We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Aya Huma

Peguche | P.O. Box 98, Otavalo, Ecuador
Hostal Aya Huma
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (17)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Belleville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Enjoyed staying at this hostel as we could easily walk to the Peguche Waterfallsl. We happened to be there at dusk so we could see Otavalo lit up in the distance. We experienced our first rain in 5 weeks in Ecuador so were thrilled to be met with a warm drink and dry out by a glowing fire in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed at this hostel twice -- I returned to show my friends because I had a wonderful time. The hostel itself I think is ideally located, in rural Peguche, not too far but not too close to Otavalo. Everything is spaced out - the rooms, the restaurant, the camp ground/ritual ground, but it was not inconvenient. There are really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Huizen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

As soon as you enter the grounds of Aya Huma you will feel her peaceful and positive vibes creep into your being. It is one of those places where you can breath again and return to the core of yourself. Your senses will be opened to the wonders of this hostel. The holy flowers that grow all over her grounds,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

In my three month travel in ecuador i've seen every kind of place you can imagine, and traveled through loads of ambiences and energies. My idea was to get a taste of all the extremes of the country, which included the cold heights of the mountains and the extreme and moist heat of the coast and jungle. The indigenous medicine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Isla Taboga, Panama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Rooms are basic but clean. The property is very nice and the area is quiet and beautiful. We enjoyed all the meals we had in the restaurant. Taxi to Otavalo cost only $2 so you can visit the market there and then return to the quiet village of Peguche.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for a week and felt right at home... Basic rooms, but the area, the people, the service and atmosphere are just fantastic! The restaurant has a fireplace where we sat down every night and had drinks and dinner! Try a canelazo (warm drink with alcohol) after a day of exploring the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Aya Huma is an unique hostel for sure. Our group was only there for 2 nights and did not schedule a ritual ceremony but enjoyed the local flavor by sipping hot more and being entertained by the local children's performance of the tradition of the Aya Huma while we were dining on pork or chicken entrees - the pork was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I took myself to Peguche for 6 nights and days (very near Otavalo) to this recommended hostal and restaurant for a brief holiday away from Quito where I live. I was looking for quiet, cows, handmade tapestries and trekking. It was a good choice. Making the arrangements is a little haphazard but the Dutch/indigeous family who owns and runs this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Old and very cold room. Internet is one dollar extra and doesn't work in room or restaurant. In restaurant they don't speak english. Don't go there if you're a single traveller and the hotel is empty like I had. Restaurant is only place with fire but opens at 5 o clock en not an minute earlier. Receptionis very unfriendly, everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aya_Huma, Manager at Hostal Aya Huma, responded to this review

Although we had communicated a lot through e-mail before this guest had arrived, I think this is a case of false expectations. In general, we pride ourselves in creating a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere that provides each guest the opportunity for a cultural immersion, and because of that, most of our guests enjoy taking advantage of the events and ceremonies... More 

Quito
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Had a really nice and pleasant stay at Hostal Aya Huma. Owner Mieke was very helpfull and it is just a place where you stay longer then planned. Hanging out at the restaurant, joined a Themascal, nice people, so yes I had a great stay and I would recommend the hostal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities