We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sampa Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Rua Girassol, 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 5433001, Brazil
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sampa Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sampa Hostel
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    43
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
7
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good localization and price. It is closer to a lot of bars and places at Vila Madalena. You don´t have to take a taxi. The room looks clean and comfortable. I loved the service and staff. They are very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved Sampa Hostel and their service! I felt like I was home with my friends and the room is very clean and comfortable, but they need to change or start a consciousness sustainable. There's no separates baskets for garbage.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sampah2014, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Leticia! Thanks for your comments! Actually the garbage is separate but just "green" and "red" baskets, because it's not necessary to separate everything here. The cleanning lady is oriented about the garbage and once in a week there is a truck that cames to colect the reciclable garbage. Hope to see you again here! Best regards, Sampa Hostel More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We arrived late in the evening to São Paulo with no accom booked... Staff were very helpful, we got a private room which was very big and ensuite... Artistic vibe to the place in keeping with the area-good breakfast, would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Seymor, thanks for your words, hope to see you again! Best regards! More 

Jundiai, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I really liked to stay here. It was just for one night but it was a great experience. Deborah was super cool with us, giving information and interacting. I was with a friend, it was her first time in a hostel and she really loved it too. The location is nice, relatively close to the subway and closer to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Cybelle! I'm so glad that you liked!! Hope to see you again soon! Best regards! Deborah More 

Aracaju, Sergipe, Brazil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I was staying in Sampa Hostel for a few days, and I felt quite comfortable. I went to watch the show band "Queens of the Stone Age", and took a few more days in the city. Place very well located, close to great restaurants and bars. Wherever you go in São Paulo, my destination will be Sampa Hostel! Thanks for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Erik! Thanks for your words! I'm very happy that you had a nice time here! Hope to have you here again for another rock and roll concert heheheh!!! Best Regards, Deborah More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here during World Cup. The accommodation was simple but clean and Deborah was super friendly. However our experience was tainted by other staff who were quite rude and acted as though any request was a major inconvenience. Also, I get that we were there during World Cup, but I do think that letting people party until 5am is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, how are you? Vila Madalena was the place were party happened during the World Cup. Most of people chosed stayed here because of that, and I thought that you were having fun with your friends, sorry that you were not in the mood like the others at the hostel, you should told us about the noise and then we... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I am 38 years old travelling south America for 5 months. Managed to pick this Hostel by chance.....and glad did!! It is very Brazilian style. I love to party and so does this place:-) one of the Owners Deborah and main cool Lara Adrianna ate just doo welcoming. On my check in I got a smile bar of chocolate, Brazilian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Deborah_Cavalieri, Owner at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Darren! I'm so happy that you had a great time here! Hope to see you again! Best Regards, Deborah More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Good Hostel, in a nice part of sap Paulo. The stuff was really friendly and always willing to help. Only negative to say about this hostel is that's a little but price. But definitely a recomandation if you are willing to pay a little more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santpoort-Zuid, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you're going for cheap and basic this is your spot. People are really friendly and it has a positive feel. But personally I would have liked a little more charm and comfort. The building is rundown, pretty bare. But hey, what was I expecting. For the price, it's a good deal. I wouldn't have minded to pay a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Martino, I´m really sorry that you didn´t like our structure, but rundown it´s to much to say about the house. I don´t know why you had this feeling because in December we made all the maintenance for the high season and everrything is fine, but maybe you didin´t feel so comfortable, it happens sometimes when we are travelling... Thanks... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

What I loved about the hostel was it's location. It's in Villa Madalena which is where I would live if I had to move to São Paulo. Laid back, adorable area. The dorms are standard and clean. The common area is fine. The staff is helpful. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hope to see you again, thanks for your words! Best regards, Sampa Hostel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
2:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Pinheiros

Neighborhood Profile
Pinheiros
Exploring Pinheiros, a neighborhood known for cozy restaurants and cafes, you will notice a youthful energy. Several cultural centers and institutes surround the area and even its main church, Calvário, hosts a traditional Brazilian “Festa Junina” - a celebration with traditional music, dance, and food during the months of June and July. On the weekends, residents gather at Benedito Calixto Square, a loud and crowded area where people enjoy live music drinks alongside the antiquities fair.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question