We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort

Avenida Niemeyer 121 - Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22450220, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    157
    36
    19
    5
See reviews for
98
119
22
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (429)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (132)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (179)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This a resort type property close enough to Leblon and Rio to enjoy both the resort and easy access to the city. It is close also to the nearby favela of St Christopher. This didn't seem to cause any difficulties. The residents of the favela use the adjoining beach and provided some reality to an otherwise luxurious destination. I walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear solomio123, Thank you so much for choosing our hotel as your destination in the marvelous city! Also, we appreciated your time on this helpful and detailed review about our property. It is awesome to have your feedback and learn that you had a great experience with us, enjoyed our restaurants, swimming pools, our Sheraton Club lounge and views from... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 4 days as part of a large group with a lot of rooms. Negatives - Security is bad. The first night I put up a do not disturb sign, used the bar lock, and the deadbolt. I woke up at about 5 am when a keycard was inserted into my lock, the door opened, and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear tinyriot, First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with us. Also, we appreciate your time taken on this feedback that we consider extremely helpful on pointing out our areas of opportunity. I am truly disappointed to learn that you faced those problems during your stay with us. We are going to investigate it further to... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sheraton is a high end hotel. It costs approx. R$85 in taxi fare from the Santos Dumont Airport to arrive at the hotel. There is nothing in the immediate vicinity, so no walking. Leblon is a R$10-12 taxi away, where you will find bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is very nice, a competent concierge, tour desk and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear blatham, Thank you so much for choosing Sheraton Rio and for taking your valuable on this review about our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience with us and we are especially thankful about your compliments to our staff and facilities. Regarding the hotel location, we would like to clarify that we also offer a... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I only had one night in Rio and this hotel was perfect. I had a beautiful room that looked out over Leblon beach (and also the Favella to the left). The grounds were lovely with a nice courtyard with the restaurants and pool. The gym was nice. A few issues: the wifi was terrible - even with a personal router... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear BethR64, Firstly, thank you so much for staying with us and for taking your time in this nice review about your experience at Sheraton Rio. It was an honor for us to welcome you here, especially as a SPG Gold member. We are amazed knowing that, even for only one night, you found the hotel perfect. I am sorry... More 

Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this hotel, and all of the potential concerns from other reviews were unfounded with at the exception of a couple, as you will read. This hotel has obviously been recently refurbished. Yes, it is a large property and feels corporate, but at the end of the day, if you stay, you can't expect a boutique experience in a large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear JoaoLisbon, First of all, thank you so much for taking your time writing this kind and helpful review. Know that you loved the hotel represents an amazing feedback for us. We feel happy with your comment about our room and service. And we appreciate your constructive criticism with reference to the linen and cleanliness of the beach water. I... More 

Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in Superior room with ocean view for 4 nights as a couple. The room was nicely furnished and the bed was was very good. One of the few hotel-beds with lumbar/back support! Other than that, the room was a bit damp and the carpet on the floor was moist-not very fresh! Bathroom was worn and it was impossible to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear PimPamPei, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking your precious time sharing your review with us. Unfortunately it is clear from your comments that we could not meet with your expectations. I am really sorry for the inconveniences regarding the carpet and the bathroom in your room. It would be highly appreciated if you could contact... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long flight we were looking for a clean and comfortable room with a hot shower. The room was fairly comfortable, if a little impersonal, but after making a b line for the bathroom, found the shower to be lukewarm at most! This was extremely disappointing in a hotel of this calibre. Tried all the controls, settings etc but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for spending your time sharing your impressions about your experience here. It is really frustrating for us to know that you faced some issues during your stay and that we were not even close of achieving your expectations. I am sorry about the water temperature in your shower and the lack... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 8 nights and its a decent property to be in, although coming from the Sheraton Brand it could be better, have experienced way better service at other Sheraton properties. Its located at the end of the Leblon beach and so little far from Ipanema and Copacabana. The hotel has a good shuttle service which makes it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear hh200211, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our property as destination in the marvelous city! We were honored to host you here for eight nights. Also, we thank you for your kindness of writing this review that allows us to monitor our performance. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding the variety of breakfast, internet... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is all about location. It is beautifully situated on an almost private beach just around the corner from of Le Blon Beach. It’s a big modern looking hotel with excellent views. Quite nice architecture actually. There is a nice garden with direct beach access. Good pools and rather quaint but good enough restaurants in the garden. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rene S, On behalf of the entire Sheraton family, I would like to deeply apologize about the issues described on this comment and assure that we find it unacceptable and totally away from our standards. I am positive that the maintenance problems experienced represented something punctual, once our hotel has been recently entirely renovated, and we will certainly do... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bad start: booked in November 2014 for 'Carnaval' 2015, superior room with King size bed; pre-payment. Arrived at 3pm on 13th Feb and were given a room that reeked of smoke. Complained and got a non-smoking room with 2 separate beds. Complained and were told that it was difficult to comply with our wish for a King size bed (booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Eberhard2015, Thank you so much for choosing our hotel as your destination for Carnaval in Rio. Hope you have had a wonderful time in the marvelous city! Unfortunately I could see that your experience did not have the right start, but fortunately we were able to change your room and attend your preference. I would like to clarify, not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

247 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (222)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
View from room (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (38)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question