We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vermont Hotel

3.0 of 5 Rua Visconde de Piraja, 254 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410, Brazil
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vermont Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    127
    102
    33
    16
See reviews for
55
75
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (309)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Mississauga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 days in Dec 2014 and found the hotel friendly. Breakfast (included) was great. Rooms were quite spartan but we were there for Rio - not the hotel. Location is great (1.5 blocks from Ipanema Beach.) and safe area to walk around in. Generally a good stay. Front desk was helpful - I didnt get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently I was looking for a cosy, near to General Osorio Square in Ipanema Hotrel, and I found it at the best price! The Vermont htel has a very clean and clear rooms, great breakfast and the best location near to Ipanema center and Ipanema Beach. Free internet in rooms is a plus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you re not fussy and not looking for a glamorous hotel, this hotel it's ok! Best area of Ipanema few steps to the beach, near Apollo road, and many restaurant, close to posto 9, the only thumb down are the room that are dated and the air con that is super noisy, I had an interior room, no view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Stayed here in August 2014 for Waka Ama (Outrigger Canoeing) World Championships. Hotel was clean and comfortable and very safe. Staff were excellent and most spoke english so communication wasnt a problem. Breakfast was huge and hearty and well worth the price. Hotel is surrounded by restaurants and takeaway outlets (Mcdonalds, Subway, Starbucks) and a laundry is 5mins away. Showers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Professional hotel with nice and helpful staff. Good location, walking distance from ipanema beach, subway station (General Osorio) and shops. Bed was comfortable, shower was hot. Safe and wifi in room. Not much international tv channels, air conditioner was very noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a great location in Ipanema. You are surrounded by restaurants, shopping, and are just a short walk to the beach. The hotel itself was nice. The bathrooms could use some updating and they are tiny, but otherwise the room was great. The room rate was high because it was the World Cup. The included breakfast was excellent. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelvermont, Gerente at Vermont Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Caro Sr., Obrigado por deixar suas impressões acerca de sua estadia em nosso Hotel aqui em Trip Advisor. Ficamos extremamente... More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Traveled to Rio for the World Cup. This hotel was perfect for us. It is a clean, safe and basic place to stay. They were very responsive to any questions or requests we had. The people at the front desk did not speak English very well, but everything worked out just fine. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelvermont, Gerente at Vermont Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado señor CR., Gracias por dejar acá en Trip Advisor sus impressiones acerca del Hotel Vermont. Ficamos todos muy contentos... More 

Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Listing the main points I didn't like: 1. Poor internet connection, breaking regularly and in several days 2. Employees not very helpful and careful (e.g. coming in the room without knocking) 3. Very noisy - rooms towards main street

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelvermont, Gerente at Vermont Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Sr Francisco, Queremos expressar aqui nosso pedidos de desculpas pelo mal funcionamento do serviço de internet durante sua estdia.... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We weren't staying there, but had a tour that was supposed to pick us up there. When the tour company didn't show, the front desk staff bent over backwards to help us track them down. I can't say how much I appreciate the calls they made on our behalf since we don't speak Portuguese. We would have been lost without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelvermont, Gerente at Vermont Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Señora Anne, Nuestro personal de frente queda encantado con sus comentarios y tambien con que tenga hecho un hueco en... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is not good. Yes the rooms are clean but old and tiny. Staff not that pleasant. Guys on the door were far more polite than the women behind the counter. They should swap. Left the hotel and went to the Park Everest around the corner. Far more polite and far nicer hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotelvermont, Gerente at Vermont Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Señor(a) Nuestra equipe queda sentida en no podermos tornar su estancia en nuestro Hotel a gusto y que tenga... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vermont Hotel

Address: Rua Visconde de Piraja, 254 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vermont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay