We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 210 Rio de Janeiro hotels

Lancaster Othon Travel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1470, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021000, Brazil (Copacabana)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lancaster Othon Travel to your Saves list
Lancaster Othon Travel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
Ranked #110 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
dkduggan Kingston, Jamaica
  • Reviews (306)
  • Photos (172)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    105
    96
    35
    31
See reviews for
89
85
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights during the World Cup. The location is great. Opposite the beach, and for the World Cup, right beside the Fifa Fan Fest. But that's about it. The hotel room we had was very dated and the Air Con barely worked. The bathroom was in desperate need of cleaning and updating. Breakfast was reasonable and,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few days during World Cup 2014. The location is unbeatable. Outside of that, the hotel is fairly average (at best) in all other respects. Don't expect to actually have wifi in your room. They give you a password, but the connection is spotty - it works about 25% of the time. The included breakfast is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there during the WC. The location is great, right on the beach. The hotel rooms however look exactly as they would have in the 1960s. Door handles fell off and aircon unit covers broke off also while we were there. If you do stay here, get a deluxe room which have balconies and face the sea. The standard rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent 6 days in Rio at the Lancaster Othon Travel, loved the location, right in the middle of Copacabana Beach. When we first did research, we contemplated Ipenama Beach - do yourself a favour and DO NOT stay at Ipenama Beach - you'll be disappointed. Copacabana is fantastic location - restaurants along the entire length of the beach servicing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for all the compliments and let you know that our staff were very happy to hear that and also because we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you in a next stay in Rio and leave my email in case you need to contact us Best Regards, Richard... More

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had an ocean view room, which was more like a suite, with a sitting area and large desk. The bed was very large and comfortable. We had a large balcony. The rooms could do with some renovation as they are a little shabby, particularly the bathroom and the curtains were also quite shabby. The wardrobe was almost non-existent as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Lorna, Our team was delighted to hear your compliments and we were happy to completely fill all your needs and expectation. Yet we are continually trying to improve our services and to qualify our staff. We hope to see you again in our hotel and I would like to leave my email address for further contact. Best regards,... More

charlottesville, virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am a professional traveler and have been fortunate to stay in many wonderful hotels around the world. I learned a long time ago that price, while a general indicator of quality, is no guarantee of what you actually experience.Please keep in mind that I am a bit jaded these days. First of all the pictures on their website in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your comments and sugestions and hope to reach your expectations on the future. Our staff are working hard to improve the hotel services and remove the bad impression. We'll be honor to have you back. Best regards, Richard Amoroso General Manager More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Good location, we got a room with ocean view which made a BIG of difference to our stay. Only a few staff spoke English. There was damp on the wall and the patio door was nearly coming off. I was truly shocked at the condition of the room but because we had sea view it was bearable.. Breakfast was ok

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your comments and sugestions and hope to reach your expectations on the future. Our staff are working hard to improve the hotel services and remove the bad impression. We'll be honor to have you back. Best regards, Richard Amoroso General Manager More

Sao Leopoldo, RS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Good Hotel , they have renovated well , just the balcony doors don't close properly as it is an old architecture so they need some alignment adjustment. Bad thing :- No fitness center / swimming pool and they charge for the internet , In common Lobby it is free if you are using your own gadget , otherwise in rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Caro Sr., Agradecemos os comentários e esperamos ter uma nova oportunidade em um próxima estada para melhorar a imagem que... More

Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I always return to this hotel, it is slightly worn and the air con is old, the. rugs have seen their best days, but it is a very nice place to stay. the view from the balconies is the best, the breakfast is always good, staff is very friendly and the location couldn't have been better. Opt for the so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Lancaster Othon Travel. In fact the view from de luxe room are superb! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!! Best Regards, Vera Reis General Manager More

Union City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Love this place I was around 3 years ago for the carnival very please with all employes front desk restaurant,and maintenance al were great clean nice room close to the beach and to the subway hotel help me for the tours on the most tourist places I will be back..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Lancaster Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel during your stay Rio and for taking time to complete your review. Thank you for your comments regarding our team, we are always trying to do our best to make our guests satisfied. Hope to welcome you again when come back to Rio! Best regards, Vera Reis General... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lancaster Othon Travel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lancaster Othon Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Othon Travel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1470, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Othon Travel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lancaster Othon Travel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Lancaster Othon Travel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
68

See which rooms travelers prefer