We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Z.Bra Hostel

Avenida General San Martin, 1212 | Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22441-010, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Z.Bra Hostel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Z.Bra Hostel
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    54
    52
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
4
25
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ok so ignore the just travelled date as I actually went for 2012 Carnival and stayed a few nights here before moving into Lappa. Very helpful reception staff who managed to accommodate an extra night in a double room when we were supposed to be moving into dorms. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

I live in Rio, but went there to test the hostel before recommed it to some friends from the USA. Not only it is pretty comfortable, with a really kind staff and located in one of the most famous neighborhoods in Rio (Leblon!), but in my opinion its strongest point is its address. Travellers must always pay attention in Rio... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I stayed at Zbra for a week, really nice hostel and amazing staff! Big thanks to Constanza for early check-in and Cristian for all advices. Breakfast is simple, but good, you can have everything you want, from cereal to sandwiches and fruits. The neighborhood is very very safe, only 1 block from the beach, close to bars and shops in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

We had a private room in this hostel and were not disappointed. Great location, very safe and excellent facilities in our private room. Staff were very helpful and made amazing caiprinhas. Great value for money and the loan of beach gear was very much appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grazi_ZBra, Gerente de relações com clientes at Z.Bra Hostel, responded to this review

Hey! Thank you for the review. We hope to see you back here soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We were a couple staying in z.Bra Hostel and stayed in room 13. Not sure if this was a bad omen from the start but our room was quite literally a prison cell. We had no day light, the walls were grey with no decor (not that i would have expected it in a hostel) and the only window we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grazi_ZBra, Gerente de relações com clientes at Z.Bra Hostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for your review, it was very much appreciated. We'll try and improve things in room 13 so new guests can have a nicer stay here. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Moc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I stayed there for 3 night in a 9 bedroom girls... It was ok, a little small actually. The staff was amazing, very helpful. Breakfast was simple, no much options. Free wifi, and the location was perfect. Leblon is a very charming and you can find everything there... The hostel is very cool, the decoration is nice, so it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grazi_ZBra, Gerente de relações com clientes at Z.Bra Hostel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

The location is really good, there is free wifi and the air conditioning in the bedrooms are amazing! The staff is really cute, they changed my room and after the room change (to 22) my stay was something else, it became WAY better. There aren't many outlets, but they will lend you adapters. Breaksfast is simple, but has everything you'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utrecht, Nederland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

we stayed three nights in a double room. The room was simple, but practical and clean. Maybe a bit too expensive, but, I guess that applies to many products and services in Rio. The staff were really great and helpful, and the location, in Leblon, is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We stayed at the Z.Bra Hostel during the world cup final. We wouldn't normally choose to stay in a hostel, but as it was the world cup final, the prices of all the hotels were extortionate! Even to stay here was a crazy price, but it was the most economic option for us. The hostel is really cool, the way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a great hostel, albeit a bit pricey but I think the accommodation, service and location make up for this. Leblon is a nice neighbourhood and the beach is very pretty. It is a lot quieter than Copacabana and even Ipanena which is on the same stretch of beach. The staff are friendly and very eager to help, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Lagoa
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
#99 of 234 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Lagoa
Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon
Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon
#87 of 234 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Lagoa
Lemon Spirit Hostel
Lemon Spirit Hostel
#51 of 515 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lagoa
Leblon Spot Design Hostel
Leblon Spot Design Hostel
#100 of 515 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Leblon
Leblon All Suites Design Hostel
Leblon All Suites Design Hostel
#96 of 515 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Leblon
#30 of 265 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay