We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Misti Hostel Rio

Rua Tonelero, 197, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
El Misti Hostel Rio
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    121
    114
    64
    22
    24
See reviews for
8
19
123
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (345)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While doing my RTW trip I stopped off in Rio for a few days travelling around Brazil.... El Misti hostel was a great stay in an energetic city. The location of the hostel can't be beat as it's only a few streets away from Copacabana beach, on the door step of some bars of that district and is directly opposite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is awesome. It is close to the Copacabana Beach and close to the metro(subway) station so it is convenient to go anywhere. The hostel is always packed with people from around the world so it is great for meeting new friends and go party together at night (It's Rio afterall). The bathrooms are not big but clean most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

El Misti really great experience and i can recommend everyone, the athmosphere is great, the breakfast was so good, the location so close to the beach and in a street that is quiet and you can sleep with calm, i feel so confortable, the price was so good for a great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you so much to take the time on sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that you had a good time during your stay at El Misti hostels. We really hope to see you soon. Greetings, Management More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

The staff is super friendly especially Steph (the handsome receptionist) and the manager is very helpful. I had to partially cancel a reservation and he did it without any hesitation. Nice service. The location is pretty awesome as well. Less than 10 minutes of walking to the copacabana beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Vladyslav, Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Good: + friendly + cheap + good location (50m from metro) + aircondition + party ambiance downstairs Not so good: - wifi is less than average, third floor no connection at all - to few bathrooms for too many people, small and not really clean - towels for rent (it is stated differently on booking.com btw!) - no place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Matthias, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We appreciate your detailed review, in this way we can work on every part of it. We make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements, specially on... More 

South Denmark, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

The best hostels i stayed..Location being close to the beach and to subway..staff was always helpful and smiling and friendly. the staff was able to speak many languages.They serves perfect breakfast every morning. Lots of activities organised by hostel in the day. Very nice people in this hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Hi Kety, We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

This hostel has a great location and really friendly helpful staff who can speak good English. There is a great bar and lovely social atmosphere. This is a really good value hostel and includes breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Jen, We are so glad that you enjoy your stay with us at the hostel. We always work hard in order to attempt to every detail our guests need. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

the staff is good friendly and comfortable hostel cheap and nice if you have plan to come rio i recomend this hostel i really nice you enjoy and more activities and free lunch and free internet i have destop for all

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, we hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Very poor internet, breakfast was ok, hot in the common areas, very much a party hostel. air-con in rooms was good, rooms were clean. people and staff were very friendly. location was v.good. good hostel if you want to meet people and party

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Deenihaj, We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. All your comments have been passed to the El Misti team. We are already working on solving wi-fi problems, I´m sure that for your next visit it will be already solved. Kind regards Managemt More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

I am a cycletourist and this place is most certainly the best place to stay if you are like myself. On entering the hostel I was greeted with a smiley and friendly bunch of staff members, which told me that because I am a cycletourist I receive 5 days free. This was great because other hostels around the area refused... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Hi Tom, Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, and it was a pleassure to have you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
El Misti House Copacabana
El Misti House Copacabana
#49 of 522 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
#47 of 522 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#29 of 522 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Villa Budget Hostel
Villa Budget Hostel
#78 of 522 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Copacabana
Bamboo Rio Hostel
Bamboo Rio Hostel
#72 of 522 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Botafogo
El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada
El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousa...
#100 of 522 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay