We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roatan Backpackers' Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
On the side road next to Roland Hardware | Sandy Bay, Sandy Bay 00000, Honduras
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roatan Backpackers' Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Roatan Backpackers' Hostel
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    31
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
18
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place has a nice atmosphere and the owner, Cecilia, is really nice, but my experience staying at the hostel wasn't the best. The room I was in was tiny and crammed full of beds. There really was no room to move and it felt claustrophobic. The door also opened directly onto the social area where people would sit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

I'm glad Cecilia, the manager, took good care of you, but I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay overall. I agree that the dorm is small when it's full (usually there's just 2-3 people, but on busy times when all 6 beds are booked, there's not a lot of extra space), and I've already planned to resolve that problem this... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is amazing: located in Sandy Bay, it's a 5 minute walk to the beach, right around the corner from the convenience store and some local eateries, and a quick, cheap cab ride away from West End. There are plenty of room options, and a pool to cool off in when it's hot outside (which is always, I can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved it! Cecilia is super nice and down to earth. She is professional, but also parties with the guests. My loft room was small, clean, and cool enough with the fan. I did a lot of cooking in the kitchen. The propane stove and borrowed utensils were more than adequate. My shower was hot 80% of the time, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the hostel twice in one trip. In the beginning as well as at the end of my trip. I enjoyed the 1bdrm apt. As for the small room (GREAT for the budget, just not for me) It was tight in the small room, however I made due. As for the 1bdrm apt. I truly enjoyed that space.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at Roatan Backpackers for 3 trips now and love it! Both Mel and Cecilia are great and accommodating. I have been in the lofted rooms, apartment and casita and have had awesome experiences in all. Love how the hostel isn't down on the West End with all of the tourists (but easy and cheap to get to)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My first time staying at a hostel was wonderful starting with my email exchanges with Mel she answered them so quick! then upon arrival I was greeted by Leanne and Cecilia who were a wealth of information and kindness! I stayed in my own room but shared a kitchen and bathroom and that was perfect for the week! I love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

excellent place since we arrived we were super nice and even sent us a taxi to the airport... cozy place , friendly people and lots of nature. The last night we had a birthday party Cecilia and had a super good . ! I recommend from Costa Rica

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I volunteered here for one month and ended up really enjoying the scenery, the local food, the gorgeous pool area, reading endless books on the ocean view deck and just soaking up some real Roatan vibes! The hostel is in a quaint residential area in Sandy Bay so you really get to acquaint yourselves with the local life. You can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for one week in a single private bed with a fan on the wall and screened windows. My room had beautiful painting making it very tropical! Although the room was small, I did not mind and place my luggage underneath the twin size bed. The hostel had a public kitchen were I cooked light breakfast and lunches and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Feels dirty, badly situated. No water in showers. No moskito nets. The place hasn't been looked after. Sany bay is not nice either. There are places, also dorms at west end. Even if they are not to find on internet. Im finished now but going for 200 characters.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your one night stay. There are not mosquito nets as all the windows are screened. The hostel normally has water 24/7, however there was one day this last week when the well was cleaned and one of the pipes got unexpectedly blocked, and once it was discovered, it was resolved by the maintenance workers that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question