We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1535 Montgomery Highway, Birmingham, AL 35216
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (12)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were in town for a graduation and booked this hotel through hotwire for a great deal. The bed was smaller than expected but was plenty comfortable, the room was updated/modern and clean. The woman at the front desk was very helpful upon our arrival. The shower had instant hot water and great water pressure. The air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I don't know how this hotel made it under the choice hotels umbrella, this hotel had a very small bed, I had to upgrade to a king, the bathroom had peeling paint, the shower rod was leaning and not tighten to the wall, the tile in the shower was old with caulk holding it together and the tub coloration looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElPaso
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

I was very optimistic going into the room as the tv was updated and the bed was pretty comfy. What I didn't know is that sleep in that bed wouldn't be happening since the bar next door had music so loud I could not only hear it but I could feel it. I decided to take a shower....big mistake. Their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Omg horrible experience! Starters the parking lot is NOT motorcycle friendly/safe. Am an experienced rider and was challenging. The hotel adjoins a juke joint if that tells you much. There were about 6 drunk patrons loitering at the front door. Was a noisy stay, the drunk patrons in and out slamming doors into the wee hours. Got a few hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JSC1111, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

At first, the way the place looked threw us off. It looked like an old mansion with rooms extending off to the side of it. The teller was unprofessional and couldn't understand what he was saying because he whispered while mumbling. The first room he gave us had such a bad odor I walked directly back out. He then gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JSC1111, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge South, Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to apologize for any inconvenience transpired upon arrival to the hotel and your overall stay with us. The staff here at Econo Lodge South takes pride in their everyday work. We are aware that our hotel does look like a... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed at this hotel when me and my family where driving back from Indiana to Florida. When we walked to the front entrance it appeared clean, so we decided to get a room non-smoking. The room we got was not only in horrible shape, but there was a horrible smell and cockroaches running around when the light came on. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JSC1111, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

If there was a bed bugs Bites never showed it to front desk upon checkout. When we call to spoke with you, you were clear enough that if the hotel doesn't give you 100% discount then you will post bad reviews on all the sites. We had 10 guest stayed after you on same bed with not bites or any... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have never stayed in a hotel such as this. Here is a list of the disturbing facts of this establishment: 1.) dirty 2.) outdated 3.) NO pool ( there actually is one, however cannot be used. It's absolutely scary looking) 4.) breakfast consists of a coupon for the Waffle House for a free sausage biscuit or waffle and coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JSC1111, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future More 

Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was a friendly and clean hotel. the room was comfortable and had a decent free breakfast.the price was fair & the people were nice. I like the HDTV and that pets are allowed. If we visit Alabama again,we will stay at Econo-lodge. We didn't stay long but enjoyed it. I wish I signed up for rewards program.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JSC1111, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you for your kind compliments of EconoLodge South. Our staff at EconoLodge truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation and I am pleased you were able to experience this first hand. Thank you for choosing the EconoLodge South and I truly hope we may welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely, Neal More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we noticed much older hotel but had charm. Once in the room we went straight to sleep. 2hours latet woke up to use the restroom and couldn't believe my eyes. Extremely dirty restroom. Wet soiled tiwel hanging from shower. Soiled dirty towel hanging from towel rack. Worst part toilet had pubic hair everywhere. I went immediately ti ftint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JSC1111, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Econo Lodge. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding Housekeeping issues on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with Housekeeping manager to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.... More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just wanted a place to stop for the night as we were only be there for a few hours. Given a room on the side of hotel away from the front highway but still could hear traffic and late at night when tavern getting out the parking lot became a raceway. The room was okay --- newer TV and nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JSC1111, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cartz95 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. We are so sorry for the incident you experienced at our property. We've addressed our housekeeping staff in regards to your review and the necessary actions have been taken. Again, we apologize for the issues and we hope to have another chance to serve you in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
#57 of 81 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#43 of 81 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay