We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 211 Rio de Janeiro hotels

Hotel Rio Lancaster

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1470, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021000, Brazil (Formerly Lancaster Othon Travel) (Copacabana)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rio Lancaster to your Saves list
Hotel Rio Lancaster
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
50%
Ranked #114 of 211 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ralph S
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    114
    103
    33
    29
See reviews for
97
90
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The people were helpfull and the view over the Copacabana was breathtaking. You only have wifi in the lobbt and in your room the connection was very poor. Breakfast was very good. The room was simple but for a reasonable price for such location

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Considering how much I paid for my 4 night stay here I was astounded at the state of the rooms when we arrived, it looked like a bedsit that was decorated in the 70s and had since been left to just fester. However when I opened the curtains to inspect the balcony I saw exactly what I was paying for;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I agree with the consensus of the previous reviewers. We stayed here during he World Cup, and the location truly could not have been better. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond to get us on a city tour the day we arrived. The views from the hotel are very poor unless you are fortunate enough to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear guest, We regret that your stay was not satisfactory, and inform you that we are adapting our services so it doesn’t happen again. On behalf of the hotel, we kindly ask our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Regards, More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

You can't fault the location, nor price of the hotel. I was lucky enough to get an upgrade to a room at the front, with a great view of the Copacabana which made it more than worthwhile. The room itself was a little run down, but clean. The staff were really helpful, with tips and advice during my stay. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear guest, We regret that your stay was not satisfactory, and inform you that we are adapting our services so it doesn’t happen again. On behalf of the hotel, we kindly ask our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Regards, More

dubai
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel should not qualify as a 3-star, it would be lucky for 2. As others have said, the staff were friendly and helpful enough and the location is prime. But the rooms felt dirty with beds that are better suited to jail cells and rusty bathrooms from the 1970's (note: first water out of the shower nozzle was brown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very grateful for bringing to our attention the areas of opportunities you detailed in your comments. It is only through sincere to our guests that we realize that we are failing to meet the expectations of our guests. Best regards, More

Indianapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

As many others have said, this hotel is in a wonderful location right on Avenida Atlantica in Copacabana Beach. There is so much potential in this hotel, but they pretty much fail in all aspects. The staff is very friendly and nice, but the hotel itself is very old and dingy. The rooms have a weird smell and don't feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very grateful for bringing to our attention the areas of opportunities you detailed in your comments. It is only through sincere to our guests that we realize that we are failing to meet the expectations of our guests. Best regards, More

Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights during the World Cup. The location is great. Opposite the beach, and for the World Cup, right beside the Fifa Fan Fest. But that's about it. The hotel room we had was very dated and the Air Con barely worked. The bathroom was in desperate need of cleaning and updating. Breakfast was reasonable and,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We regret that your stay was not satisfactory, and inform you that we are adapting our services so it doesn’t happen again. On behalf of the hotel, we kindly ask our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Regards, More

Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for a few days during World Cup 2014. The location is unbeatable. Outside of that, the hotel is fairly average (at best) in all other respects. Don't expect to actually have wifi in your room. They give you a password, but the connection is spotty - it works about 25% of the time. The included breakfast is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were most pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and the quality of our breakfast, and particularly for the fact that we have achieved our main objective, which is providing satisfaction to our clients. We have verified your observation about our breakfast and are currently correcting this issue. Thanking you once again, and hoping that you... More

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed there during the WC. The location is great, right on the beach. The hotel rooms however look exactly as they would have in the 1960s. Door handles fell off and aircon unit covers broke off also while we were there. If you do stay here, get a deluxe room which have balconies and face the sea. The standard rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very grateful for bringing to our attention the areas of opportunities you detailed in your comments. It is only through sincere to our guests that we realize that we are failing to meet the expectations of our guests. We regret that your stay was not satisfactory, and inform you that we are adapting our services so... More

Brisbane
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent 6 days in Rio at the Lancaster Othon Travel, loved the location, right in the middle of Copacabana Beach. When we first did research, we contemplated Ipenama Beach - do yourself a favour and DO NOT stay at Ipenama Beach - you'll be disappointed. Copacabana is fantastic location - restaurants along the entire length of the beach servicing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for all the compliments and let you know that our staff were very happy to hear that and also because we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you in a next stay in Rio and leave my email in case you need to contact us Best Regards, Richard... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Rio Lancaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Rio Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Lancaster

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1470, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021000, Brazil (Formerly Lancaster Othon Travel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio Lancaster 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rio Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Rio Lancaster Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Rio de Janeiro with
any amenities