We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guanfang Resort & Villas Lijiang

No.966 Shangri-la Avenue, Gucheng District, Lijiang 674100, China
Hotel amenities
Book on
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Guanfang Resort & Villas Lijiang
Add a photo

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Beijing Region, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Lovely hotel, I stayed up there for three nights, room was very comfortable and clean facing to sown mountains. Breakfast was really good, huge variety of western, Asian and local food with brief Cantonese dim sum. I used the buffet on the second day of my stay, worth of money and a great deal of food variety. Service was good... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This review is a bit overdue ! So here goes ! Now I am NOT a great fan of Chinese hotels - so when I booked Guanfang I was taking a risk. I wanted to stay in a villa rather than a room as it was a longish 10 day stay and I didn't want to be cooped up !... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

A nice hotel with butler service and breakfast prepared in your own private unit. Rooms weren't as big as a typical 5 star hotel in China. However, it was still comfortable. As the hotel is quite big, you will need to request for transport to & fro the main lobby. Overall, this is the best hotel throughout the whole Yunnan... More 

Guanfangresorts, Manager at Guanfang Resort & Villas Lijiang, responded to this review

Thank you for the objective review and feedback ! Our private resdience rooms are designed to provide you a home away from home - so there is a lot of emphasis on the common areas and a villa style living. We are constantly enhancing our concireger services - and now provide add on tourism and car rental services as well.... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed in the tower building, which was nice (so please be clear when you're booking, maybe use a Chinese-speaking travel agent to confirm your reservation in the tower instead of a village unit), but could use a few, very inexpensive updates to significantly improve the rooms -- things such as a plastic shower curtain that needs to be replaced,... More 

Guanfangresorts, Manager at Guanfang Resort & Villas Lijiang, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a clear and objective review. You will be pleased that we have undertaken renovations and most of our rooms are now updated and refurbished. We also offer private residences and villa units for more spcious and home / family style vacations as well as full suite of toursim and car rental services. We hope... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'm staying at the village unit. Freaking smelly and dirty! The shower drain is clogged. A/c isn't working. Teapot try is dirty. Bathroom is dirty. Lounge chair is dirty. Bed is super hard. If you have heavy luggages, good luck, no elevator, you need to carry it yourself. If I could, I would pack my bags and leave immediately.

Guanfangresorts, Manager at Guanfang Resort & Villas Lijiang, responded to this review

This is a very belated respinse but we do apologize for the bad stay you had back in 2013. We did take note of your comments and in 2013 we started refurbishing our rooms and villas. All our rooms and villas are now refurbished and in modern decor with all international level amenities and facilities. Also we offer full butler... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were here for a conference. This high-rise and additional block buildings with more rooms has a wonderful airy lobby. Assistance from the front-desk staff was spotty. Most don't speak much English, but I encountered one or two that excelled and were extremely helpful. Beds were comfortable and the rooms (I had a room in the tower) were spacious and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the tower block at downtown Lijiang at 966 Shangri-la Avenue. Blooming cherry blossoms lined the streets in front of us. This hotel impresses us by their spacious room and value for money (they even throw in a free breakfast!). We were given a king size corner room which was quite spacious even though we only booked and... More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel has a large area, with many individual townhouses accessible by the golf cars. It is like the resort style in cuba and some caribbean countries, though now very much chinese style and taste. Each house has 2 floors and each floor has 2 rooms. So there are 8 of us in a group tour that live in one... More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Guanfang Hotel for 2 nights early April with our two children aged 6 and 8. We had two connected rooms. The rooms were a little dated but well furnished with tea/coffee makers, tv, robes, fresh fruit, plenty of towels, etc. The breakfast buffet had a large selection of asian dishes with some breads and pastries as... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of our group tour to Lijiang. We stayed at the highrise main building. The room is quite clean and it comes with complimentary fruit/ 2 bottled water. It is really a treat to my eyes that we can see the Jade Dragon Mountain from our hotel room.... More 

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (36)
Hotel & grounds (4)
View from room (1)
Room/suite (7)
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (16)
Hotel & grounds (5)
Bathroom (2)
Room/suite (8)
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
Gucheng District
Lijiang Spiritual Utopia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bivou
#1 of 684 in Lijiang
5.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Grand Hyatt Lijiang
#12 of 684 in Lijiang
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay