We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 212 Rio de Janeiro hotels

Arpoador Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Francisco Otaviano, 177, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080040, Brazil (Ipanema)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Arpoador Inn to your Saves list
Arpoador Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
73%
Ranked #60 of 212 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sirena30 Los Angeles, California
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    142
    64
    17
    13
See reviews for
42
127
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. The hotel has a perfect location; right in from of the beach, close to a big rock called arpoador where you can just sit and enjoy the Ipanema beach at any time, the area is well illuminated, so I always felt safe even alone. Copacabana is also a 10 min walking distance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Daniel G, Manager at Arpoador Inn, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gentile ospite, La ringrazio molto per i grandi commenti per quanto riguarda il vostro soggiorno recente con al IPANEMA INN.... More

Greater Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right on the beach but our room looked into a brick wall and other rooms so had to keep curtain shut to maintain privacy, however who wants to stay in your room when you have Rio to explore. We are glad we stayed here as we felt safe and loved exploring the area. The staff are helpful and happy to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Daniel G, Manager at Arpoador Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for recommending the ARPOADOR INN to guests all over the world. Next time you visit us, we recommend you try one of the other categories, Superior and Deluxe - one is facing the tree-lined street and the second overlooks the beautiful beaches of Arpoador, Ipanema and Leblon. Thank you for your feedback on the... More

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location but the rooms are quite small and in need of attention. I stayed on the street side of the place and as you would expect it was very noisy. I got used to it but if you want to sleep past 7am I'd bring some ear plugs. The bathroom is a good size... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Location is the main highlight of this hotel - you're bang in the middle between Ipanema and Copacabana beach, straight on the beach since the hotel is in the area where there's no traffic. Apart from that, rooms are ok, breakfast not great tbh and staff quite helpful. What annoyed us the most was the persistent fish smell in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Beautiful hotel on Ipanema beach, safe area, friendly and helpful service. Rooms are big, quiet and clean. Breakfast is delicious. Location is great, It is a short taxi ride to get to the zoo, Christ Redeemer statue and Sugar Loaf mountain

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I enjoyed my stay very much. the rooms were very quiet, even on the street side of the hotel. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, with a comfortable bed and a good shower. The convenience of the location is superb! You go to the restaurant, and out the door, across the sidewalk and fall onto the beach, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Paraná
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is not having to cross the big boulevard to get to Ipanema beach. The rooms are very modest, though bathrooms are renovated and nice. Breakfast was very basic. Concierge service was excellent. They helped with sightseeing advice and arranged two excellent restaurant reservations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The reviews you see are all fair. The BEST thing about this hotel is it really is on the beach. There is no pool, no gym, no spa and the rooms are average. Boo hoo. If you want a swim use the beach, if you want to work out go up to Arpoador for the free facilities. If you want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Daniel G, Manager at Arpoador Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your preference and for the comments regarding your recent stay with us at the ARPOADOR INN. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoy staying in our simple, yet sophisticated hotel, located literally on the beach, between the buzzing neighbourhoods of Ipanema and Copacabana. We have recently closed a deal with... More

Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I was staying in the room facing to the sea. View from the window was great because the hotel is literally 2 steps away from the beach. It was very nice waking up see a sunrise on a calm empty beach. Rooms are clean but nothing special. I would probably consider it as a good place if I were there15... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Daniel G, Manager at Arpoador Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for posting this incredible photo taken from a Deluxe Sea View apartment at ARPOADOR INN. We are very pleased to hear how much you have enjoyed our location and the simplicity of the interiors, along with the housekeeping service. The great news is that soon, the restaurant which has an external administration will be... More

Pesaro, Italia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Hotel has a unique location just on rio beach near Arpoador rocks but this is just the only plus you have. No others facilities in the hotel,no pool,only one restaurant with breackfast very poor . Rooms with datated furniture not in line with the hotel price,about 200eur for night. I think that would be right a little bit lower price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Daniel G, Manager at Arpoador Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your preference and for the compliments regarding our location. It is great you mention these points, as it is in our plans to include new facilities and services inthe hotel, such as the change of the restaurant. ARPOADOR INN is in fact located in this idyllic peninsula, called the Arpoador, a stretch of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Arpoador Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Arpoador Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arpoador Inn

Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano, 177, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arpoador Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Arpoador Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arpoador Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Arpoador Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Rio de Janeiro with
any amenities