We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mingalar Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Phaung Daw Pyan Road | Mingalar Qr., Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mingalar Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is located within walking distance of all important sites in Nyaung Shwe. Special feature is the hotel pool. The rooms are spacious although the bathroom could have a refurbishment. Breakfast was reasonable. Staff was very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank F W V
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed here for only 1 night. We stayed in the old wing. The price is very low so we didn't expect anything. However the room is Okay for me. As it's the old wing, yes! it's kind of old but they tried hard to keep the room clean and comfortable! No kettle in the room but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ollieee
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the old wing, which wasn't really worth the money but wasn't quite as miserable as some of the reviewers have stated. Totally acceptable breakfast and pool but not as nice as the pics might have you believe. One caveat: spoke to a couple of high-ranking military guys outside and they seemed to be on very friendly (maybe too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon G
mingalarinn, Manager at Mingalar Inn, responded to this review

Thank for review. If you think our room rate is not wroth. let me compare with the cheapest accommodation in our town. The cheapest accommodation in our town is dormitory and it is about 15$ for one person. For two people have to spend about 30$ in dormitory . Our standard room is between 35 $ & 40$ for double... More 

Brisvegas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a large, upstairs room in the older part of the hotel, no frills, but no unpleasant surprises either. Bed is like any other in burma - unforgiving, but that's why a massage is needed - Likewise the shower; an old style mixed shower/toilet combo. Breakfast is fine by local standards and position couldnt be better. There isnt a jug... More 

Helpful?
Thank Prottle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So I stayed here with my brother about a week ago -- the last review below (I believe I'm entitled to my own review as well). Buyer beware -- if you book a standard room it is essentially a hovel, clearly not kept up anytime in the last 15 years. I can't comment on the quality of the so-called deluxe... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob S
mingalarinn, Manager at Mingalar Inn, responded to this review

Hello, After reading this review , we can feel that you (May be angry). Be careful , when is angry you can not see the truth. (((((My view is there are many hotel and guest house in town now. If you are looking for a better room there are many place to choose and better than our standard room. OK,... More 

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beware! When we arrived at the hotel we were ushered to an older part of the hotel not shown in any of the pictures (essentially a completely different place). There was mold all over the bathroom and cracks in the ceiling in the room, and additionally there were many mosquitos in the room. The wifi did not work so we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
mingalarinn, Manager at Mingalar Inn, responded to this review

Thank for review. When you booked the room from online, we always reply information about the hotel and room location as the following. (((((Hotel information; we have two different building. (1)Pool side building; junior suite room only. (2)Original building ( Not pool side); Standard room , Standard with bathtub room , Family room. (Swimming pool can use with no charge.)))))))... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a family room in the old wing. While they did a great job with the decor - the room was a little tired - especially the bathroom. Only one outlet which meant charging devices had to be taken in turns. Breakfasts were really good. Staff went out of their way to help out.

Helpful?
Thank GenevieveFS
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great 4 night stay here over Christmas and what a relief not to have tacky decorations all over the place. Really pleased with the Junior Suite rooms that gave on to the pool area but had their own sun loungers. If you're picky you might be disappointed with the bathrooms. Staff friendly and helpful and the daily fresh lime welcome... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bunaken1990
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

It has been a pleasure to stay at this hotel. he location is fine in order to visit Nyaung Shwe. The hotel has a nice breakfast room on the first floor. The room was ok. Tasting breakfast, very nice and friendly owners.

Helpful?
Thank TheEuropean79
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in Dec 15. Good location, especially if you are ok on a bike. The staff were really friendly. Breakfast was cooked as requested (no buffet) but was great. Loved the banana crepes! The Wi-Fi was a bit intermittent so we would often use it at reception where it was better. Room was much larger than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyaung Shwe
0.7 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.4 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#8 of 24 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#2 of 24 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Brilliant
Hotel Brilliant
#2 of 45 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#10 of 45 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Empress Hotel
Golden Empress Hotel
#7 of 45 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay