We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 210 Rio de Janeiro hotels

Rio Othon Palace Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 3264, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000, Brazil (Copacabana)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rio Othon Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
70%
Ranked #32 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ski2730 Phoenix, Arizona
Write a Review

1,608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    658
    301
    112
    91
See reviews for
366
555
82
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first visit to the Copacabana Beach area and the other reviews that said this hotel was in need of remodeling where spot-on. The wood paneling on the walls and old carpet reminded me of other beach area hotels that charge high prices for mediocre accomodations based on nothing more then their location along the water. In fact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments posted on the web Trip Advisor in addition to the praise for our good location and spectacular views over the Copacabana Beach. We apologize for the disappointment with our service. Our Managers are taking the necessary steps to prevent this occurrence in the future. We would be very pleased to have the opportunity... More

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As others have mentioned, the location of the hotel is fantastic. The beach is a hundred steps out the front door and there are 25 decent restaurants within a few blocks. The pool is on top of the hotel (as is a bar/restaurant) and has a wonderful view of Sugar Loaf and Copacabana beach. Pros: clean, good breakfast buffet, wireless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services. Refering to the electric ironing we would like to inform that we have this service which can... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is based right on the beach with easy access to the Metro, Ipanema beach, etc. with the rooms decent, including a small balcony. One of the tallest hotels on the strip, the view from the pool is impressive! Due mainly to the size of the hotel, you wouldn't stay here for the personal touch and great service as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor on-line guest survey following your recent visit to our Rio Othon Palace Hotel. We would like to inform you we have an ironing service which can be requested directly with Housekeeping. For security reasons we do not provide irons. Should your future travels bring you back to... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this hotel was perfect, right across the road from the Copacabana beach and walking distance to Ipanema. The hotel itself was a bit of a mixed bag. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and I slept brilliantly. The room and especially the bathroom area was tired and sorely in need of refurbishment. It probably was quite classy in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments posted on the web Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services. We would like to inform you that the renovation of our... More

Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wasn't expecting much after reading the reviews on here but was surprised by this hotel. Yes rooms are not modern but they are clean and comfortable. The view makes up for the lack of in-room facilities. Wifi in lobby is free and fast. The pool is nice and breakfast is excellent. Away from breakfast there isn't much choice for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, should your future travels bring you back to Rio de Janeiro, stay with us to review the fantastic view of Copacabana Beach. It will be a pleasure for us to provide you the special blend of Rio Othon Palace Hotel hospitality. Best Regards, General Management More

Boedo, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service and cleaningness is a pending task for this Hotel. Location and landscapes, are great. I would expect a higher service for a hotel of this category. In my room, there are a lot of ants, bathroom floor has not been cleaned during my stay, there is no ironing tools or water heater + cafe/tea in the room. Internet is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All your observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to prevent those occurrences in the future. If some day you come back to Rio, stay in Rio Othon Palace Hotel to review the fantastic view... More

new mexico
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Large. High rise on the Copacabana beach. Our room was clean, beach view, but very very basic. Two twin beds, great shower, with TV but no clock. No tissue for sneezing. Well air conditioned. Good meeting rooms. Roof top pool is beautiful if small. Still we both fell asleep on the lounges next to pool on 30th scenic floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All your observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to prevent those occurrences in the future. If some day you come back to Rio, stay in Rio Othon Palace Hotel to review the fantastic view... More

España
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a decent hotel, average in price/quality, well located in the midle of Copacabana beach in Rio. Rooms are clean enough, but a litle rusty and with the minimal amenities or services. Hotel has a nice roof pool BUT if you want to exercise, you better go to run to the beach, since hotel charges 20 US$ a day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Managers who are taking the necessary steps to prevent those occurrences in the future. We would like to inform you that the renovation of our rooms will be finished in a very near... More

Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Overall a good stay - the location is the best and most important part..... Pros Great location Nice superior ocean front rooms on floors 16 and above. Fresh smoked salmon on the executive lounge break fast buffet 30th floor. Tasty brahma especial beers in the ground floor bar served by Antonio. Friendly check in staff with a smile and good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments posted on the web Trip Advisor in addition to the praise for our good location and spectacular views over the Copacabana Beach. We apologize for the disappointment with our internet service. Our Managers are taking the necessary steps to prevent this occurrence in the future. We would be very pleased to have the... More

frigiliana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here in January 2014. We were on the 20th floor. the room was very comfortable with a mega sized bed and big glass windows with a superb view of Copacabana and sugar loaf mountain. The bedroom looked as though it had just had a make-over - very clean and tidy. the bathroom on the other hand was VERY... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RioOthonPalace, Gerente geral at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments posted on the web Trip Advisor in addition to the praise for our good location and spectacular views over the Copacabana Beach. We apologize for the disappointment with our internet service. Our Managers are taking the necessary steps to prevent this occurrence in the future. We would be very pleased to have the... More

Been to Rio Othon Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Othon Palace Hotel

Also Known As:
Rio Othon Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Othon Palace De Janeiro
Rio Othon Palace
Rio Othon Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Address: Avenida Atlantica 3264, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Othon Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rio Othon Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Othon Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.