We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mar Ipanema Hotel

Hotel website
Rua Visconde De Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mar Ipanema Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,032 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I visited Rio in February and enjoyed my stay a lot. The rooms are on the small side but clean and had AC which is important.  The  hotel is 2 blocks from the beach and centered between good rearaurants and always felt safe walking around.  We were very impressed with the staffs always eager to help.  The rooftop bar was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Talal A
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came to Rio for vacation and we couldn't find hotel because of the Carnaval so we found this, is good is comfortable but is small. The good thing is that have air conditioner. Also they have their own restaurant. Something i didn't like is that on the top of the roof they said they have a bar, sauna and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mili P
Mih M, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your kind comments and would like to clarify that the orders for the bar service must be made by phone. There is a display informing on this, but maybe you could not notice it. We are sorry for that and hope to welcome you back soon to our Mar Ipanema Hotel. Cordiallly, Mar Ipanema... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Book this hotel accidentally on Expedia, and informed the hotel within 24 hours that I would like to cancel. 3 nights charged to Visa, which is extortion. Even the most inflexible of hotels will charge only the first night for the cancellation. Avoid, not worth the risk. Totally unreasonable management.

Helpful?
Thank Flacker75
Mih M, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

When buying through Expedia you are informed on all the conditions before payment. Anyway we wold like to know exactly what has happened and try to solve this matter. We ask you please to contact us through the e-mail manager@maripanema.com Nevertheless, it would be a good start if you could please remove the title of your review once it is... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited Rio in January and enjoyed our stay a lot. We were very impressed with the hotel itself, very good breakfast in a cozy restaurant attached to the hotel, good choice of fruits, in a very convenient location - the beach is nearby, multiple stores, shopping areas and eating areas.We did travel a lot by Metro which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruta s
Mih M, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your so kind comments that made us all feel pride! We also wish to have you back soon to our Mar Ipanema Hotel! with our best wishes, Mar Ipanema Team More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights over Christmas and arrived at the hotel to the friendliest welcome from a the staff member. Unfortunately after a long flight I attempted to have a shower and there was no hot water. It was late so I had a cold shower and we told the staff as we left the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate_Syd
Mih M, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for all the related inofrmation. If you wish we would appreciate to have your contact through the e-mail manager@maripanema.com, Cordially, Denise Reinoso More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Mar Ipanema Hotel for one night and we had a wonderful stay. Due to the time of our flight, we arrived very early in the morning however they gave us access to a clean room before the 2 pm check-in. All staff were pleasant and the rooms were very good. The front desk was very helpful. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jillian_Toronto
Mih M, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your kind comments and wish to have you back to our Mar Ipanema Hotel. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

We stayed over New Year for 4 nights and had a great time. Staff were friendly, rooms were an OK size and very clean. The only issue was the price, we ended up paying £250 but as it was New Year and limited availability we didn't worry too much. The location is great and in a very safe area perfectly... More 

Helpful?
Thank benhall80
Mih M, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

we thank you very much for your kind comments, looking forward to welcoming you back to our Mar Ipanema Hotel! More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, including New Year's Eve. Front staff is efficient, but not very friendly, specially if you have questions. The room was tiny, and honestly the hotel pictures made it look like it was a much larger room. We stayed at the P floor, where they say the luxury apartments are. I don't think... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ricardo J
Mih M, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

First of all we thank you very much for having chosen our Mar Ipanema Hotel! We regret for having not achieved all yours expectations, assuring you that your comments will help us to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel! Cordially, Mar Ipanema Team More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

The staff is unfriendly and rude. The hallways were disgusting. The room itself was small and did not seem clean. The AC was not working. It was so bad for the price we were paying we checked out and did not even sleep there. They made us pay for the night even though we left and did not care why... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Romina R
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Initially, I would like to thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro. I would like to apologize for the bad experience, although I would like to add that simply asking for a room swap at front desk. We would be glad to offer you an upgrade to the deluxe... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel and very helpful staff! Thanks Marco, he spoke English and Spanish and his tips and recommendations were spot on! Tours are a must and highly recommend the full day in Rio for a total experience, ask for Marcelo! Beach is a block away and they provide you a chair, umbrella and towel. I would stay here again! Running... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Noemi R
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your candid comments on our property. I’m truly glad to know you had such a wonderful stay. I’m glad to read to you enjoyed our prime location. Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

325 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (219)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (35)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (71)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (8)
Viewed
Superior Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio De Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio De Janeiro Ipane...
#30 of 247 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#77 of 247 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#6 of 247 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#48 of 247 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#71 of 247 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 247 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ipanema

Neighborhood Profile
Ipanema
Ipanema is considered Rio's crown jewel. It offers the best view of the sunset from Arpoador and is inspiration for the legendary song, “The Girl from Ipanema.” Ipanema is an upscale area, home to many high-end restaurants and luxury shops, many of which can be found on the charming Garcia d'Ávila Avenue. The neighbourhood is very rich culturally, housing many art galleries that show contemporary art. There is also a great variety of nightlife in the neighbourhood, which buzzes with many options for every taste.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay