocks and an overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and a mate stayed here for approx 7 nights over the full moon party time. It was insane every night they hosted different activities and as we only came here by our selves we joined in with other contiki groups. The night life will not disappoint with all the different cocktail buckets the lads can make and because there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great staff who can't do enough for you, this is a really fun resort highly recommend didn't want to leave, great value for money and excellent food. Was the cheapest and best value of all the islands we visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hostel because of its amazing reviews on this and we still cannot work out how it achieved this. We planned to stay for three days during the full moon season and I wouldn't go back again. Our room was so basic to the point of it was just a bed. The safe was a wooden box with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ShiraleaBackpackersP, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the feed back on your recent stay with us. We are as the name suggest a Back Packers resort and we offer many different styles of accommodation from hostel beds, fan rooms up to large air conditioned family rooms. You booked our most basic style of lodging and the amenities are made clear on every booking engine. We... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This review is a big shout out to the awesome, friendly staff at Shiralea. They really made this resort a place worth going to. From the time we checked-in to them holding on to our bags for us for a few days while we did some island hopping, they made us feel really welcome. The bungalow itself was fairly basic,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShiraleaBackpackersP, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for writing us up a great review on Trip Adviser. By the sounds of things you really enjoyed your time with us at Shiralea. Our staff have a real passion for their jobs and it shines through in the service they offer. They strive to make everybody feel at home from the 1st moment they arrive at the resort.... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Shiralea for 3 nights, and we haven't stayed anywhere better across SE Asia. We had so much fun the whole time, the staff are great and get involved with all the fun. They had BBQ's around the pool and games all day and night. No need to leave the hotel, we were thoroughly entertained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShiraleaBackpackersP, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Shiralea Back Packers. Shiralea is a really fun place to stay, we attract amazing guests from all over the world that come together to have a great time and make some great memories. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite your stupid bell that meant my bill was huge you guys were brill. Spent a few days here and was made to feel so welcome from the outset. Great food at reasonable prices, clean toilet and shower areas, dorms were spacious enough with perfectly working air con, bungalows were even better and were like a little paradise! Plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiraleaBackpackersP, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the AWESOME review!!! The bell can be a little dangerous but your guaranteed to make an impression on all your new friends in the bar. We try to make sure their is always something going on in the resort so that all of our guests can come together and have lots of fun. The resort offers very comfortable... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Shiralea is one of the most fun hostels that Ive been too! We arrived with a tour and a UV was provided where we had to wear anything but clothes (we covered ourselves in leaves) and a quiz night with a twist! What made it one of the best hostels was the bar staff, every single one of them made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiraleaBackpackersP, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Trip Adviser. Shiralea is a really fun place to be, attracting some really cool people from all over the world. Our U.V parties and quiz nights are an awesome way to spend and evening. We have a great front of house team dedicated to making every guest... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I Stayed here for four days, and it was by far was the best hostel I stayed in for my trip over Thailand!!!! Would easily recommend to anyone who visits koh phangang. Staff are awesome, great food, and great facilities! Also close to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiraleaBackpackersP, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for writing us such a great review. We have a great little resort with a lot to offer, Great food and drink, nice facilities, awesome location and some really cool staff. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and i hope you make it back for a visit next time you find your self... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed here for 3 days, but it was wonderfull!! Very nice atmosphere in the bar and pool area. Staff very friendly and helpfull and the bungalow with hammock is basic but perfect, surrounded by palm trees. Really loved it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiraleaBackpackersP, Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We have a little slice of paradise at Shiralea and i'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We attract an amazing groups of guests in the resort resulting in a unique atmosphere that makes a trip to Shiralea special. Thanks for choosing to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay