We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Kimal

Domingo Atienza 452 | Centro Histórico, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kimal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Kimal
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    81
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
28
77
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

It was our second time around but it did not live up to our great memories. The rooms are still nice and spacious and very clean but they feel now a bit dated. One of the receptionist was quite rude and did not wish to speak a word of English and let us struggle in Spanish when we had heard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pobkim, Director Comercial at Hotel Kimal, responded to this review

First to say thanks for having the impulse to return and I would have been interested to know when you were here before. So sorry you had a bad experience with the receptionist. As concerns the jacuzzi, for ecological reasons, it is only heated when you ask at reception ahead of time because there isn´t a constant demand for it... More 

London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The hotel is split in two sections: we were in “Poblado” which consists of individual units comprising bedroom, bathroom and veranda. Good points: Very close to the main street (Caracoles) with its restaurants, souvenir shops and tour companies. Free internet works well. Fridge in room for cold drinks. Two plunge pools – very welcome as the roads are very dusty.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I just popped into hotel Kimal for a smoothie (which was delicious) and then I didn't want to leave. It's a relaxing and welcoming oasis in the desert and the perfect way to reals whilst travelling. My treatment was excellent and I left feeling revitalised.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Built in the traditional adobe, with cabin-like rooms this place has it’s eco credentials blatantly displayed. The rooms are beautifully presented, although lighting can be an issue sometimes. The in-house restaurant is lovely and food is good quality and well presented, with reasonable prices although not the cheapest you can get in San Pedro, but then it is one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Stayed here with my wife and 2 kids and it was the perfect hotel for us. The location is fantastic - in town but very quiet. We arranged for a shuttle from the Calama airport (Sky Airlines is cheapest and very good) and did not need a car. We really like how shaded and wind protected the hotel and rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel keeps it super clean and the staff comes by twice a day. The concierge is a little overwhelmed. It wasn't till the third day that we were told we should leave our key with the front every time we leave. The excursion we took was a tad overpriced but they did have a lovely snack for us at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We, two adults, stayed 4 nights and were very happy with the accommodations, good taste of decor and conditions of facilities. It's location is ideal. The personnel is friendly, helpfully and well trained. Would recommend it to anybody visiting San Pedro de Atacama.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Ok where do i start....not good from the start really.. I arrived really unwell having had a bug previously and needed heating in a room... a gas heater was brought as the heater itself didnt work..no problem...the gas ran out at night and was replaced when I mentioned it to the English speaking manager the next day...ok no problem although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

For the price we got off the internet, $150/night, it met our expectations, warm heater and shower, turn down service, and packed breakfast if you had to leave early for day trips, Unique adobe room, low lighting, on quiet street yet close to square and Main Street. Receptionist is not fluent in English and we have to accept the no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of where the action is in San Pedro de Atacama. Room was fine with gas central heating and shower so easy to adjust to a constant hot which is not the norm. The staff at this hotel are so accomodating and helpful, especially the Receptionists who are willing to help you with phone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question