We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    398
    144
    42
    15
    12
See reviews for
199
151
38
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (611)
  • Mar-May only
    (173)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (200)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Indian Trail, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff was very friendly, and the rooms were excellent. I was here on business and it was nice to have a clean, comfortable room to rest in. Also, the lounge here was nice. Will definitely stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louisville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were tremendously impressed with the size of rooms and the finishes and furnishings of the Hotel. The breakfast buffet offered a good variety. Noise from the room above was the only spoiler to an otherwise perfect experience.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We truly enjoyed our stay this weekend. When I called the day we were to arrive to ask about the check in the manager was super friendly. He said "you are our guests you come whenever you can". We were tired when we arrived and the young lady at the front desk had us checked in within 3 minutes. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm from Ohio and headed to Florida...we drove all day and were very tired. So decided we would find a hotel..called a head and they held a room for us! This place is really nice..nice friendly staff...wonderful heated pool..even a gym...the Jacuzzi was much needed! Rooms were better than expected for the price we paid! I will defiantly come back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lower Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was clean and well maintained. Breakfast bar was very good. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Only complaint I have is they were out of cookies when I checked in. But that's OK. I am not suppose to eat them anyway.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review

Trav6336, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly! That’s our goal for each and every one of our guests! I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t get a cookie at check-in. Our bar attendant bakes cookies during the Manager’s Reception every Monday... More 

Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So convenient to bham southern and Samford. Staff very helpful with maps and directions. We had a king suite which is good for a couple or small family. Close to shopping and restaurants. Good value and great service. I will definitely stay here shuttling my child to and from college.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review

Bethfreeman, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel as well our location in reference to Birmingham Southern and Samford University. We are located right off Interstate 65 making us convenient to many restaurants, shops, and attractions. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

BW Plus properties are becoming my favorite. Large, clean renovated suites that are almost like mini apartments. Friendly staff, well maintained property and an excellent hot breakfast all at a decent rate. The surrounding area had plenty of retail and restaurants. Access was easy to/from I65, downtown and the Hoover area. I don't think the grounds are patrolled at night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review

Steve H, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for bringing to our attention about the teenagers in the parking lot. Although Homewood Police Department patrols our parking lot... More 

Nashville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is always great, the rooms are nicer than the $70 they cost. The only down side is their TV and internet service, during rain or bad weather it is hard to get a movie channel. I don't know why I have to type a minimum of 200 characters, I used to have to do this when I got... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review

Daniel S, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience! We hope that you will stay with us again in the future! Thank you again for your review! Jocelyn and the ENTIRE BEST WESTERN PLUS STAFF More 

New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We would definitely stay here again. Room was very nice and big. Very pleased! Would definitely recommend! Everything in the room was updated. The hotel has a laundry facility, gym, and pool. Next to restaurants and grocery stores, nice area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review

AmandaCab, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite! We appreciate you recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. We are located right off Interstate 65 making us convenient to many restaurants, shopping, and attractions in... More 

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was very clean and super comfortable. Most of the staff treated you like you were a criminal for things like late check out and they also have a menu things that if happen to be missing you at check out would be added to your bill at outrageous prices. This made me nervous--what if the housekeeping miscounted or decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review

Laney J, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your kind compliments about the hotel. We are sorry to hear that you felt like a criminal. We do offer late checkouts subject to availability. The menu you refer to is a list of items that guests may be charged for should they decide to remove... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay