We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rua Dezenove De Fevereiro, 52, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22280-030, Brazil (Botafogo)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added LimeTime Hostels to your Saves list
LimeTime Hostels
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
80%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mila G Serra, ES
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
15
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Serra, ES
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in hostels in Amsterdam, Paris and Edinburgh and none of them was as clean and organized as this one. Location is convenient. Great staff. Congratulations! I would surely recommend Lime Time Hostel Rio!

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

- Excellent location - Right near the metro and about half way between the extreme ends of the city. - Great staff - Really helpful and good fun. Also good local knowledge - Great way to find out what's going on if you've just arrived. - Community atmosphere, central communal area at entrance. - Freedom to make what you want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alberto A, Owner at LimeTime Hostels, responded to this review

Hey there. Thanks for your candid comments. We're glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated our efforts to make your stay as fun as possible! Hope to see you again soon! Take care and happy travels! More

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked into this hostel on 3 or 4 different occasions and stayed a total of about 2 weeks, never had any problems, staff are super friendly and full of information. facilities are top notch. Hostels is always clean and neat. Wifi is probably the best I've used in the whole of South America. Also free breakfast and caipirinhas! Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We only stayed at LimeTime for one night, right after the World Cup. The staff was nice and helpful. The place was a little run down, but clean. We were in the 4-person room, which smelled a bit stuffy, but opened to a balcony, . There was 1 plug for each bed. The shower (shared bathroom) had hot water and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alberto A, Owner at LimeTime Hostels, responded to this review

Hey there. Thanks for your candid comments. After having the hostel full of men for a whole month, I believe we survived it quite well, lol! I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you again soon! Take care and happy travels! More

Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights and were quite happy to leave again afterwards. The bunk beds were really unstable and made scary noises when moving. The rooms for 4 persons do not have enough space for the luggage. Most criticism is about the run down and broken state of rooms and bath rooms, that seems to be quite usual.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alberto A, Owner at LimeTime Hostels, responded to this review

We are sorry that the hostel was not in the best conditions when you were here. With the World Cup happening in Rio was almost impossible to get people to come work and fix the things that needed to be fixed. Also a lot of things were broken by drunk football fans staying at the hostel. It was mayhem! I... More

Lima, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have been 4 days in Sao Paulo and then in Rio do Janeiro, host at LimeTime Hostel (SP and RJ) was really an amazing experience. They have the best team, always friendly, the best Caipi, I just wanna say Thanks so much for make of my experience in Brasil a increible memories. Charly, Fernando, Cody, Guy.... you are the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I'd like to preface this review by saying that I only spent one night at LimeTime, so I did not get to experience the organized activities/happy hour that seem to make this hostel so popular. This review is based purely on my experience staying in one of their twin shared private rooms, which included a private bathroom. Having spent 300+... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alberto A, Owner at LimeTime Hostels, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. It's a shame you didn't get to experience the lively social atmosphere we have at LimeTime. We understand your bathroom situation and tried to solve as we could, which was trying to change the light bulb, and that didn't help. Unfortunately we can't get an electrician to come and fix the wires after work hours, so... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Great hostel and location, made my stay in Rio worth while. Staff very helpful, providing information made on request as well as easy going. Very relaxed place and more importantly a great place to socialise and meet people (free drink also included). Highly recommend his place, for both service and location, thanks Jack B

Was this review helpful? Yes
DC area
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Limetime. Shout out to Cloud, Guy, and Pierce in particular for being really friendly and helpful. This is definitely a party hostel--the staff take the guests out every single night, which isn't really our speed but would be awesome if you're into it. Thanks, everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Very Well located, in Botafogo close to the metro station. Everything is clean and new, from the kitchen to the bathroom. The staff is very friendly and there are free Caïpirina every night. Just the breakfast is first come, first served... It is definitly a good place to stay in Rio.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage LimeTime Hostels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to LimeTime Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LimeTime Hostels

Address: Rua Dezenove De Fevereiro, 52, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22280-030, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your LimeTime Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LimeTime Hostels Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Rio de Janeiro with
any amenities