We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rua Girassol, 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 5433001, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sampa Hostel to your Saves list
Sampa Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
88%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good Hostel, in a nice part of sap Paulo. The stuff was really friendly and always willing to help. Only negative to say about this hostel is that's a little but price. But definitely a recomandation if you are willing to pay a little more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santpoort-Zuid, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you're going for cheap and basic this is your spot. People are really friendly and it has a positive feel. But personally I would have liked a little more charm and comfort. The building is rundown, pretty bare. But hey, what was I expecting. For the price, it's a good deal. I wouldn't have minded to pay a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Martino, I´m really sorry that you didn´t like our structure, but rundown it´s to much to say about the house. I don´t know why you had this feeling because in December we made all the maintenance for the high season and everrything is fine, but maybe you didin´t feel so comfortable, it happens sometimes when we are travelling... Thanks... More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

What I loved about the hostel was it's location. It's in Villa Madalena which is where I would live if I had to move to São Paulo. Laid back, adorable area. The dorms are standard and clean. The common area is fine. The staff is helpful. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hope to see you again, thanks for your words! Best regards, Sampa Hostel More

Baar, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hostel is very cosy and charming. The staff is very friendly and helps you with everything you need. The rooms are simple but clean and they do have lockers. The breakfast is included and very nice. And they still have computers with free Internet access for people who are travelling without smart phone-like me :) The hostel is located... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love this place, clean, well equipped friendly hostal in the great location of Villa Madalena, the super cool are of Sao Paulo. But whats really special about this hostal is the staff working there. They are all very nice and make you feel really welcome there. They help you with all your little requests and know a lot about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at Sampa Hostel for three nights and was very pleased. The environment was so nice and the staff so helpful and friendly so it felt like we had knew them for a year. Well almost. We got maps and all the advices we needed. The breakfasts was also one of the best on my trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vienna, Va
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed 12 days at the Sampa Hostel, and I highly recommend it! The location is great -- right in the center of Vila Madalena, a stone's throw from great bars and restaurants. Friendly staff, they took me in as a part of their family and made my time in Brazil very memorable! Thank you Sampa!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Konstanz, Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We felt good accommodated at the Sampa Hostel. It was clean and nice. Especially the staff of the Hostel should be remaked positivly, Petro and Natalie gave us good advice for sightseeing and helped by booking the next hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

the staff was very friendly especially pedro the receptionist with his insider-tips was extremely helpful! also the breakfast was very good and the bedrooms also! i was very content with this hostel! all in all i would highly recommend this hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Araraquara, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

In particular i had a bad stay in this hostel, i recomend you to not stay here. First when i came, an owner friend car´s was blocking the entrace and i had to wait 30 min to that man make me the favor of move his car! Later facilites are so deficient, i think they do not have the minimun... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah_Cavalieri, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

First of all, it is impossible to identify who you are. You did not sign your review or gave us the date that you stayed here at the hostel. None of the staffs remembers any situation like that. What means that you did not complain about anything to us, directly, at any time. And on March we were full almost... More

Been to Sampa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampa Hostel

Also Known As:
Sampa Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil
Address: Rua Girassol, 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 5433001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 245 Specialty lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for people with young spirit who look for an environment of integration, with an affordable price and safety as if they were in a hotel.Sampa Hostel is part of Hostelling International and is located in the center of Vila Madalena, a super cool neighborhood full of bars, clubs, restaurants and art galleries.Offering single, double, couple and family rooms and also dorms, Sampa Hostel has a 24 hour reception, personalized service and bilingual staff ready to provide full information on what to do in the city, where to go and how to arrive.Sampa Hostel is certificated as one of the Quality Hostels from HI.We are waiting for you to show the largest city in South America, in a totally different way that you have never seen so far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Sampa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.