We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ladeira Ari Barroso, 15 | Leme, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-060, Brazil
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Lisetonga Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lisetonga Hostel to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Uriel P Mexico City, Mexico
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    68
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
49
112
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (357)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (107)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is really nice and the staff is super friendly. They gave me useful information for my trip, and helped me with the arrangements for a tour over the most touristic places (Corcovado, Pao de Ajucar, etc.). It has a great location, walking distance to Copacabana beach. I would definitely go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel itself is quite nice (aside from the plastic mattresses and pillowcases) but the staff really let this place down. From poor information to repeatedly giving us the wrong bill we were disappointed time and time again. Especially considering we were paying hyped up carnaval prices (€66 a night for a dorm) a smile from staff shouldn't have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juraj V, Gerente geral at Lisetonga Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Aisling, thank you for your comment. You were rather complicated guest so we also learned your name ;-) You changed your booking several times, dates and number of nights, from 6 to 5 nights and number of people... You paid your bill on last day, when it is due at check in. The plastic protection on pillows and mattresses... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great little spot up on the hill in Leme. About 10mins to Copacabana beach and all the transport links you need. Friendly & helpful staff, air conditioned room, decent breakfast. All in all a good spot in Rio- would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I stayed here over the ,New Year's celebration. It's a great spot. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hostel itself is clean, and the breakfast is quite good. During the evening they have a happy hour with 2x1 drinks...who doesn't like that? The hostel is in a great location in Leme. It is close to the beach and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Payson
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here over New Year's. It's a great spot. Everyone there is friendly, the hostel itself is clean, and the breakfast is quite good. The hostel is in a cool part of Leme...close to the beach and shops, but up on the hill away from the traffic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Really nice hostel with beautiful decor 5 mins from Leme beach on the border of a favela, there is a slight hill of maybe 5mins but don't let this deter you as there is bike taxis all day. Manager is lovely and very friendly. They have small kitchen facilities, one laptop, loads of clean tolilets and showers, a lookout area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Stayed here in a dorm for 7 days before xmas. Hostel is great value and location is good and safe albeit up a steep hill 10 min from leme beach (but taxi bikes available if your lazy). Hostel is clean, plenty of toilets and showers. Kitchen is small and can get crowded but the breakfast they serve is excellent and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Great feeling of family, great location, great staff, good breakfast, good social spaces and overall no complaints! Any questions or queries and these were answered. Definite recommend to stay and would come back again! 😁

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at Lisetonga hostel. As a solo traveller and my first stop on my South America trip it was very welcoming and friendly. The building is bright and airy with lots of common areas. The breakfast was really good and so were the dorm rooms. It was quite loud in the evening but I think everywhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We stayed in a private Bedroom for two nights. The bedroom was very nice as the whole hostel and everything was clean also. The staff tried to help as much as they could, but didn't know every detail about the sight seeing places in Rio. It is therefore helpful if you know in advance where you want to go and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Lisetonga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisetonga Hostel

Address: Ladeira Ari Barroso, 15 | Leme, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-060, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lisetonga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisetonga Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay