We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 211 Rio de Janeiro hotels

Hotel Rio Lancaster

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1470, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021000, Brazil (Formerly Lancaster Othon Travel) (Copacabana)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rio Lancaster to your Saves list
Hotel Rio Lancaster
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
50%
Ranked #113 of 211 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014
CRWoody Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  • Overview
  • Reviews (310)
  • Photos (173)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    111
    100
    33
    29
See reviews for
95
88
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I agree with the consensus of the previous reviewers. We stayed here during he World Cup, and the location truly could not have been better. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond to get us on a city tour the day we arrived. The views from the hotel are very poor unless you are fortunate enough to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear guest, We regret that your stay was not satisfactory, and inform you that we are adapting our services so it doesn’t happen again. On behalf of the hotel, we kindly ask our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Regards, More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

You can't fault the location, nor price of the hotel. I was lucky enough to get an upgrade to a room at the front, with a great view of the Copacabana which made it more than worthwhile. The room itself was a little run down, but clean. The staff were really helpful, with tips and advice during my stay. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear guest, We regret that your stay was not satisfactory, and inform you that we are adapting our services so it doesn’t happen again. On behalf of the hotel, we kindly ask our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Regards, More

dubai
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel should not qualify as a 3-star, it would be lucky for 2. As others have said, the staff were friendly and helpful enough and the location is prime. But the rooms felt dirty with beds that are better suited to jail cells and rusty bathrooms from the 1970's (note: first water out of the shower nozzle was brown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very grateful for bringing to our attention the areas of opportunities you detailed in your comments. It is only through sincere to our guests that we realize that we are failing to meet the expectations of our guests. Best regards, More

Indianapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

As many others have said, this hotel is in a wonderful location right on Avenida Atlantica in Copacabana Beach. There is so much potential in this hotel, but they pretty much fail in all aspects. The staff is very friendly and nice, but the hotel itself is very old and dingy. The rooms have a weird smell and don't feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very grateful for bringing to our attention the areas of opportunities you detailed in your comments. It is only through sincere to our guests that we realize that we are failing to meet the expectations of our guests. Best regards, More

Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights during the World Cup. The location is great. Opposite the beach, and for the World Cup, right beside the Fifa Fan Fest. But that's about it. The hotel room we had was very dated and the Air Con barely worked. The bathroom was in desperate need of cleaning and updating. Breakfast was reasonable and,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We regret that your stay was not satisfactory, and inform you that we are adapting our services so it doesn’t happen again. On behalf of the hotel, we kindly ask our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Regards, More

Kingston, Jamaica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for a few days during World Cup 2014. The location is unbeatable. Outside of that, the hotel is fairly average (at best) in all other respects. Don't expect to actually have wifi in your room. They give you a password, but the connection is spotty - it works about 25% of the time. The included breakfast is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were most pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and the quality of our breakfast, and particularly for the fact that we have achieved our main objective, which is providing satisfaction to our clients. We have verified your observation about our breakfast and are currently correcting this issue. Thanking you once again, and hoping that you... More

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed there during the WC. The location is great, right on the beach. The hotel rooms however look exactly as they would have in the 1960s. Door handles fell off and aircon unit covers broke off also while we were there. If you do stay here, get a deluxe room which have balconies and face the sea. The standard rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very grateful for bringing to our attention the areas of opportunities you detailed in your comments. It is only through sincere to our guests that we realize that we are failing to meet the expectations of our guests. We regret that your stay was not satisfactory, and inform you that we are adapting our services so... More

Brisbane
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent 6 days in Rio at the Lancaster Othon Travel, loved the location, right in the middle of Copacabana Beach. When we first did research, we contemplated Ipenama Beach - do yourself a favour and DO NOT stay at Ipenama Beach - you'll be disappointed. Copacabana is fantastic location - restaurants along the entire length of the beach servicing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for all the compliments and let you know that our staff were very happy to hear that and also because we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you in a next stay in Rio and leave my email in case you need to contact us Best Regards, Richard... More

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had an ocean view room, which was more like a suite, with a sitting area and large desk. The bed was very large and comfortable. We had a large balcony. The rooms could do with some renovation as they are a little shabby, particularly the bathroom and the curtains were also quite shabby. The wardrobe was almost non-existent as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Lorna, Our team was delighted to hear your compliments and we were happy to completely fill all your needs and expectation. Yet we are continually trying to improve our services and to qualify our staff. We hope to see you again in our hotel and I would like to leave my email address for further contact. Best regards,... More

charlottesville, virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am a professional traveler and have been fortunate to stay in many wonderful hotels around the world. I learned a long time ago that price, while a general indicator of quality, is no guarantee of what you actually experience.Please keep in mind that I am a bit jaded these days. First of all the pictures on their website in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerencialancaster, Gerente geral at Hotel Rio Lancaster, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your comments and sugestions and hope to reach your expectations on the future. Our staff are working hard to improve the hotel services and remove the bad impression. We'll be honor to have you back. Best regards, Richard Amoroso General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Rio Lancaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Rio Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Lancaster

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1470, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021000, Brazil (Formerly Lancaster Othon Travel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio Lancaster 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rio Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Rio Lancaster Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

173 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Rio de Janeiro with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
68

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Rio Lancaster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer