We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marriott Birmingham

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
3590 Grandview Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Marriott Hotels to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Marriott Birmingham
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    138
    84
    24
    16
    7
See reviews for
38
25
16
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was a bit weary to stay after some of the recent reviews... But, I must say we found the hotel to be quite lovely. Yes, it is an older property but personally, I found that to be the charm of it. We checked in late evening, our toddler was wound up from the drive and everyone was beyond accommodating.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great hotel in it's day. Still a great location but the hotel is SO dated. The rooms need a remodel in the worst way! Checked in recently to a room that obviously had not been completed by housekeeping and had to ask for another room. The owners need to help this place out. It's the Hyatt for me on my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

We’re happy that the central location of our hotel worked out well for your stay, but it is truly disappointing to read that your expectations were not met otherwise. We will share your comments with our management team to help us in future discussions regarding improvements around our hotel. It would be our hope that you would reconsider your choice... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 5 nights while traveling for work - not the true Marriott experience at all. This Marriott is old, the rooms have a humid/moist feel, and the hall smells odd. I woke up drenched in sweat almost every night because the room is very humid, even though the thermostat reads 65 degrees F. I do have to say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

We are truly disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not provide you with the comfortable stay you expected. We encourage our guests to reach out to us with any issues that may arise during their stay. It would have been our pleasure to have our Maintenance Engineers inspect the AC unit in your room, and work... More 

Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited hotel on business. Arriveda at 530 pm on a Tuesday. Room was not ready. No ETA was given. When I asked the front desk referred me to who assume was the housekeeping manager for an answer. He promised I would get a room right away. Never saw him again. 1hour later got a room and access to concierge lounge.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

It is certainly disheartening to hear about your recent challenging stay with us. Our goal is to provide our valued guests with the utmost in customer service and comfort, and it seems we fell short of that goal with your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, where... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Marriott is desperate for a remodel. The rooms are worn, my bathroom shower/tub is cracking. The furniture in the concierge lounge is old and frayed. My ac ran all night without ever really cooling the room. It's not a bad hotel, but really needs to be updated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your perspective regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you alerting us to your concerns with certain areas of our property and will have our Maintenance Engineers and Housekeeping staff take a closer look at any repairs that are needed. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future for the... More 

Leesburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located several miles from downtown in a nice area. All hotel personnel we came into contact with were pleasant and attentive to our needs. Our room was clean and well maintained although we detected a slight odor of tobacco in our non smoking room. The public areas were also clean and well maintained. Our overall impression was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed courteous service from our dedicated staff and that your stay at the Birmingham Marriott was comfortable. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered and thank you for alerting us to your concern. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we hope it’s soon. More 

Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When you walk in, you get the impression that this hotel is "high end". Beautiful marble floors welcome you as you check in, as well as a big, beautiful fountain in the center of lobby area. Then you walk in your room. First, the smell of oldness hits you. Then the outdated wallpaper in the bathroom and border in your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your perspective with us. While we’re happy to read that you received courteous service and enjoyed a restful night’s sleep, we do regret that there were aspects of your stay that did not impress you. Our website is a very good place to browse when questioning what amenities are included with your stay. We thank you... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lobby area and staff were all very nice, and the rooms are comfortable, but in great need of updating...especially the bathroom. There was mildew within the tiling, stains around the toilet, and peeling wallpaper. The only other concern is there must have been a party or family reunion earlier and there were groups of people in the parking lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re pleased to hear that your accommodations were comfortable and that our staff were courteous, but truly disappointed that certain aspects were not up to par with our strict standards. We appreciate you letting us know about your concerns and we will have our Housekeeping staff pay more... More 

United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1. Terrible desk service 2. Charged my credit card for phantom charge I got there at 11 p.m. on a Friday night with my family. We booked through Priceline. There were two groups checking in at the desk and 1 person ahead of me. They took about 10 minutes to check in the first two groups. After one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

We certainly do apologize for the challenging stay that you have described. When you inquired about incidentals, the answer you received was indeed correct, in that there should not have been any charges for incidentals. However, it seems a mistake was made and we have recently made the necessary refund to your account, hopefully clearing things up for you. We... More 

Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

The hotel is very nice and clean. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. I asked for a room as high as they can't get me (don't like to hear people running around above me) and the front desk clerk obliged me. Great location, just up the street from the Summit shopping. Zoo no to far. Only mins from downtown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarriottBirmingham, General Manager at Marriott Birmingham, responded to this review

How wonderful to hear that your recent stay at the Birmingham Marriott provided you with a quiet and comfortable experience. We’re happy to read that our central location worked out well for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Thank you for your kind review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (124)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay