We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marriott Birmingham

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
3590 Grandview Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott Birmingham
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Birmingham
Marriott Birmingham
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    137
    82
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
37
24
16
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The lobby area and staff were all very nice, and the rooms are comfortable, but in great need of updating...especially the bathroom. There was mildew within the tiling, stains around the toilet, and peeling wallpaper. The only other concern is there must have been a party or family reunion earlier and there were groups of people in the parking lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re pleased to hear that your accommodations were comfortable and that our staff were courteous, but truly disappointed that certain aspects were not up to par with our strict standards. We appreciate you letting us know about your concerns and we will have our Housekeeping staff pay more... More 

United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

1. Terrible desk service 2. Charged my credit card for phantom charge I got there at 11 p.m. on a Friday night with my family. We booked through Priceline. There were two groups checking in at the desk and 1 person ahead of me. They took about 10 minutes to check in the first two groups. After one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

We certainly do apologize for the challenging stay that you have described. When you inquired about incidentals, the answer you received was indeed correct, in that there should not have been any charges for incidentals. However, it seems a mistake was made and we have recently made the necessary refund to your account, hopefully clearing things up for you. We... More 

Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very nice and clean. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. I asked for a room as high as they can't get me (don't like to hear people running around above me) and the front desk clerk obliged me. Great location, just up the street from the Summit shopping. Zoo no to far. Only mins from downtown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

How wonderful to hear that your recent stay at the Birmingham Marriott provided you with a quiet and comfortable experience. We’re happy to read that our central location worked out well for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Thank you for your kind review. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They have a serious problem with their exec lounge service. The fruit was rotten. I will try to post the pictures. There was black mold on the fruit. Also small nats were flying all over the food. This is disgusting. The food variety is sub par compared to other Marriotts but this is unacceptable. Also there maids are rude and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Your review certainly has us concerned, as this is not the experience we want for our valued guests. We will share your comments with our staff in order to re-emphasize our need for superior levels of customer service and outstanding attention-to-detail. The food in our concierge lounge is monitored and replaced on a consistent basis during the hours that our... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We traveled with a baby and young child. We were very pleased with this hotel! It was clean and the beds were comfortable. It was also quiet and very secure which was nice as it was Saturday night. It's also in a pretty nice area. There were a ton of restaurants and grocery stores close by. I would stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

How wonderful to hear that our convenient location made it easy for you and your family to comfortably enjoy the Birmingham area with ease. Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our accommodations and for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Birmingham Marriott very soon! More 

Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After having our room reservations cancelled last minute at Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa, myself and our party of 10 girls ages 23-28 were directed to the Marriot Birmingham. The front desk manager at Ross Bridge informed us that the Marriot Birmingham was aware of our situation and arrival. However, when we arrived at Marriot Birmingham, none of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

We are so pleased that our staff was able to turn around a challenging weekend and make it a truly memorable stay for your entire group. It was our pleasure to welcome all of you to the Birmingham Marriott and we are so grateful for your kind acknowledgement of the efforts of our staff. It is our goal to ensure... More 

Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We called ahead the morning of checking to find out they gave our reservation away to someone that wasn't us. They recommended we "book another room online" because our rate wasn't available via phone. After repetitively telling them that we hadn't checked in already, they said they'd "call us back" -- after waiting 45-minutes, we went over there ourselves. Of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

First of all, we would like to apologize for the confusion with your reservation and are happy that in the end it worked out. All feedback we receive, positive or otherwise, is important to help us better our hotel and we appreciate your comments. We hope that we can get in touch with you to discuss your concerns further. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Only times I have stayed here is for business. Clean hotel, but rooms are nothing special. Staff is incredibly helpful. Same with restaurant staff - exceptionally nice. Probably eaten in restaurant 10 times and all meals were fine - not mind blowing, but better than average hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Birmingham Marriott with us. While we’re pleased that your stays have provided you with the necessary comforts for your business trips, we wish that your stays had been truly exceptional. Please don’t hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

Amazing hotel, friendly staff. Would stay again if in the area. Very clean, well maintained building. Was there on business but my family joined me. Zoo was nearby, so that was nice. Catering services were also excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

We’re delighted to hear that your stay at the Birmingham Marriott provided you with a convenient and comfortable place for you and your family to enjoy some quality time together. Isn’t the Birmingham Zoo a great place to visit? We’re so glad you had the opportunity to visit and we hope you will return in the near future for another... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

I stayed here for 1 night on business. The hotel is stylish and clean. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful and responsive...thank you! My room was pretty standard, except I was at the end of the hall so I think it may have been slightly larger than the other rooms, which was nice. Free wifi is always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Having a comfortable room to retreat to after a busy conference is priceless and we’re so glad the Birmingham Marriott was able to provide you with just that. We wish your stay had been a bit longer, where you could have enjoyed all the amenities we offer. Please accept our apologies for the difficulties you described in reference to our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (102)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
8.1 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#15 of 81 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay