We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,341 Lijiang B&Bs / inns

Waterfront Inn

No.101 Chongren Alley, Qiyi Street, Dayan Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
Waterfront Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
91%
Ranked #34 of 1,341 Lijiang B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013
anni t Shanghai, China
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    35
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
68
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we stayed in this lovely small hotel during a recent vacation to Lijiang. It was just wonderful. It is a classical local Naxi style building with a courtyard and all wooden structure. As it is on the top of Lijiang Old Town hill area, the view is truly amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
surrey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in the Family room which is very spacious and has a little terrace where you can sit out and enjoy the sun. The hotel is very different from the modern ones we had been staying in, the furniture is all old and the building is a typical Naxi style house. The hotel arranged transport for us from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The hotel was in a beautiful old building, with wonderful rooms. I loved the heated mattresses and our room had fantastic furniture. The staff was so incredibly friendly and spoke English exceptionally well. We came to Lijiang from hiking Tiger Leaping Gorge and stayed for one night. When my husband became very ill... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We arrived at 2am after a disastrous flight with China Eastern (lost our luggage, missed our connection, completely unhelpful.... avoid them at all cost!) The hotel staff were waiting for us and helped us with our bags in the dark. It was our first hotel on our trip and after our flight we felt we had walked into an oasis... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in this lovely small hotel during a recent vacation to Lijiang. It was just wonderful. It is a classical local Naxi style building with a courtyard and all wooden structure. As it is on the top of Lijiang Old Town hill area, the view is truly amazing! Location wise, it can't be better than that if you don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

It was a great surprise to us when we passed by the tea's Lion Hill property while wondering around at the peak area. From its location we guessed the view out there should be not bad. When we walked in, it turned out to be really wonderful! This made me decide to move in the next day and took one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kunming, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Can't really recommend this place. They stuffed up our booking, the rooms downstairs are noisy, and the breakfast the worst we had in China. Poor value, compared to places nearby which looked better, and way cheaper.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thetea, Management at Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

We already reported problems this review to TripAdvisor and hope the person could provide evidence he or she actually stayed in our hotel. Due to our small size, we basically know every guest in person. We never had any guests remotely close to this "mark and sue h" with such vague claims. This person also wrote a bad review on... More

bheh1314
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights April 2012. I should have stayed for 7 but I had to change hotels as I found the walk up the hill and especially the steps to hard after recent surgery. The owner Kevin and his manager Jenny were so kind and understood the problems. Kevin even arranged for his driver to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

As a family of 5, with 3 boys in their early twenties, this ticked all the boxes. We stayed on Lion Hill, in attractive spacious suites arranged in a courtyard style, overlooking the old town and mountains in the distance. Kevin the owner speaks excellent English and was extremely helpful both before and during our stay, helping us plan our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is our second time back to this lovely place. Last time was in 2010 summer and we were with parents staying at the Waterfront property, and we enjoyed the time there. We were told by many people that Spring would be even better season with beautiful flowers everywhere and few tourist crowds in the old town than in summer.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Inn

Also Known As:
Tea Boutique Hotel
Address: No.101 Chongren Alley, Qiyi Street, Dayan Old Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,341 B&Bs / Inns in Lijiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.