We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 210 Rio de Janeiro hotels

Lancaster Othon Travel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1470, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021000, Brazil (Copacabana)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lancaster Othon Travel to your Saves list
Lancaster Othon Travel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
Ranked #115 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Beatso Aberdeen, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (312)
  • Photos (172)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    108
    98
    36
    31
See reviews for
91
85
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

You can't fault the location, nor price of the hotel. I was lucky enough to get an upgrade to a room at the front, with a great view of the Copacabana which made it more than worthwhile. The room itself was a little run down, but clean. The staff were really helpful, with tips and advice during my stay. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dubai
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel should not qualify as a 3-star, it would be lucky for 2. As others have said, the staff were friendly and helpful enough and the location is prime. But the rooms felt dirty with beds that are better suited to jail cells and rusty bathrooms from the 1970's (note: first water out of the shower nozzle was brown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As many others have said, this hotel is in a wonderful location right on Avenida Atlantica in Copacabana Beach. There is so much potential in this hotel, but they pretty much fail in all aspects. The staff is very friendly and nice, but the hotel itself is very old and dingy. The rooms have a weird smell and don't feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights during the World Cup. The location is great. Opposite the beach, and for the World Cup, right beside the Fifa Fan Fest. But that's about it. The hotel room we had was very dated and the Air Con barely worked. The bathroom was in desperate need of cleaning and updating. Breakfast was reasonable and,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few days during World Cup 2014. The location is unbeatable. Outside of that, the hotel is fairly average (at best) in all other respects. Don't expect to actually have wifi in your room. They give you a password, but the connection is spotty - it works about 25% of the time. The included breakfast is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there during the WC. The location is great, right on the beach. The hotel rooms however look exactly as they would have in the 1960s. Door handles fell off and aircon unit covers broke off also while we were there. If you do stay here, get a deluxe room which have balconies and face the sea. The standard rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent 6 days in Rio at the Lancaster Othon Travel, loved the location, right in the middle of Copacabana Beach. When we first did research, we contemplated Ipenama Beach - do yourself a favour and DO NOT stay at Ipenama Beach - you'll be disappointed. Copacabana is fantastic location - restaurants along the entire length of the beach servicing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for all the compliments and let you know that our staff were very happy to hear that and also because we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you in a next stay in Rio and leave my email in case you need to contact us Best Regards, Richard... More

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had an ocean view room, which was more like a suite, with a sitting area and large desk. The bed was very large and comfortable. We had a large balcony. The rooms could do with some renovation as they are a little shabby, particularly the bathroom and the curtains were also quite shabby. The wardrobe was almost non-existent as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Lorna, Our team was delighted to hear your compliments and we were happy to completely fill all your needs and expectation. Yet we are continually trying to improve our services and to qualify our staff. We hope to see you again in our hotel and I would like to leave my email address for further contact. Best regards,... More

charlottesville, virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am a professional traveler and have been fortunate to stay in many wonderful hotels around the world. I learned a long time ago that price, while a general indicator of quality, is no guarantee of what you actually experience.Please keep in mind that I am a bit jaded these days. First of all the pictures on their website in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your comments and sugestions and hope to reach your expectations on the future. Our staff are working hard to improve the hotel services and remove the bad impression. We'll be honor to have you back. Best regards, Richard Amoroso General Manager More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Good location, we got a room with ocean view which made a BIG of difference to our stay. Only a few staff spoke English. There was damp on the wall and the patio door was nearly coming off. I was truly shocked at the condition of the room but because we had sea view it was bearable.. Breakfast was ok

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your comments and sugestions and hope to reach your expectations on the future. Our staff are working hard to improve the hotel services and remove the bad impression. We'll be honor to have you back. Best regards, Richard Amoroso General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lancaster Othon Travel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lancaster Othon Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Othon Travel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1470, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Othon Travel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lancaster Othon Travel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Lancaster Othon Travel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
68

See which rooms travelers prefer