We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Florianopolis

Certificate of Excellence
4.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Av Jorn. Rubens De Arruda Ramos 2034 | Beira Mar Norte, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88015-701, Brazil
Sofitel Florianopolis
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Florianopolis
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015
sdjimbob San Diego, CA
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    264
    122
    39
    14
See reviews for
112
236
67
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (669)
  • Mar-May only
    (164)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (166)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (223)
All months
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Worst part and the only real negative part about the hotel is the lack of soundproofing between rooms/halls. You can hear normal conservation from your neighbors, along with anyone walking down the hall and slamming doors. Rooms are well-designed and well-appointed. Extremely comfortable bed and excellent rain shower in bathroom. Breakfast was a bit pricey at R$40 but with good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about the room, breakfast, gym and rooftop. Otherwise i am sorry about the soundproofing regarding the noise situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and we were... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I've stayed in this hotel for two nights in January during a business trip. The rooms were very nice and spacious and the hotel was located pretty good. The breakfast buffet in the morning was one of the best I've seen during my stay in Brazil. However, I'm very disappointed with their guest support. During my stay a dress was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about our good location, room and breakfast. Otherwise i am sorry about the dress damaged and the e-mail response that you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are taking the appropriate measures to... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This hotel is well positioned in Florianopolis city. It is a modern, comfortable hotel with good rooms that often overlook the sea. I only stayed for one night but I recommend this hotel. The staff speak English and are welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about the excellent location, room and staffs. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Florianópolis. Kind Regards, Danilo Scheibler, General Manager More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The manager here (Eric Englelt ) Clearly needs some training in customer relations. I have never had to deal with a manager on the telephone from reception and put up with such a bad attitude. It is a shame as the staff appeared to be trying hard to work with such poor and slow systems and the clear restrictions put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the low floor room and front desk situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer;... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The location of this hotel is excellent. Convenient to nearly everything. While there is a view of the bay, it is across a busy 6 lane road, so it's not as enticing as many other water views. The room was great, bed was typical Sofitel, which is to say, very nice. The room was clean, and everything worked. The shower... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about the excellent location, room and amenities, otherwise i am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the Lobby bar and kitchen situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please... More 

Curitiba, PR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I like this hotel and there are no better luxury hotels in downtown Florianopolis, I have stayed here twice and will definetly return. Decoration, service and food are very good but the best is the rooftop swimming pool and its view. I just expected the bedroom to be bigger, but it is OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Florianópolis. I am very glad to read about your stay. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Florianópolis. Kind Regards Danilo Scheibler - General Manager More 

ascona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

The Sofitel in Florianopoiis cannot be considered a "luxury hotel" when compared to.the Sofitel Carrasco in Montevideo where we stayed a month before. The reservation was fast on their website, the e-mail I sent to ask for a transfer from the airport was also answered promptly.The problem was that nobody was waiting for us at the airport. After 10' we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Florianópolis. We were truly pleased to welcome you and hope we will have the opportunity to satisfy you more on a next stay at Sofitel Florianópolis. Kind Regards, Danilo Scheibler, General Manager More 

angela24c
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in December. The hotel is in the center of town so it's a bit of a drive to any of the beaches but around many museums, parks and other things to do. Our check-in experience was slow. There was only one person working the desk and someone ahead of us and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the Check-in/out and Housekeeping situation you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

First I must commend the staff. They were always polite and very helpful. Now I hate writing reviews like this because the staff all seemed very nice. But I just have to step back from that and try to be honest about the condition of the hotel. Sofitel should be very embarrassed to call this a luxury hotel. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Florianópolis. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations – neither do ours - so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very... More 

Sao Paulo, Sp
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We loved our stay at Sofitel Florianopolis. I confess I was a bit scared after reading some reviews but firstly, the staff was very prompt and friendly (differently from what other reviewers stated). The room is large, the bed comfortable, breakfast is varied and complete: it makes Americans, Europeans and Brazilians happy as it ranges from waffles and pancakes, to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
danilo s, Gerente geral at Sofitel Florianopolis, responded to this review

Bonjour! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Florianópolis. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

206 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (192)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities