We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 210 Rio de Janeiro hotels

Savoy Othon Travel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida N. Senhora de Copacabana, 995, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22060000, Brazil (Copacabana)
Hotel amenities
Savoy Othon Travel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com Tingo.com
and 6 more sites!
53%
Ranked #123 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014
ThalesMendes Sao Paulo, SP
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    80
    71
    23
    17
See reviews for
45
65
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The savoy, with good location near copa and ipanaema, is a classic mid 1960's hotel: the rooms are worn down, the lobby looks about five decades beyond useful, and the same employees that check you in were most likely the same employees that helped to open the hotel way back when. This all aside, hotels.com description of the hotel was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I had to stay at this hotel at a business trip because I had no option as all the other hotels were full. This is a run down hotel (clean at least) hotel with a great focus on tourist groups. The service and breakfast were ok. Location is not so great, as this part of Copacabana is pretty awful with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
norma l, General Manager at Savoy Othon Travel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado Dakail, Muito obrigada pela sua avaliaçao de nosso Savoy Othon Travel. E sempre constructivo receber uma critica que outorga... More

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Our stay in this hotel was ok. Our room was not facing the avenue, so it was nice and quiet. However, the hotel has no parking lot and the price they charged for the garage was absurd. Their website and front desk said it was $35/day. When We got there, they said it was $115!!!! Completely non-sense. And we waited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
norma l, General Manager at Savoy Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Thalesmen, Thank you very much for your comments about our Savoy Othon Travel. We are glad to know you had a nice stay, and taking into consideration your positive comments about the room and about the delay of your Room Service. We appreciate too, your comment about the price of Parking Service at our ROPH because all tariffs, rooms... More

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have spent a weekend on Rio and even though this hotel were one of the best price available for the category, we find this hotel not really worthwhile. The staff is very gentle and the room is ample, but is very very noisy, the hotel is in one of the busiest avenues n rio and the windows are very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
norma l, General Manager at Savoy Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Guillerme, Thank you for taking your time to give your impressions about the stay at our Savoy Othon Travel. We are really sorry your evaluation was poor and hope to have the opportunity in a near future to Improve your satisfaction. It is very important for us to know from our guests positive and negative experiences in order to... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody and we have left this place after the first of our initial three night for the following reasons: Noise, noise and more noise. The first thing we heard was the very loud cracking of the air condition, which we have turned off immideately. Then there was the noise of the street which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
norma l, General Manager at Savoy Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Christoph, We thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at the Savoy Othon Travel. With regards to the air conditioner and mini bar our Maintenance personnel are making the necessary adjustments to reduce the level of noise. Investment is currently being made to make the bedroom windows acoustic by the end of next year. It is... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Everything is just old in this hotel. The furniture, towels, sheets. If you're allergic don't even think about staying here. I have asthma and couldn't sleep there. No light reaches the room at all, the windows have a view into an airshaft. There was nothing in the buffet when I came down for breakfast, just plain bread. The wifi is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
norma l, General Manager at Savoy Othon Travel, responded to this review

Thank you for the avaliation of your stay at our Hotel We regret we didn”t meet your approval, because it is always our goal to make our guests stay pleasant. The Savoy Othon Travel has been reformed in 2002 and all our Standard Rooms face to the airshafts; may we suggest that in a next time you book a Superior... More

Northern Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here during the Carnaval in February 2013 and a week after the Carnaval. The negatives were the small bugs in the bedroom and washroom, I think they became flies about 1mm in length. The other thing is there are no hairdryers. I asked at the front desk and they said you must order the use of it one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
norma l, General Manager at Savoy Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments about your stay at our Hotel during Carnival 2013. We are considering actions to avoid the small fies in the room. We are glad to inform too, that hairdryers and electronic safe-boxes are beeing installed in every room. We hope next visit to our city, you will find our Hotel more atractive and... More

DIVIN�OLIS mg BRazil
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel have a very good reception, clean rooms , well located , helpfull staff . We loved our stay , and will recomend to every one who want to go to Rio de Janeiro e enjoy vocations. There no ocean view, but is located a few meters from the beach . They have towels and umbrellas to lend ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
norma l, General Manager at Savoy Othon Travel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. Joao, Agradecemos ter expressado suas boas lembranças e opiniao ao respeito da sua recente estada no Savoy Othon... More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and I was happy with the room, service and food served at breakfast. It is located 1 block away from the beach so a great location if you do not want to pay the high prices for beach front hotels in Copacabana. Room was comfortable, everything worked, shower was hot / powerful and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
norma l, General Manager at Savoy Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our Hotel. We are very glad to know you enjoyed our facities and services... As usual we are sending them to our staff as we all work always hard but very happy to achieve this goal: make your stay very pleasant. Sincerely Norma Lanaro General Manager to our More

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel a few years ago and nothing seems to have changed. Our room was on the 11th floor and had a view into an airshaft. Because we were on the 11th floor we didn’t hear any traffic noise and we did have some light coming into our room. The airconditioning can only be turned on/off. There’s... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
norma l, Manager at Savoy Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you for your comments.....we are sending them to our team.... and look forward to welcome you or your friends in the future. Norma Lanaro General Manager More

Been to Savoy Othon Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Othon Travel

Also Known As:
Savoy Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Savoy Othon Travel Hotel
Savoy Othon Travel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Address: Avenida N. Senhora de Copacabana, 995, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22060000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Othon Travel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Savoy Othon Travel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Othon Travel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Savoy Othon Travel to your Saves list