We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 340 Rio de Janeiro accommodations

Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Rua Guilhermina Guinle #95 | Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22270=060, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com HostelBookers.com Hostelworld.com
and 1 more site!
69%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014
elliesloman Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
8
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When I arrived they didn´t have the room that I booked and payed for. After a struggle, they found me a room on the back and charged me the same price even though the room was very poor. The bathrooms were always dirty and out of toilet paper, there was people sleeping on the hall couch and dogs inside de... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Actually currently still Sat in the hostel! It's been really great staying here, the staff are amazing, a really great laugh. The hostel is reallh close to the metro which gets you everywhere and right by a supermarket and other shops. The area feels really friendly. We were originally staying in cindelandia and are friends were staying in the hostel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NZ
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked into this hostel for our first nights in Rio and ended up staying for our whole 10 nights here! The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful! We were provided with everything we needed with a nice relaxing common and outside area. Even though the plastic on the mattresses may make for a less peaceful sleep, we were happy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Really helpful guy on reception when we arrived. The room was disappointing. Booked a superior 6 bed dorm and i have to say after 5 months travelling it was one of the worst. We had air con but the temperature was set quite high so made no difference. Plastic on the beds meant they were so uncomfortable and the bunk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernardo S, Manager at Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for taking time to write your review. We will be checking all the issues you have mentioned on your review and all the necessary measures will be taken to provide all the comfort our guests deserve. Best regards, Beach Backpackers Hostel Management More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I arrived in sunny Rio on my own. The hostel was quiet as everyone was out enjoying themselves. The staff were very friendly, spoke good English and the hostel seemed nice. They have a very big dog at the hostel (who I loved!) but if you don't like dogs then he may be a bit over-bearing for you when he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Despite the hot weather which made the dorm room close to hell, the hostel is fine with great staff, great environment and a nice place to make friends and have a cold beer. I can't imagine a better neighbor than this. Close to everything and just a couple of blocks from the metro. When I come back to Rio, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I feel bad writing this review but I think other people should be made aware of what they are offering at this hostel. I can't comment on the dorms, they may be fine. We arrived late at night and were shown the double room we had booked and were completely shocked. Unfortunately it was too late to leave. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Bernardo S, Owner at Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I was in the Hostel at the moment you arrived and as you know we unfortunately had a problem with our reservations system and you were put by mistake in a twin room. Myself, the owner, offered you this night for free even after changing the twin beds for a Double bed. We were all very polite and... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I will definitely be back to Beach Backpackers! of all my travels, it was the friendliest and most helpful staff. the accommodations were clean and comfortable. there is a great 24 hour bar, with a happy hour every night, which provides a great way to meet other people. Some of the best people I met in South America were staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hostel was good. Average. The room for 2 people is small. It has just two "beds", non a table, non a rack. I mean "bed" between quotation marks, b/c it was made with three mattresses one over the other one. The staff is kind. The best is Charlie, the dog. Great location, far from the beach, but near from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
beachbackpackers, Manager at Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear Customer, You got a promotional rate (Half of the current price) for a Standard twin room with air conditioning and all the facilities on offer, included in the price. We have bigger rooms with 30 square meters ensuite but this type of room is only available for those willing to spend a little bit more than you did. We... More

Brasilia, Brazil
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Had an amazing time there! Good, very clean and cheap. Nice breakfast included. The bathroom looks newly redone and it was always really clean. Also, the hostel is between two large streets where you can get a lot of taxis and buses to everywhere in the city. Subway is close too. Just make sure you get the bottom bed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Also Known As:
Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio De Janeiro Brazil
Address: Rua Guilhermina Guinle #95 | Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22270=060, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 340 Specialty lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to provide comfortable, secure and clean accommodation to the budget traveller. We offer competitive prices and extras such as free breakfast, free internet and wifi, free lockers and free bedlinen and towel. Our 24-hour reception is operated by helpful staff who are ready to answer all of your questions and offer the best advice about the local area. Our large social area offers a great place to relax on comfortable couches. You can make use of our flat screen TV with satellite channels for watching sports and movies. We have a DVD selection, a Playstation 2, a book exchange and board games. You will also find free internet stations with skype headphones and free wifi with a strong, fast connection. There is a guest phone for receiving calls from home or for making local or international calls. Our fully equipped kitchen has two large fridges for our guests to store food. We also have a built in water filter to top up your drinking bottles with fresh filtered water. Our private courtyard garden is a peaceful space to chill out and enjoy morning coffee or have an evening drink while listening to music and get to know your fellow travellers. We also have regular BBQ nights here with really excellent food and a fun party atmosphere. Tours and Activities: We have a fantastic night-life guide for travellers keen to party, which includes information for gay and lesbian backpackers. We have loads of ideas for people on a tight budget or for travelers who want to splurge and treat themselves to a great Brazilian meal. We also offer the best tours available to all tourist attractions in Rio, including: Sugar Loaf, Christ Statue, Maracanã Stadium, Botanical Garden, Santa Tereza Stairs, Lapa (the most famous bohemian neighbourhood where a huge street party takes place every Friday). Accommodation Information: We have private and dormitory rooms available with en-suite or shared bathrooms. Our rooms are spacious with modern furnishings and have new, comfortable mattresses. Our wi-fi signal is strong in all our rooms. Location Information: Our hostel is situated in Botafogo - a safe, central location. Within walking distance of our hostel you will find Botafogo Beach (5 mins) where you can see the famous Sugar Loaf. You can also walk to the world renowned Copacobana Beach (18 mins). We are beside many great local amenities including the metro, bus stops to all tourist attractions, trendy bars, restaurants, night clubs, frozen yogurt stores, juice bars, supermarkets, local markets, two large shopping malls (Starbucks!), 24-hour ATM (HSBC), pharmacies and a public hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro to your Saves list