We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Ubatuba hotels

Pousada Picinguaba

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua G 130 | Vila Picinguaba, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pousada Picinguaba to your Saves list
Pousada Picinguaba
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
75%
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Ubatuba
A recent review
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    19
    15
    22
    6
See reviews for
33
93
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 4 days at the Pousada at Picinguaba last week, and have to say it is one of the finest experiences we have ever had - we just loved everything. First the atmosphere of a truly unspoilt tropical fishing village protected from the ocean by a string of jewel like islands - and wonderful stretches of deserted beach to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We went first to Catucaba, the "sister" fazenda, and a fantastic place too, up in the mountains -then to Picinguaba. Most people stay just a few days, we where there for six days. The place is special and you have to be able to see the unique qualities, a visit in a protected unspoilt area, a hotel basking in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We selected pousada picinguaba in between our iguazu and rio stays hoping to relax for 4 days and mostly enjoy beach life. I'm in favour of small simple hotels offering genuine food as long as they don't set unrealistic expectations. This was not a luxury stay nor was it a special experience. This is a guest house with a pretentious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really thank to each of our guest that posts reviews about our hotel. Our senior management take them very seriously and appreciate them. We are certain that they help us improve overall. All our staff in Picinguaba is very saddened to read about your experience. That said, we think is important to share some information and explanation... More

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart, Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was the highlight of our Brazilian trip. The lodge is secluded on a forested peninsula and has spectacular views of the bay and mountains. Despite the feeling of seclusion, it is a very short walk down the the authentic, friendly, tiny fishing village and beautiful beach. Its a great launchpad to explore what must be one of the nicest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are proud that you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to combine the local atmosphere and amazing surroundings. It also makes us very happy that you liked our beaches….and coming from Mauritius! Hope you come and kayak on them again!! All the best, Oseias More

Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The place, the people, the energy, the colors, the flowers, the food, the locals, the weather (rainy and sunny), the temperature, the flow, the plans, the sounds, the water, the fish, the fruits, the smiles, the birds, the naps... everything is absolutely fantastic in the Pousada. The real luxury in a tiny little fishermen town between Sao Paulo and Rio... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so so much for all these kind words… We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed Picinguaba. We will take your challenge of inventing a new adjective….quite a big one! In the meantime try to express it by: “Natural Luxury, Real Brazil” Everyone in Picinguaba sends their warm regards, Oseias Castro More

Burien, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have travelled to Brazil a number of times on business, but this was the first time my wife and 7 year old son joined. We splurged on the "real Brazil" package with 4 days at Picinguaba and then 2 at Fazenda Catacuba. Although a bit pricey, both were spectacular - great food, friendly helpful people, lots to do, particulary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for sharing your experience with us, all of us are delighted to read your comments about your family holiday in both of our properties, Pincinguaba and Catucaba. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed our concept of Real Brazil - deserted beaches and also an authentic Fazenda with it’s own living culture. We shared your... More

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a terrific honeymoon at the Pousada Picinguaba. We stayed for 8 nights in the honeymoon suite which had a wonderful view. The room was filled with orchids at all times. We went kayaking to the private beach across the way and the hotel packed us a waterproof lunch with fruit, sandwiches and water. The food at the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Easterton Uk
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We decided to stay at Pousada Picinguaba at the end of our third visit to Brazil from United Kingdom. We knew that we would want to relax in superior surroundings after having early morning starts in both the Pantanal and the Amazon. We were not disappointed, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedroom and balcony were comfortable.We chose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful words about Picinguaba and taking the time to review our hotel. We are passionate about what we do and delighted to hear that you enjoyed the character and atmosphere of our staff. We also appreciate your comment regarding the evening meal. In fact, we are in the process of redesigning our... More

Liss, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I spend 4 nights here as part of a 12 day trip to Brazil and wish we could have spend so many more. We arrived on a cloudy day which turned into a very rainy one but enjoyed swimming in the pool accompanied by the tropical rain, the staff put the sauna on for us to warm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. It was such a pleasure having you at our special location and knowing that you left happy with this unique experience. It is rewarding for all of us that you truly enjoy our concept. What you mention about the food, the rooms and the location is exactly what we want our... More

Meudon-la-Foret, France
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very bad memories at Pousada Picinguaba for our honey moon in Brazil! In winter (summer in Europe) the hotel is a little crowed and very noisy, the small swimming pool is too small and the beach too far away. We were surprised to see that the beach down in the village is polluted by sewage. Rooms and furniture are very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pousada_Picinguaba, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Picinguaba, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost, we really appreciate you took the time to share your comments about your stay with us. Our guest feedback is very important and we take it very seriously. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a positive and pleasant experience during your honeymoon stay in Picinguaba. That said, we value everyone’s... More

Been to Pousada Picinguaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Picinguaba

Also Known As:
Pousada Picinguaba Hotel
Pousada Picinguaba Hotel Ubatuba
Pousada Picinguaba Ubatuba, Brazil
Address: Rua G 130 | Vila Picinguaba, Ubatuba, State of Sao Paulo 11680-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Ubatuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ubatuba
#3 Family Hotel in Ubatuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Picinguaba 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Picinguaba overlooks a peaceful bay at the heart of the Natural Park of Serra do Mar, the tropical coastal forest running between Rio and São Paulo, about half an hour's drive south of Paraty.It is the only charming hotel in a 30km radius. It faces the sea and a 3 km-long protected sandy beach. The hotel offers (09) nine comfortable rooms all opening onto the natural surroundings and the sea, including a dream honeymoon Suite with en suite jacuzzi and a breathtaking view of the ocean. The local road stops at the beach and one has to walk the last 250m to the hotel, nestled in the forest.Everything here is attuned to the spirit of the place, with nothing to disturb nature's magic: no TV or telephone in the rooms, no Internet, no air-conditioning. This place is for you to be in a different world, the only sounds are the wind in the palm trees and the sea gently lapping the shore.Pousada Picinguaba was selected in HIP HOTELS as one of the 80 most extraordinary hotels around the world and was featured in National Geographic Stay List 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Picinguaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Picinguaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.