We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Retreat

Kannan Devan Hills | AM Road, Near KSRTC Bus Station, Munnar 685612, India
Hotel amenities
Royal Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Munnar
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015
Namyy Mumbai (Bombay), India
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    23
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

I went there with my family and we all loved the cottages. Very cosy and was the perfect place for a family. The location is beautiful. Value for money. We spent a lot of time on the hammocks and the view from the resort is very refreshing. :D

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank You for sharing your comments on Royal Retreat with the Tripadvisor community. We appreciate the effort taken to pen down on Your time spend with us. We are pleased to know that You have really enjoyed Your stay with us. Looking forward to welcome You again at Royal Retreat Manager. Guest relations More 

Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

This resort is a lovely place to stay. It has a very beautiful flower & vegetable garden to enjoy which one misses out in the metro cities. Royal retreat also has a close proximity to the main town which helps the travelers to enjoy shopping in the hill town. The Hotel staff is well behaved and the food quality is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Manager at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We are glad to note that You had A great stay with us. We greatly appreciate the time take by You to review our Property on Tripadvisor. Your kind words motivate us to strive hard to make stay at Royal retreat more enjoyable Manager Customer relations More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 via mobile

Overpriced room for what you got. Musty bathroom and dirty sheets that didn't cover the mattress, in a small room. The resort restaurant served very average food, and un-stomach-able sweetened toast and salty eggs. It had a nice garden and an alright location, however I would suggest booking at a different location slightly out of Munnar. You cannot call this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Munnar hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Pune, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Munnar is a beautiful place and Royal retreat a small and cosy property on the Main road.They lack professional approach in terms of handling bookings etc and that again reiterates my stand of preferring a reputed chain of Hotels rather than small hotels to avoid such incidents.I contacted them through the website as I wanted some hotel close to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during December 2014. I paid around Rs 5300/- per night. All 4 days TV was not working. There were only 2 staff for food service and they were mainly catering to a group of foreigners who had come for cycle expedition. Overall staff was humble. One can get same room for half... More 

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We travelled south india for three weeks and stayed in a couple of homestays and hotels. The royal retreat was the most expensive hotel we booked during that time (more than twice as expensive as the others) but we got less than during our other stayes. Positive: the room was clean and breakfast ok Negative: bathroom was dirty. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Went here because it was described as reliable (or something similar) by a guidebook. It must have changed ownership or just be milking it's previous glory because it was poor, and very overpirced. Cockroaches, hot water and electricity restricted to certain hours. It may have been due to some sort of refurbishment, but if not then it really has gone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Director of Sales at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

dear guest, we are very much sorry for the inconvenience you come across our Hotel, as i said in one of my responses, normal hotel tariff in Munnar range from 2500-5000, the same is our current room rate Rs. 2500/- + taxes at the same time you can find lot of hotel rooms in metro cities below this tariff. climate... More 

Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Good hotel, clean and quiet. The rooms are large and the staff is very kind and very helpfull. Nice garden, full of flowers. Close to the KSRTC bus station and the DTPC tourist information. Sandrine & Nicolas

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Director of Sales at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

dear guest thank you very much for the appreciation given to our hotel, it will encourage our act of giving services to the guest in a higher level. More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

The Hotel is not worth the price is it offered.... Washrooms are below average and smelly.... Leakage in washrooms ... Room size is Good ... But with smelly washrooms attached, it is of no use.....I will not recommend anybody this hotel ... Rooms are not as per standards....and Room tariff is too high compared to the level of Hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Director of Sales at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

Sorry We can't identify the guest who claim that he stayed with us. We have made complaint on TripAdvisor this issue of attack from competitor but of no use. So we are explaining the same for general public who is reading the reviews More 

AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

was booked in here for 2 nites but upon looking at the room decided to look elsewhere. the bed felt damp. the sheets were stained and not clean. the manager i did not like very pushy. short fat guy. ithey gave me anothr room but the sheets still felt damp. the manager wld not let me go to another hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalRetreatMunnar, Director of Sales at Royal Retreat, responded to this review

dear guest, i am very sorry to get such a terrible response from one of our guest. first of all i am the person who represent the hotel for taking your booking. after getting the first confirmation from your side we sent you the details for online payment and you sent the payments immediately using your credit card. after one... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.6 mi away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#46 of 78 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#45 of 78 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#22 of 78 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Igloo Nature Resort
Igloo Nature Resort
#44 of 78 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green Ridge Holiday Home
1.4 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#32 of 78 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay