We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 210 Rio de Janeiro hotels

Golden Tulip Continental

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Gustavo Sampaio, 320 | Leme, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010010 , Brazil (Copacabana)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Continental to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Continental
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
59%
Ranked #83 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Eduardo A Goiania, GO
  • Overview
  • Reviews (441)
  • Photos (131)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    165
    108
    54
    28
See reviews for
72
97
24
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goiania, GO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a good experience in this hotel. Everything was as showed in website. Nothing to claim. Breakfast is tasty and I had appreciated a lot. Well placed, near the beach. The internet works in entire hotel areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mr. Eduardo, thank you very much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you are satisfied with our services. The entire team is looking foward to see you again. Kind regards! More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location very close to Copacabana. Awesome view from roof top pool area overlooking the Corcovado, Copacabana and the favelas on the hillside. Warm & friendly staff and atmosphere. Nice rooms, some with partial seaview.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mrs. Stenkvist, thank you very much for your review!! We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again. Our best regards. More

Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was my second time in Rio de Janeiro and my last one I just couldn't come back because of my hotel's choice. But Golden Tulip changed my mind, I had an incredible hospitality with Ivan and João (manager) and I don't have anything to complain about it. The breakfast was great, also the room and the neighborhood were perfect!... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mr. Luciano, thank you very much for your review, we are glad to know that your stay with us made you change your mind about Rio de Janeiro. Our collaborators João and Ivan will be informed that you were satisfied with their service and I am sure they will be more than glad to know it! The Golden Tulip Continental... More

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Golden Tulip Continental Hotel in Rio de Janeiro is very well situated at Leme' s Beach, in a calm narrow street just one block from the see front. However, the hotel does not deliv what is shows in the booking sites, and it is far from being a 4 star hotel. The hotel is only partially refurbished, so, be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mrs. Silvia, Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry to know that your stay wasn’t as you expected. It is true that not all of our apartments are yet refurbished but we are working on it already, still we try our best to guarantee that our guests have a pleasant stay. Our teams are trained regularly in order... More

Asker, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time in Rio de Janeiro and stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. Good location, 30 seconds to beach and taxi just outside the door. Metro in walking distance. Dinner restaurants in walking distance, or just a short taxi drive to Ipanema with lot of good restaurants. We had room in 15th floor. Good beds and size of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mr. Per, thank you very much for your review!! The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again. Our best regards. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were there right after the world cup. Rooms were decent, beds fairly comfortable even though not the newest. My only complaint was the sound isolation of the windows. The staff was awesome with a can-do attitude. Breakfast was great, with great selection of tasty foods, especially fruit. Very nice view from the roof with nice pool and the bar.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mr. Dragoslav , thank you very much for your review!! We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again. Our best regards. More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My first hotel in Rio de Janeiro, bad hotel, the services it's bad also, it's no clean, I was afraid to go bear feet in my room, it's noisy, good location, and very very expensive, you can get around very easy, but all Rio smell bad, very dirty all around. Look for something else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mr. Mauricio, thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry to know that your stay wasn’t as you expected. We always try our best to guarantee that our guests have a pleasant stay and for this matter, our teams are trained regularly in order to attend our guest’s needs. I’ll make sure your review will be taken into consideration... More

Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business in October 2013, it's at the far end of Copacabana within a short walk of the beach. The rooms are small, bleak and in urgent need of redecoration. The noise from the street is also a major issue on the lower floors, as is the odd smell in the corridors. Breakfast though was pleasant enough. Stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mrs. Sgrenter, Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry to know that your stay wasn’t as you expected. It is true that not all of our apartments are yet refurbished but we are working on it already, still we try our best to guarantee that our guests have a pleasant stay. Our teams are trained regularly in order... More

Wassenaar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute and was pleasantly surprised. Extremely friendly reception, clean and recently refurbished rooms, excellent breakfast buffet. There is a small swimming pool on the roof top but the best thing is the amazing view on the beach and Rio de Janeiro from there. It is only 400 meters walking from Copacabana beach so perfect for early... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mrs. Lieven, thank you very much for your review!! We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again. Our best regards. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

A tired, run-down and higgledy-piggledy hotel. The view from the roof is fantastic, but you need to get two lifts up there to see it - that's when they are working. The breakfast is okay and the location is good, but the service is shocking. The cleaner, in her wisdom, decided to throw away my wash-bag. Will not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry to know that your stay wasn’t as you expected. Our teams are trained regularly in order to attend our guest’s needs and I’ll make sure your review will be taken into consideration so we can improve our services. Best regards. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Golden Tulip Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Golden Tulip Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Continental

Address: Rua Gustavo Sampaio, 320 | Leme, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010010 , Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Continental 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Golden Tulip Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Continental Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Hotel Continental
Golden Tulip Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Golden Tulip
Luxor Continental
Golden Tulip Continental Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Rio de Janeiro with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
O Hotel Golden Tulip Continental possui 275 apartamentos distribuidos em 4 categorias: standard, superior, luxo e suites. O hotel dispoe de uma variedade de servicos e facilidades que satisfazem tanto o turista como executivo: 5 salas de eventos com capacidade para acomodar ate 60 pessoas em auditorio, conexao Internet banda larga em todos os apartamentos e Internet sem fio nas areas sociais, restaurante, lobby bar, grilled bar, room service 24hs, fitness center e piscina. O fitness, a piscina e o grilled bar dispoe de uma vista privilegiada da Praia do Leme e Copacabana. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
275

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Tulip Continental staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer