We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Florianopolis

Certificate of Excellence
4.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Av Jorn. Rubens De Arruda Ramos 2034 | Beira Mar Norte, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88015-701, Brazil
Sofitel Florianopolis
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Florianopolis
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Alexinmelbourne Melbourne, Australia
Add Photo

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    236
    271
    124
    40
    16
See reviews for
114
239
68
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (687)
  • Mar-May only
    (165)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (166)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (223)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was extremely dissatisfied staying in a hotel entitled Sofitel with the standards of Sofitel Florianópolis. First of all, we were deceived by the description of the room we where staying, which the website said partial room to the ocean and we had a total view to the building ahead. After we received an upgrade (which the local team stated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When staying in a 5 star hotel you expect a certain level of excellence. While overall the Sofitel Florianopolis is a good hotel, it fell below my expectations. I stayed for three nights as a solo traveller. Firstly, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel has a good central location, and the beaches can be easily accessed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about our good location and friendly staff , otherwise i am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the wifi conection, quality of yoghurt, coconut water and tap water situation you encountered, so please... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here over the weekend of a business trip I had to Brazil, in March. To be honest it's not as good as Sofitel Chicago for example (that one is very good) but it's still very nice. Staff here are just amazing, I've stayed in several hotels in Brazil, and let's just say the staff in most hotels are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read it. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Florianópolis. Kind Regards, Danilo Scheibler, General Manager More 

San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Worst part and the only real negative part about the hotel is the lack of soundproofing between rooms/halls. You can hear normal conservation from your neighbors, along with anyone walking down the hall and slamming doors. Rooms are well-designed and well-appointed. Extremely comfortable bed and excellent rain shower in bathroom. Breakfast was a bit pricey at R$40 but with good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about the room, breakfast, gym and rooftop. Otherwise i am sorry about the soundproofing regarding the noise situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and we were... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I've stayed in this hotel for two nights in January during a business trip. The rooms were very nice and spacious and the hotel was located pretty good. The breakfast buffet in the morning was one of the best I've seen during my stay in Brazil. However, I'm very disappointed with their guest support. During my stay a dress was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about our good location, room and breakfast. Otherwise i am sorry about the dress damaged and the e-mail response that you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are taking the appropriate measures to... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This hotel is well positioned in Florianopolis city. It is a modern, comfortable hotel with good rooms that often overlook the sea. I only stayed for one night but I recommend this hotel. The staff speak English and are welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about the excellent location, room and staffs. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Florianópolis. Kind Regards, Danilo Scheibler, General Manager More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The manager here (Eric Englelt ) Clearly needs some training in customer relations. I have never had to deal with a manager on the telephone from reception and put up with such a bad attitude. It is a shame as the staff appeared to be trying hard to work with such poor and slow systems and the clear restrictions put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the low floor room and front desk situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer;... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The location of this hotel is excellent. Convenient to nearly everything. While there is a view of the bay, it is across a busy 6 lane road, so it's not as enticing as many other water views. The room was great, bed was typical Sofitel, which is to say, very nice. The room was clean, and everything worked. The shower... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about the excellent location, room and amenities, otherwise i am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the Lobby bar and kitchen situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please... More 

Curitiba, PR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I like this hotel and there are no better luxury hotels in downtown Florianopolis, I have stayed here twice and will definetly return. Decoration, service and food are very good but the best is the rooftop swimming pool and its view. I just expected the bedroom to be bigger, but it is OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about your stay. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Florianópolis. Kind Regards Danilo Scheibler - General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

298 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (201)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (83)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (6)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (6)
Viewed
Superior Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay