We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roatan Backpackers' Hostel

On the side road next to Roland Hardware | Sandy Bay, Sandy Bay 00000, Honduras
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Roatan Backpackers' Hostel
Professional photos View all
Roatan Backpackers' Hostel
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    29
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
17
48
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars NEW via mobile

excellent place since we arrived we were super nice and even sent us a taxi to the airport... cozy place , friendly people and lots of nature. The last night we had a birthday party Cecilia and had a super good . ! I recommend from Costa Rica

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I volunteered here for one month and ended up really enjoying the scenery, the local food, the gorgeous pool area, reading endless books on the ocean view deck and just soaking up some real Roatan vibes! The hostel is in a quaint residential area in Sandy Bay so you really get to acquaint yourselves with the local life. You can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Feels dirty, badly situated. No water in showers. No moskito nets. The place hasn't been looked after. Sany bay is not nice either. There are places, also dorms at west end. Even if they are not to find on internet. Im finished now but going for 200 characters.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your one night stay. There are not mosquito nets as all the windows are screened. The hostel normally has water 24/7, however there was one day this last week when the well was cleaned and one of the pipes got unexpectedly blocked, and once it was discovered, it was resolved by the maintenance workers that... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the casita and really enjoyed the space and freedom. It was really homely and comfortable. Cecilia was on site and was always on hand to help. She was really helpful and friendly. We were away from the main action of west end but it was just a quick taxi journey and we liked the quiet. We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a loft room with shared bathroom for 6 nights. From the start I was very warmly welcomed by Cecilia and Leanne and shown around.The communal kitchen is adequate [needs a few better pots and pans}, but really doesn't see a lot of use. The kitchen acts as a hub for people to congregate then sit outside to visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is literally just a home away from home. Cecilia and the volunteers (currently leanne), make you feel like youre in a littlw honduras house off the beaten track while still being on an island famed for its beaches and tourist destinations. Couldn't have asked for lovelier hosts.. also, location perfect! Out of the hustle and bustle but a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you'll be back in the future! More 

Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed her in October of 2014 for a few days. The hostess was amazing and the customer service we received was awesome! The location was pretty good, and for the price an excellent value. The actual accommodations are basic, but we weren't expecting a 5 star hotel. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. I'm glad that Cecilia did an excellent job of making you feel at home and well taken care of. We'd love to have you back during high season, it's a very fun place when it's busy :) More 

Guatemala Department, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean and very good atention from the hostel staff. The location is good, only a block from the road, were you can take a taxi or bus to west bay. Even it is only one block away from the road, the place is very quiet. Since it is a hostel, you get the chance to know many people. I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! I agree, the hostel is a great place to meet people, that's one of my favourite parts about it. We'd love to have you back in the future! More 

Brunssum, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would recommend Roatan Backpackers' Hostel to anyone that is traveling to Roatan! Their staff treats you like family during your stay in Roatan! Also, got picked up from ferry on time and was taken to the grocery to pick up some items at no additional charge. I would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the A+ grade! We're glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again! More 

Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed 4 weeks in a private room. The hostel has a great pool and patio area out back and an oceanview deck that's great to chill out on. I met lots of great travelers. There was a communal kitchen to use, and the hostel helper cleaned it And the bathrooms each day. The area that the hostel is in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostelMel, Owner at Roatan Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We're happy you enjoyed the hostel amenities. Hope you'll be back! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Roatan Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roatan Backpackers' Hostel

Address: On the side road next to Roland Hardware | Sandy Bay, Sandy Bay 00000, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Roatan Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roatan Backpackers' Hostel Honduras - Bay Islands

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay