We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema

Av Rainha Elizabeth da Belgica, 440, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081030, Brazil (Formerly Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Ipanema)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    240
    109
    42
    22
See reviews for
192
96
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (497)
  • Mar-May only
    (120)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (116)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (119)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (142)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are on the last night of a 5 night stay in Adagio. We booked a two bed apartment as travelling with our two young sons. We read the reviews after booking and became rather worried. However, we have had a lovely stay. The staff have been supremely helpful and friendly, the apartment is well equipped and modern and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Priscila M, General Manager at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review

Dear Carrie, Thank you for taking the time during your stay to tell us about your experience. We are really deligthed, and hopefully we will welcome your beautiful family again someday. Sincerely, Priscila Machado General Manager More 

New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
306 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

This is a decent, budget property. Very no frills. Pluses are excellent location, near both Ipanema and Copacabana, friendly English staff. Minuses: kitchenette is minimally stocked, irregular housekeeping, and very poor soundproofing. The design of the hotel is very different from what one sees in the US -- the units are built around an airshaft, and the kitchen openings to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Priscila M, Gerente geral at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Adagio Rio De Janeiro Ipanema. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Sincerely, Priscila Machado General Manager More 

Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Despite the service was super nice, as they allowed me to do the checkin early, the apartment is very basic. No views, and no pottery, you have to request it. The best thing of the hotel is the location,...amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Priscila M, General Manager at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you again for sharing your experience and compliment our services. Sincerely, Priscila Machado General Manager More 

Kamakura-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

The toilets are dirty, there is an incredible amount of bacterial deposit in the sink. This is honestly very surprising for an hotel of this class but it also means they don't really care. Sad... Otherwise, the hotel is ok, nothing more to add.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Priscila M, General Manager at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review

Dear customer, we're sorry you had a bad experience in our apartments. We are taking the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence.You could have informed our reception then we would have made it right by you, because we do care. Sincerely, Priscila Machado, General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I stayed at Adagio Ipanema for 6 weeks. In the midst of work trip with some holidays to it I opted to stay at Adagio Ipanema since the location is quite good. Literally you are between Copacabanna and Ipanema beach, near to <supermarkets and restaurants so that was the high light. However due to ongoing refurbishment Adagio Ipanema is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Priscila M, Gerente geral at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review

Dear Mr Shakatoni Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Adagio RJ Ipanema, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. At Adagio, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Regarding the refurbishment, at the time of your... More 

Antwerp
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

When you rent an "aparthotel" you expect some tools in the kitchen, no? Well, here there is nothing and if you want a pan or a pot you have to call reception to get it. The staff at reception is very friendly. The location is good. The rooms are clean but on the small side (for an aparthotel). Too bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Priscila M, Manager at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review

Dear Joe, we thank you for your feedback. It'll contribute to our team's constant search for a better service. Regards, Priscila Machado General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

The only good thing about this hotel is its location. Its a 7-8 minute walk from both Copacabana and Ipanema. Everything else was a huge disappointment. The room, furnishing, linen etc were all tired and worn out. The bathroom was small, dark and didnt have much scope for ventilation. There living room had a balcony but all you can see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Priscila M, Manager at Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are sorry that our hotel didn't meet your expectations in its fullest. The hole building is passing through a renovation, one area at a time so we do not disturb operations, and going towards a new and improved physically Adagio Ipanema. We thank you for your feedback, it for sure will serve as a matter of study... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#8 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Lagoa
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#90 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#87 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lagoa
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#47 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Lagoa
Promenade Visconti
Promenade Visconti
#41 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Arpoador Inn
#33 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay