We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Birmingham hotels

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Resource Center Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35242
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #43 of 82 hotels in Birmingham
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
altomeal Bradenton, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (65)
  • Photos (41)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
11
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Before we left the hotel, I had to stop and tell the front desk staff how amazing they were. The manager, and every front desk person we encountered would say hello, even when I was not looking. I would turn around, thinking they were speaking with someone else, and it would turn out to be me. Before my staff arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Inside the room was a need for repair and was not clean. Borderline rude check in from clerk, but made up the next morning with a really nice lady. Breakfast was lacking and poorly managed. We will find another hotel in the area next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry your stay wasn't what you expected. I hope the new year is great for you and your travels. Mike Johnson General Manager More

League City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were just passing through Alabama and wanted a place close to the freeway with easy access. The hotel is located a couple of miles off the freeway and we drove past because the street sign was missing. The room was clean but expected a little more for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you had a nice trip and hope to see you in the future. Have a nice and safe Holiday, Mike Johnson General Manager More

Lebanon, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Typical mid level hotel. Clean, neatly kept outside. Clean lobby and halls. Room was average size neat and clean. Bath was in need of repair. Toilet did not flush completely. Check in was prompt and courteous. Very difficult to find for a first time guest, cannot be seen from Hy 280, access is complicated. Be sure to study and plan... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with the feedback. We try to provide Southern Hospitality to all of our guests. I will speak with my team concerning breakfast. Have a safe holiday, Mike Johnson General Manager More

Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hotel was in so-so shape. Our first room has broken toilet, but staff moved its quickly. Needed better cleaning staff in general. Some walls were poorly patched. A few bugs from window but nothing "nasty". Would stay again if price is right, but would probably prefer another area hotel in this class. Breakfast was decent and staff was friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I know how frustrating travel can be and I am sorry yours wasn't as smooth as you expected. Please accept my apology. Hope to see you in the future, Mike Johnson General Manager More

Norcross, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I plan many meetings in my role all the time and working with this hotel has been the worst experience yet. I should have ran the other way when I found out they had absolutely no catering, no amenities and was in need of an update but I needed something in that area. Initially I was working with Karen Regula.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Sullivan L, Please accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you endured during the recent meeting and all activities leading up to your event. As you noted, Karen is no longer with our hotel and her position has not yet been filled. I truly apologize I was not as respondent as I was trying to manage through the details... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My stay here was more than we expected to get. We had a wonderful time in Birmingham and our hotel was the icing on the cake. Our room was nice and clean and the frontdesk staff was great. We were impressed with how professional and courteous your overnight girl was....especially since it was 4 am. the desk staff alone will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review

Alittlethisandthat, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We know your time is valuable. I will share your glowing comments with all team members. I am very happy we went above your expectations. I hope to see you in the future. Warm Regards, Mike Johnson General Manager More

Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel needs some attention. Rooms was not very clean. A/c didn't work very well. All in all just a bad stay. I would not recommend staying here to anyone. The area the hotel is in is close to the events we were there to do. Other than that, I would stay away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to bring this concern to my attention. I will seek to see what the reason was at the time that you occupied the hotel, was not up to your standards as a valued guest. This is not typical of our establishment and I will see what happened. Best Regards, Mike Johnson General Manager More

Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I bit off of I459, but it was the only IHG property in the area that would allow me to have five people in a room. Another average HIE property. Breakfast area was dark at opening time. Front desk told me to go on in and I located the light switch and turned on the lights. Kids were looking forward... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. I know frustrating it can be when kids are looking forward to pancakes and there some reason they can't get them. I have had the same issue too. I am sorry the machine was malfunctioning at the time of your stay. The machine has been look at and is working presently. Again, I appreciate you... More

Chelsea, Alabama
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Reserved a Double Queen Suite a week in advance. walked in at 11:00AM and asked to be called when the room was ready. I received a call at 2:00PM and was told that there were rooms ready, but there would not be a double queen suite available. I chose a King Suite with disappointment as it was for a family... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Eric P, Thank you for your comments. I will research the reason the room type was switched. I will also speak with the young man who didn't follow thru. I have taken the charges off of your credit card. I understand how frustrating it can be with a family to try to get away and feel empty. I hope... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness

Address: 156 Resource Center Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham Inverness 280 Experience southern hospitality at our charming hotel in Birmingham, Alabama, located on Hwy 280 right off Interstate 459. This Birmingham hotel is situated near several Alabama attractions including the famous Barber Motorsports, Porsche Sports Driving School and Talladega Super Speedway, which houses a 143,000 seat raceway and is adjacent to the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum. Families can appreciate this Birmingham hotel's easy access to several popular family-friendly Birmingham attractions including Legion Field, the Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame, Vulcan Park and Alabama Adventure Theme Park. For a look back into history, guests can visit the Civil Rights sites that mark the South s struggle to embrace diversity. Monumental sites consist of the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, Kelly Ingram Part, and the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute. Unlike other Birmingham hotels, the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Hotel provides business travelers with several quality business services, which include on-site meeting rooms and a 24-hour business center. High-speed, wireless Internet access is also available. During your Birmingham vacation, enjoy our choice hotel amenities such as an indoor pool & whirlpool, free Internet access and a complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Birmingham hotel deals and rates and book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
96

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer