We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 409 Rio de Janeiro accommodations

El Misti Hostel Rio

Rua Tonelero 197 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030, Brazil (Copacabana)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added El Misti Hostel Rio to your Saves list
El Misti Hostel Rio
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Dibe B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (150)
  • Photos (46)
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    47
    33
    13
    14
See reviews for
3
7
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff was very nice and helpful; however, that's about the only positive thing I can say. There wasn't any water the night we arrived, my bedsheets had a hole the size of a basketball in them (in addition to stains) and there wasn't consistent hot water for showering. The bathrooms were dirty with hand-stains on the soap dispensers and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is a great place to meet new people! The staff is really helpful and friendly and they have a chef that cooks amazing dinners that are all you can eat for 18 reals. The location is close to the beach and shoppings and the breakfast that is included and really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Dibe. Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did not enjoy my stay at this hostel because of it's size. It's small. The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are even smaller. It probably would be a nicer place had they not crammed everyone in like sardines. The only good thing about this place is NADIA. If Nadia didn't work at this hostel, what is the point... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Don F, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make... More

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I spent more than 10 days there and I would surely come back to this awesome hostel. The toilets were spotless, breakfast is great, well located the beach is only 4 blocks away and the metro station is just opposite the hostel, the staff is always giving you the best tips to make your trip easier. Best place to meet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Juan Pablo. We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. More

london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had a really nice time at El Misti Rio, it was in a great location, the staff were great, the meals were delicious and it was a great place to meet others travellers. Its very cheap and i believe value for money...i'd stay again!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Happyclubber First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

One of the receptionists wasnt nice. There were no water at the hostel 2 days in a row when we came back from the beach and were full of sand (that sucked :/) Except for that the hostel was pretty clean and they had a good kitchen and utilities

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Alon, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Unfortunately the lack of water was a problem in the whole neighborhood,so we could not do so much... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here for Carnival. Amazing staff very polite and helpful. Big party hostel, clean and a good breakfast available. Also offer a free airport transfer during Carnival and New years eve periods. Rooms. Free caipirinha upon arrival was a good suprise! Don't take any notice of the bad reviews this is a top hostel. Thanks for an amazing holiday El... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear Coxy First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

One of the worst hostels we stayed at. We can't believe this hostel has nearly a 90% rating. It was horrific. Staff: The worst thing about this hostel were the staff, they were extremely lazy, slow (on purpose) and unresourceful. Took us over 30 minutes to check-in (which ONLY involves showing us our room since payment etc is done at... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

El Misti are a chain of hostels, and there are several across Rio and other parts of Brazil. I don't know what the others are like, but I can't say I'd recommend this one, as close to Copacabana beach as it may be. I actually split my time in Rio; I arrived and spent a few days there, then went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fortaleza, CE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

they didn't have running water, we arrived at night and there was no way to go to the bathroom, then the rooms themselves are small and really dirty, no human been should sleep there ever in their life. what else can I add.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage El Misti Hostel Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to El Misti Hostel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Misti Hostel Rio

Address: Rua Tonelero 197 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Misti Hostel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Hostel Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)

See which rooms travelers prefer