We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Tulip Continental

Rua Gustavo Sampaio, 320 | Leme, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010010 , Brazil
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Continental
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Golden Tulip Continental
Golden Tulip Continental
Golden Tulip Continental
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    247
    135
    58
    30
See reviews for
108
139
34
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (608)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (195)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (171)
All months
Ouro Preto, MG
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

During a "feriado" (bank holiday), my wife and myself stayed for three nights. Location of the hotel is good, the room we had was recently refurbished and looked nice, although the shower was not too clean. The doors of the room are very thin though, so noisy rooms, and light from the corridor enters, so no darkness at night. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

On the positive side, reception service was adequate and the room was good as it had been refurbished. However, on the negative side, the restaurant was awful. The staff were surly and disinterested. If you walk out of the hotel toward the beach about 50 yds, there's an Italian restaurant on the front that was excellent. In terms of facilities,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We were unfortunate to get two old rooms, when staying at the hotel. The hallway outside the rooms smelled really bad and the rooms themselves were worn out, brown and smelly. The beds were good though and we didn't go to Rio to stay in our rooms, but still... the quality was not acceptable. Especially not when paying more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stayed one night at the end of a cruise and suggested by travel agent. Very close to the beach and selection of restaurants and great view from rooftop pool area. We could see the beach if we looked sideways from our bedroom window. We had two very large beds in what I think was a renovated room. Fridge was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valletta, Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

We stayed at the Golden Tulip Continental for 5 nights between Christmas and New Year's Eve. The location is very close to the beach and we found it very safe. At first we were given a horrible outdated room but when we complained that it was not what was advertised on their website, they immediately changed the room for one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mr(s). Traveller M, thank you very much for your review, we are glad to knw that you had a pleasant stay with us. Mrs. Arilma will acknowledge that you have mentioned her and the excellence of her services and I am sure she’ll be pleased to know of your satisfaction because this is our main goal. The Golden Tulip Continental... More 

Trieste, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I am living in Brazil since 2012 and I have lived in Rio de Janeiro for 1,5 year. Now I am still regularly visiting Rio de Janeiro mostly for business but sometime also for leisure - I have been in this hotel also with my mother last November. The receptionist are very helpful and professional, check-in is fast (I loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mr. Max, thank you very much for your review!! We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again. Kind regards. More 

Jesús María, Córdoba, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

My holidays in Rio de Janeiro was fantastic, and the Golden Tulip Continental Hotal was the best in my life. Really the attention here is very good and the people that work here are very loving and warm.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mr. Federico, thank you very much for your review!! We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again. Kind regards. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

good facilities, comfortable, good service, is located one block from the top of the Copacabana beach. and three blocks Princisa Isabel Avenue where you can find various types of transport (taxi, bus, etc). recommended !!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mr. Danilo, thank you very much for your review!! We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again. Kind regards. More 

Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
87 hotel reviews
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Good hotel near Copacabana for a quick business trip located on a quiet street. Room was large and clean although furniture seemed dated. Service was mixed, would have expected a bit better. Would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review!! We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again. Kind regards. More 

Gurgaon, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Good hotel in Leme near Copacabana in 2nd lane from beach. Service of hotel is good. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is good. Swimming pool and gymansium is good. But furniture and flooring is quiet old.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Golden Tulip Continental, responded to this review

Mr. Nitesh, thank you very much for your review!! We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. As for you comment about flooring and furniture, we are in process of reburbishment of the rooms so we can improve the quality of your stay. Said that, the Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

402 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (33)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (219)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Executive Room (42)
Viewed
Double Executive Room with Partial Seaview (41)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Twin Superior Room (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question