We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rio Othon Palace Hotel

4.0 of 5 Avenida Atlantica 3264, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000, Brazil
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    954
    422
    140
    104
See reviews for
556
787
104
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2291)
  • Mar-May only
    (441)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (563)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (676)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (611)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Considering the price paid, this hotel is not worth, for sure. It’s highlight is its location. Seafront and in a very well-known and touristic area. I stayed with 5 other family members in 3 rooms, and there were a few points that really bothered us all during our stay: - Elevators taking 20 minutes to arrive in the morning between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for New Years with our group that was getting on a cruise for Jan 3rd. Way overpriced with a minimum 3 night stay at $660/night!! The staff was very slow at check in...there was a line up and one of the clerks just walked away. And it was New Years with a fully booked hotel and on day 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have been in this hotel for 4 nights for business purposes. I had the room at 22 floor and the view was wonderful. Breakfast with a lot of choice and a lot of food. Staff has been always nice to me and the check in took really only 5 minutes (but I was the only one there). Swimming pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your visit and that your expectations were satisfied. Should your future travels bring you back to Rio de Janeiro stay in Rio Othon Palace Hotel to review the fantastic view of Copacabana Beach and give... More 

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we stayed for a weekend and the location is wonderful for Copacabana, in between markets, right on beach (having an ocean view is a must!), great pool on 30th floor with amazing views of mountains and beach. we hired bikes and rode to Ipanema and Leblon for a swim (Ipanema has the best part of beach for swimming though most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments posted on the web Trip Advisor in addition to the praise for our good location and spectacular views over the Copacabana Beach. We apologize for the disappointment with our internet service and lifts. Our managers are taking the necessary steps to prevent this occurrence in the future. We would be very pleased to... More 

Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We can only echo the reviewers who were there for New Year's 2015. The hotel was greedy enough to overcharge, but not interested to provide enough staffing. We had maid service one out of four days. After our phone calls were unreturned, my wife obtained toilet paper from the front desk. After an hour wait for caipirnhas at the Sky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services. We hope that you will give us the opportunity of changing the less positive impression with which... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at the Othon Palace when visiting Rio with my son. I knew the hotel from mthe time when I lived in Rio, hence I chose because of the location and the quality of the hotel. It didn't disappoint me. Fabulous breakfast buffet, very comfortable room with full view of the beach and Avenida Atlantica. And, the price was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor on-line guest survey following your recent visit to our Rio Othon Palace Hotel. We are delighted to hear you did appreciate our hotel facility and service we provided. Should your future travels bring you back to Rio de Janeiro stay with us to review the fantastic view... More 

Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for New Year's expecting a 5 star experience for $1000 a night! We will never recommend this property to anyone. Here is the jist: The check-in and check-out experience was awful. Two receptionists working to check-in and out over 200 people. It took forever and even then not all the rooms were ready although it was after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services. We hope that you will give us the opportunity of changing the less positive impression with which... More 

Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for New Year's Eve in a Junior Suite on the 22nd Floor, and the view of Copacobana and the fireworks are the only thing to recommend this property. The hotel was apparently quite posh sometime in the early 1960's, but today it's just a worn out shell of a hotel with tired furniture, failing mechanical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services. We hope that you will give us the opportunity of changing the less positive impression with which... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its hard to find a place as BAD as this for the price we paid. Our experience of this hotel was so bad that we wanted to check out and move to another hotel, but was told since we had reservation they would charge us if we left… The room had NO Air Conditioning.. only air (NOT COLD), Rio was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services. We hope that you will give us the opportunity of changing the less positive impression with which... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for New Years Eve with a travel group and everyone in our group hated it. We did not feel welcome by the staff. They acted like they could care less about us being there. One night at 3:00 am thee was someone knocking on doors to rob you if you opened it. It was not unusual to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services. We hope that you will give us the opportunity of changing the less positive impression with which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rio Othon Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Othon Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 3264, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Othon Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 554
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rio Othon Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Othon Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Rio Othon Palace De Janeiro
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro

1,117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1018)
Viewed
Room/suite (193)
Viewed
View from room (227)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (166)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (72)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (12)
Viewed
Other (247)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay