We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 430 Rio de Janeiro accommodations

El Misti Hostel Rio

Rua Tonelero 197 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil (Copacabana)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added El Misti Hostel Rio to your Saves list
El Misti Hostel Rio
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
62%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Izabizzle
  • Overview
  • Reviews (168)
  • Photos (47)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    55
    36
    13
    14
See reviews for
3
7
61
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Perfect location close to the beach and right across from the metro station. Breakfast is basic cereal, coffee/tea, bread rolls but enough to fill you up. The friendliest staff I've come across in my travels and the nightly dinners are amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were so friendly and helpful - even though my friend and I had to change our transfer numerous times, Nicolas was patient and didn´t mind helping at all. Lovely pineapple caiprinhas served, great food and excursions to choose from. Good wifi too. Would recommend to other travellers! Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is great, its close to all the main attractions, opposite the metro station, 4 blocks away from Copacabana Beach, theres a super market just around the corner. The staff is always willing to help you out with all your questions, they also help you out with your trip around Brazil and South America. Breakfast is good, the toilets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Juan Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More

Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you don't look for party time this is not a good place, but if you do this is the perfec place! Very clean, good breakfast, but the bathrooms are too small. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, the neighborhood seems to be safe. The welcome caipirinha was tasty!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Mari. First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff was very nice and helpful; however, that's about the only positive thing I can say. There wasn't any water the night we arrived, my bedsheets had a hole the size of a basketball in them (in addition to stains) and there wasn't consistent hot water for showering. The bathrooms were dirty with hand-stains on the soap dispensers and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

It is a great place to meet new people! The staff is really helpful and friendly and they have a chef that cooks amazing dinners that are all you can eat for 18 reals. The location is close to the beach and shoppings and the breakfast that is included and really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Dibe. Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I did not enjoy my stay at this hostel because of it's size. It's small. The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are even smaller. It probably would be a nicer place had they not crammed everyone in like sardines. The only good thing about this place is NADIA. If Nadia didn't work at this hostel, what is the point... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Don F, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make... More

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I spent more than 10 days there and I would surely come back to this awesome hostel. The toilets were spotless, breakfast is great, well located the beach is only 4 blocks away and the metro station is just opposite the hostel, the staff is always giving you the best tips to make your trip easier. Best place to meet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Juan Pablo. We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. More

london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had a really nice time at El Misti Rio, it was in a great location, the staff were great, the meals were delicious and it was a great place to meet others travellers. Its very cheap and i believe value for money...i'd stay again!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Happyclubber First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

One of the receptionists wasnt nice. There were no water at the hostel 2 days in a row when we came back from the beach and were full of sand (that sucked :/) Except for that the hostel was pretty clean and they had a good kitchen and utilities

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Alon, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Unfortunately the lack of water was a problem in the whole neighborhood,so we could not do so much... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage El Misti Hostel Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to El Misti Hostel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Misti Hostel Rio

Address: Rua Tonelero 197 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Misti Hostel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Hostel Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Rio de Janeiro with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from El Misti Hostel Rio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer