We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aeroporto Othon Travel

Av. Beira Mar, 280 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20021060, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aeroporto Othon Travel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aeroporto Othon Travel
Aeroporto Othon Travel
Aeroporto Othon Travel
Review This Hotel

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    73
    124
    72
    54
See reviews for
70
56
38
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (347)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is close to the airport (walking distance) and that's why we stayed there during our one night stop in Rio. Rooms very Ok, but nothing else worth of mentioning. If you are arriving late and leaving early the hotel fulfills its purpose.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Hanna, We would like to thank you for your comments on the services provided by our Aeroporto Othon Travel. We hope to have another opportunity to receive it at our hotel, so we can remove any bad impression that may have caused the lady. Best regards, Vicente Carvalho Operations Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We booked this hotel for one night via booking.com as we arrived late in Rio from London and were flying out of Santos Dumont the next morning. When we got to the hotel we were advised our booking had been cancelled. After much tooing and froing we finally got our 2 rom s as some guests had magically not appeared.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during you stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Supervisors who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services. If some day you come back to Rio, stay in Aeroporto Othon Travel and we would be... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Rio hotels are expensive and as first time visitors we decided as we were arriving at midnight into Rio we would stay at a cheaper hotel, get a nights sleep and check into a Copacabana hotel the next day. We selected Aeroporto Othon on the basis of price. Let me deal with the positives first! The day staff were nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Vicente C, Gerente at Aeroporto Othon Travel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rosco, Thank you for your comments. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All you observations were shared with our Supervisors who are taking the necessary steps to improve our services. If some day you come back to Rio, stay in Aeroporto Othon Travel and we would... More 

Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed there for about 8 days during the World Cup. I arrived on a saturday morning and I was told that I could not check-in until 3 p.m. which was annoying after a 13 hours of flight and seeing that the hotel was not that busy but overall understandable. The hotel offers free wifi which takes a while to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon Travel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Caro Sr. Muito obrigado por seus elogios a nossa localização e aos nossos serviços. Suas observações são de extrema valia... More 

S.P.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

According to the hotel personnel, this is among the oldest hotels in the city, but it seems that the furniture and instalations have naver been changed. The A/C seems to be new, considering the power outlets, but still very noisy. The elevator is manually operated and the same guy verifies the room for the checkout, so there is a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon Travel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado Sr, Muito obrigado por suas observações sobre o serviço encontrado em nosso Hotel Aeroporto Othon Travel. Gostaria, em primeiro... More 

Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I visited Rio de Janeiro on june for the world cup, it was not my first option but the one available during the dates requested. It has a very good location in Beira Mar, near to Cinelandia metro station. The hotel is not a cheap option, the building is very old (it has an elevator as titanic times) the service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon Travel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Caro Sr. Muito obrigado por seus elogios a nossa localização e aos nossos serviços. Suas observações são de extrema valia... More 

La Paz, Bolivia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Seriously, this has been the worst hotel I have visited in a long time. We stayed during the World Cup, I can't believe that this hotel was recommended by Hospitalty Match from FIFA. The furniture is old from the 50's and it seems there has been no maintenance at all. They offer free wifi, that does not work at all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon Travel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezada Sra, Muito obrigado por suas observações sobre o serviço encontrado em nosso Hotel Aeroporto Othon Travel. Gostaria, em primeiro... More 

Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Aeroport Othon Travel is an average hotel with quite some old infrastructure. However, it is very convenient because it is located just about 10 minutes walking from Santos Dumont domestic airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon Travel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. Luis, Muito obrigado por suas observações sobre o serviço encontrado em nosso Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel. Reiteramos nossa... More 

Recife, PE
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel in Rio de Janeiro just for one night while we waited for our connection flight from Rio de Janeiro Int'l Airport and that was a nightmare. First of all, we wouldn't stay for more than 6 hours at the hotel and I asked them for an early check-in what was actually denied... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
gerenciaaeroporto, Gerente geral at Aeroporto Othon Travel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Caro Sr Bruno, Muito obrigado por suas observações sobre o serviço encontrado em nosso Aeroporto Othon Travel Hotel. Gostaria, em... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question