We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marriott Birmingham

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
3590 Grandview Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Marriott Birmingham
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They tried hard, but after the third failed attempt at finding a clean room, I checked out. Housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. The restaurant, however, was excellent and great service. Hotel Manager said they could try to find another room or I could leave, the choice was mine. After that statement, the choice was clear.

Helpful?
Thank picthat
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. We are very disappointed to learn that we failed to provide you with a guest room that meets your expectations and our high standards of cleanliness. Please be assured that we are taking action to make sure our guest rooms are in top condition for future guests. We do hope that you will reconsider... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this property for business meetings around the area. Super staff!! Eve, Eric and Nelson were super. I stayed on the concierge floor (8th floor), in a king room. Nice amenities, room very clean. Concierge level food just fair, but service was excellent. Staff is super, very helpful and property does not feel that old. Typical Marriott policy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob W
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you, Bob, for your great review, and we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your kind remarks about our staff members and each of them will be flattered by your words. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Birmingham Marriott the next time your business brings you to this area. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms are fine and staff trys to accommodate. Went to front desk 3 times to unsuccessfully get my room key reset to access hotels club floor. Ran out of time finally gave up and had to settle for fast food on way to my meeting. Had similar issue once before at this property but was ultimately able to access club.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hobro3
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Please accept our apology for the troubles with your key card. We understand how frustrating that must have been, and our management team will review your comments. We are continually making improvements, and we'll look into resolving this issue. We hope that you will reconsider and give our hotel another opportunity to win you over completely. More 

South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent one night at the Birmingham Marriott on a business trip to Birmingham. The person who checked me in was very friendly and nice, and check in was quick and smooth. The lobby looked good, not shabby. The room, on the other hand, was pretty worn out, especially the bathroom. It was perfectly clean, and my bed was actually... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeannie2nyc
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We're pleased to hear you encountered courteous and efficient service from our staff and had a comfortable stay. We regret to hear that that the appearance of your guest room wasn't to your liking, and the room service was a bit slow, and for that, we apologize. We value all... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent one night here on Jan. 18,2016. ALL Staff were extremely courteous and pleasant. The hotel has the aura of visiting your Grandmother who is very old. Everything is somewhat in order, but she just can't keep up with the household chores. Throughout the hotel things were in disrepair elevator lights telling you if it was going up or down... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZippyRoo
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, and we appreciate the kind compliments to our courteous staff. It's our hope that our guests are totally satisfied with their stay, and we apologize that this wasn't your experience. Our management team values all feedback as we are always looking to improve and update our appearance. We hope to... More 

Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited the hotel for a business conference that we held at the hotel for three days. Before I get to the negatives I will say that the staff is very nice especially the Catering staff. They work so hard, long hours and are very, very friendly!! Now on to my room... The 2nd morning I woke up in my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Skeet1967
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and we appreciate the kind words regarding our dedicated staff. As the new General Manager, please accept my sincere apology. In my second week, I am obviously very disappointed reading the comments regarding the findings in your room. Very simply guests expect a clean room and clearly we failed to... More 

Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Several hotels in this categories in Birmingham are a better option. Marriott can do better with this property. Obviously I'm disappointed and will check out other places when back in town. The hotel is very dated and really needs a complete re-do. From aged lighting to carpet to furniture this place has seen better days. At check in the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank DustinKane
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Although you seemed to like our breakfast buffet and comfortable accommodations we are deeply disappointed that you had a poor experience overall. We normally pride ourselves on the genuine service from our staff, and clearly we failed during your check-in. Your comments will be forwarded to our housekeeping and front... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Overall, we had an excellent experience. The hotel was busy and bustling due to a convention, but check-in was prompt and friendly. Staff made us feel welcome and were very helpful. Room was clean, fresh smelling and comfortable. The only negative comment is that the room was worn and badly needing an update. Specifics include mattress that was coming undone... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank adventuretravelernc
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you had an excellent experience while staying with us! We are pleased that you found your accommodations clean and comfortable and that you had a peaceful night's sleep. We value our guests feedback, and we do regret that you felt that room was a bit tired. Your comments will be shared with our management team.... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I decided to go on an overnight trip for New Year's eve so, using my rewards certificate, I found and booked at this hotel. I go check in and the guy at the front desk was nice and talkative. The rooms were nice also but needs updating. A few hours went by and I realized I needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Essie B
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

We are disappointed to learn about the condition of your bathroom. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel, and this is not at all acceptable. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping team to re-emphasize our quality standards. We do regret there was confusion on the incidental charge and we hope this explanation will clear things up.... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

They have great service. They are safe and offer great business amenities. Close to lots of great restaurants. They have an indoor pool and nice gym. The concierge floor is great as well and has a nice selection of food at breakfast and dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Jill D
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

We appreciate your gracious review, and we are thrilled you had a positive experience. It's great to learn that our fitness center, indoor pool, and an array of business amenities were just a few things that made your stay so great! All of us at the Birmingham Marriott can't wait to welcome you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Perimeter Park
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay