We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Novo Mundo

Praia Do Flamengo, 20, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210030, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Novo Mundo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Panama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 5 nights in this hotel during the New Year season 2015-16 when Rio really fills up and rates are ridiculously high. Decent hotel. Rooms are a bit old and worn down. Very good shower strength (which is very important to me) but water kept seeping outside the shower door which filled the floor with water; also shower water didn’t... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nina C
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

For the price we paid, it's a really old fashioned hotel which has a good location and sights but awful accommodation/facilities. The room seems like a 2/3 stars one. WiFi, not even acceptable working in the room. The reserved room was a double bed and the given one was a twin bed. No solution was given at the lobby... Air... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicolás O
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

This property is a well located hotel near some historical places in Rio, such as the Gloria Church, a typical example of the XVII Century architeture and the Catete Palace, where the legendary former president of Brazil Getulio Vargas committed suicide. Actually I faced the palace garden from my room, as well as the Sugar Loaf. I believe that those... More 

Helpful?
Thank SilvioT
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

At one time, this was a grand hotel. Now, from the elevators to the bathrooms, she isn't the fresh young beauty once she was. Still, the views and location are first rate. And the breakfast is good. My only problem: noise. I had a higher floor room with great views of Christ the Redeemer, Sugar Loaf, and the magnificent park... More 

Helpful?
Thank CariocaBonito
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

This is a belated review, but time does not matter when it comes to write about good memories. Hotel location is situated in a perfect place as it is so close to areas to visit and for sightseeing. The stuff is friendly and can speak fluent English which makes it very helpful. I recommend this place to whomever would like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in October. The building needs some serious work. Elevators didn't work correctly, rooms are too old and dark. Location is very good (3' away from Catete metro station) and staff was nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
Brazil
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

This was the fourth time my husband and I stayed at the Novo Mundo over the past 12 years. There have been upgrades and renovations, but the hotel still retains the graciousness found in the older, classy hotels of days gone by. The buffet breakfast is varied and plentiful. The view over the bay to Sugarloaf is amazing, much more... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank buziana
NovoMundoManager, Manager at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Ms, The hotel Novo Mundo welcomes your comments and we hope to see you on your next stay in Rio de Janeiro . Regards, Ingrid Videira Sales Manager More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

We were quite happy with our stay at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. We were there for 4 nights in a comfortable but rather spartan room facing onto the centre courtyard. The courtyard is really just a shaft up between two buildings but we weren't there for the view! The staff was all helpful and friendly. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnstoj
NovoMundoManager, Manager at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Mr.John, The Novo Mundo Hotel welcomes your comments and we hope to see you on your next stay in Rio de Janeiro . Regards, Ingrid Videira Sales Manager More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

The welcome hall is modern and the staff is very attentions and prepared, speaking Spanish and English very well. The view is nice, try to get the rooms with the front view. I asked to change mine and I was promptly attended. The room is comfortable, but the internet is average and the pillows are not the best kind... But... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
NovoMundoManager, Gerente at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Patrick, The Novo Mundo Hotel welcomes your comments and we hope to see you on your next stay in Rio de Janeiro . Regards, Ingrid Vine Sales Manager More 

london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

I made a mistake with the location but I was lucky because the price was very good and to go to the beach was extremely easy. The metro is just around the corner. The staff members actually help me with a problem with my tour and were very friendly. Breakfast was very good too.

Helpful?
1 Thank kina39
NovoMundoManager, Manager at Hotel Novo Mundo, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Kina, The hotel Novo Mundo welcomes your comments and we hope to see you on your next stay in Rio de Janeiro. Sincerely, Ingrid Videira Sales Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Windsor Florida Hotel
#27 of 245 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Elegance Praia Hotel
#36 of 245 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Hotel 1900
#32 of 245 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimpico
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Parque Ol...
#7 of 245 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Hotel Regina
#38 of 245 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 245 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay