We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Otavalo accommodations

Hostal Aya Huma

Save
You added Hostal Aya Huma to your Saves list
Peguche | P.O. Box 98, Otavalo, Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Hostal Aya Huma
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed at this hostel twice -- I returned to show my friends because I had a wonderful time. The hostel itself I think is ideally located, in rural Peguche, not too far but not too close to Otavalo. Everything is spaced out - the rooms, the restaurant, the camp ground/ritual ground, but it was not inconvenient. There are really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Huizen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

As soon as you enter the grounds of Aya Huma you will feel her peaceful and positive vibes creep into your being. It is one of those places where you can breath again and return to the core of yourself. Your senses will be opened to the wonders of this hostel. The holy flowers that grow all over her grounds,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

In my three month travel in ecuador i've seen every kind of place you can imagine, and traveled through loads of ambiences and energies. My idea was to get a taste of all the extremes of the country, which included the cold heights of the mountains and the extreme and moist heat of the coast and jungle. The indigenous medicine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Isla Taboga, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Rooms are basic but clean. The property is very nice and the area is quiet and beautiful. We enjoyed all the meals we had in the restaurant. Taxi to Otavalo cost only $2 so you can visit the market there and then return to the quiet village of Peguche.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for a week and felt right at home... Basic rooms, but the area, the people, the service and atmosphere are just fantastic! The restaurant has a fireplace where we sat down every night and had drinks and dinner! Try a canelazo (warm drink with alcohol) after a day of exploring the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Aya Huma is an unique hostel for sure. Our group was only there for 2 nights and did not schedule a ritual ceremony but enjoyed the local flavor by sipping hot more and being entertained by the local children's performance of the tradition of the Aya Huma while we were dining on pork or chicken entrees - the pork was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I took myself to Peguche for 6 nights and days (very near Otavalo) to this recommended hostal and restaurant for a brief holiday away from Quito where I live. I was looking for quiet, cows, handmade tapestries and trekking. It was a good choice. Making the arrangements is a little haphazard but the Dutch/indigeous family who owns and runs this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Old and very cold room. Internet is one dollar extra and doesn't work in room or restaurant. In restaurant they don't speak english. Don't go there if you're a single traveller and the hotel is empty like I had. Restaurant is only place with fire but opens at 5 o clock en not an minute earlier. Receptionis very unfriendly, everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aya_Huma, Manager at Hostal Aya Huma, responded to this review

Although we had communicated a lot through e-mail before this guest had arrived, I think this is a case of false expectations. In general, we pride ourselves in creating a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere that provides each guest the opportunity for a cultural immersion, and because of that, most of our guests enjoy taking advantage of the events and ceremonies... More 

Quito
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Had a really nice and pleasant stay at Hostal Aya Huma. Owner Mieke was very helpfull and it is just a place where you stay longer then planned. Hanging out at the restaurant, joined a Themascal, nice people, so yes I had a great stay and I would recommend the hostal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oviedo, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I love Hosteria Aya Huma. We spent a day in Otavalo & then walked up to Peguche (nice walk) & spent 2 more nights in Peguche. It's a very small place but perfect if you are looking to relax and enjoy a magical place. It is very close to the Sacre Waterfall, which is worth visiting (preferably early in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostal Aya Huma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Aya Huma

Address: Peguche | P.O. Box 98, Otavalo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hostal Aya Huma

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby