We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Toriba

Certificate of Excellence
Av. Ernesto Diederichsen, 2962 | Monte Carmelo, Campos Do Jordao, State of Sao Paulo 12460-000, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Toriba
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Toriba
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    99
    39
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
50
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (147)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
São Paulo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I spent an extended weekend with my daughter and a friend at Toriba. It was simple amazing. My daughter loved it, they had an intensive schedule for kids, with visits to a small farm outside hotel, where my daughter had the opportunity to feed some animals. Monitors were really good. Besides that, there is an AMAZING spa at hotel, where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernanda Luiza V, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Toriba, responded to this review

Dear Fernanda, Thank you for spending your time and effort to evaluate our services. Your review carries a strong impact on other travelers, as well as it reinforces our staff good spirit to serve. It is always a pleasure to receive such a strong recognition! We are glad to hear that your lovely daughter enjoyed the petting farm and that... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have been in Toriba last weekend. I felt the price was a real rip off! I acccepted to pay when I made the reservation, bu the hotel did not deliver not even close to it.The people working there are extremely kind and careful, particularly Joel, responsible for the restaurants, something that is difficult to find nowadays. However, the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fernanda Luiza V, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Toriba, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mario, Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. As our main goal is guest satisfaction, we appreciate every feedback as an opportunity to upscale our service level even more. We would like to invite you to return and experience the new wine list and menu. As you have suggested, we hired a new executive chef who just... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Common areas are quite nice, rooms way too simple, matresses a disaster. Meals are included, so on a saturday´s lunch we have to wait more than 1 hour for a table because it was by arrival order.....including outsiders.....!!! Another problem, they do not tell you in advance, they are going to charge for additional taxes on top of the given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fernanda Luiza V, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Toriba, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Paulo, Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. As our main goal is guest satisfaction, your review is an excellent opportunity to keep increasing our level of service. I would like to apologize if you experienced any discomfort during dinner. Our Restaurant Toribinha follows a reservation list, and all guests are invited to book a table during... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The common area is phenomenal; the swimming pool is beautiful, great tennis court, gym, etc. The rooms are so not compatible with the exterior, they are way too simple. We’ve booked an apartment and it seemed that it was the place where the employees used to live a couple of years ago. It was very clean and tidy, but too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Fernanda Luiza V, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Toriba, responded to this review

Dear Maira, Thank you for sharing your opinion, giving us a valuable opportunity to improve our service level. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, but worried to hear that you felt somehow disappointed with the room you booked. We have eight different room categories varying from standard to ultra luxury, and price ranges accordingly.... More 

São Paulo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have been in Toriba many many times and every time it gets better (and more expensive too). The hotel is an oasis in Campos do Jordão, far from the busy and noisy Capivari downtown area. Service is great, employees are nice and always ready to help. The rooms are cosy and clean, decorated as a mountain hotel should be.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fernanda Luiza V, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Toriba, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recognition on the quality of our services. We are very glad that you fully enjoyed the Toriba experience. We are also working on a new menu to fulfill your expectations and elevate our dinning experience from good to great! Wish you come back soon to taste the news! Best Regards, Fernanda Luiza Vieira da... More 

rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Toriba for one night after doing a lot of research on hotel options. The hotel is 10-15 mins away from the main street in Capivari which is actually really nice as it gets a bit tiring very quickly. First of all the grounds of the hotel are extremely well maintained and landscaped. The pool deck area is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fernanda Luiza V, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Toriba, responded to this review

Dear Flamengo, Thank you for this complete review on your Toriba experience as well as your recognition of our services. We are very glad to know that you fully enjoyed your stay and intend to come back! Our property is ideal for spending some relaxing and pleasurable moments by the pool, at the spa, over a balcony enjoying the exuberant... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Toriba is the place to stay if you are not into the noisy downtown area of the city. The wonderful scenery, beautiful historical murals by Fulvio Pennacchi, great service and comfortable rooms give you feeling that you are far from civilization and transport you back to the past. It is a memorable experience. They feed the birds in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fernanda Luiza V, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Toriba, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for your time and interest in writing a review about your experience at Toriba! Your opinion will help other travelers to make better hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed the experience and looking forward to welcome again in a very near future! Best Regards, Fernanda Luiza Vieira da Rocha Public Relations More 

Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

To stay at Toriba is always a pleasure.Its a vintage hotel with a special contemporary touch.The service is excellent.regarding the restaurant the food is also very good.The only remark I would made is about the rooms which need some renovation

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fernanda Luiza V, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Toriba, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Thompson, We appreciate your kind and sincere recognition to our excellent and services! Your definition of our property style is spot on! Toriba is definitely a classic swiss style hotel, located in the heart of the Mantiqueira Region. Since your last visit, all the rooms have been renovated and we would be very happy to host you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

479 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (308)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Chalet Azelia (37)
Viewed
Chalet Begonia (66)
Viewed
Chalet Camelia (51)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay