We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sampa Hostel

2.5 of 5 Rua Girassol, 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 5433001, Brazil
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sampa Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sampa Hostel
Sampa Hostel
Sampa Hostel
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    33
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening to São Paulo with no accom booked... Staff were very helpful, we got a private room which was very big and ensuite... Artistic vibe to the place in keeping with the area-good breakfast, would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Seymor, thanks for your words, hope to see you again! Best regards! More

Jundiai, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I really liked to stay here. It was just for one night but it was a great experience. Deborah was super cool with us, giving information and interacting. I was with a friend, it was her first time in a hostel and she really loved it too. The location is nice, relatively close to the subway and closer to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Cybelle! I'm so glad that you liked!! Hope to see you again soon! Best regards! Deborah More

Aracaju, Sergipe, Brazil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I was staying in Sampa Hostel for a few days, and I felt quite comfortable. I went to watch the show band "Queens of the Stone Age", and took a few more days in the city. Place very well located, close to great restaurants and bars. Wherever you go in São Paulo, my destination will be Sampa Hostel! Thanks for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Erik! Thanks for your words! I'm very happy that you had a nice time here! Hope to have you here again for another rock and roll concert heheheh!!! Best Regards, Deborah More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here during World Cup. The accommodation was simple but clean and Deborah was super friendly. However our experience was tainted by other staff who were quite rude and acted as though any request was a major inconvenience. Also, I get that we were there during World Cup, but I do think that letting people party until 5am is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, how are you? Vila Madalena was the place were party happened during the World Cup. Most of people chosed stayed here because of that, and I thought that you were having fun with your friends, sorry that you were not in the mood like the others at the hostel, you should told us about the noise and then we... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I am 38 years old travelling south America for 5 months. Managed to pick this Hostel by chance.....and glad did!! It is very Brazilian style. I love to party and so does this place:-) one of the Owners Deborah and main cool Lara Adrianna ate just doo welcoming. On my check in I got a smile bar of chocolate, Brazilian... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Deborah_Cavalieri, Owner at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Darren! I'm so happy that you had a great time here! Hope to see you again! Best Regards, Deborah More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Good Hostel, in a nice part of sap Paulo. The stuff was really friendly and always willing to help. Only negative to say about this hostel is that's a little but price. But definitely a recomandation if you are willing to pay a little more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Santpoort-Zuid, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you're going for cheap and basic this is your spot. People are really friendly and it has a positive feel. But personally I would have liked a little more charm and comfort. The building is rundown, pretty bare. But hey, what was I expecting. For the price, it's a good deal. I wouldn't have minded to pay a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Martino, I´m really sorry that you didn´t like our structure, but rundown it´s to much to say about the house. I don´t know why you had this feeling because in December we made all the maintenance for the high season and everrything is fine, but maybe you didin´t feel so comfortable, it happens sometimes when we are travelling... Thanks... More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

What I loved about the hostel was it's location. It's in Villa Madalena which is where I would live if I had to move to São Paulo. Laid back, adorable area. The dorms are standard and clean. The common area is fine. The staff is helpful. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hope to see you again, thanks for your words! Best regards, Sampa Hostel More

Baar, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hostel is very cosy and charming. The staff is very friendly and helps you with everything you need. The rooms are simple but clean and they do have lockers. The breakfast is included and very nice. And they still have computers with free Internet access for people who are travelling without smart phone-like me :) The hostel is located... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love this place, clean, well equipped friendly hostal in the great location of Villa Madalena, the super cool are of Sao Paulo. But whats really special about this hostal is the staff working there. They are all very nice and make you feel really welcome there. They help you with all your little requests and know a lot about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sampa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampa Hostel

Address: Rua Girassol, 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 5433001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampa Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Sampa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampa Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay