We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 339 Rio de Janeiro accommodations

CabanaCopa Hostel

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Travessa Guimaraes, 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-100, Brazil (Copacabana)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Save Saved
You added CabanaCopa Hostel to your Saves list
CabanaCopa Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com Travelocity
and 6 more sites!
69%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    59
    26
    9
    23
See reviews for
4
24
58
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed it for carnival and a week after! More pros than cons: Cons: some of the rooms don't have enough lockers for each people (there were locks but on empty lockers) and the staff were not that useful to solve this issue - you have to really make an effort to get them to help you! The WiFi isn't great,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. That was only an issue in one room and it has been fixed now. During carnival everything gets a little crazy and the staff is extra stressed, sorry if they weren't helpful enough. The internet works fine but during 9-10 pm we shut it down so people will interact... More

Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked in for 2 nights but ended up staying an extra 2! loved the atmosphere and its location, nice and friendly vibe. great breakfast is a plus! I would definateley stay there again next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location, atmosphere and breakfast. We hope you will return! Best regads, CabanaCopa staff More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I liked the hostel, I met some really cool people here and the building is nice with good common areas, if a little small sometimes when there's lots of people, nothing terrible just a bit hard to squeeze past all the chairs! Really nice rooms, fairly spacious, nice big lockers and kept clean. The only things I had a problem... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you like our hostel and had a good time. We are sorry that you think we have too much rules, but we are a big hostel and need to keep it in order to protect hostel & guest. Unfortunately our cosy location tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2... More

Esbjerg, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best place to stay in Rio! Very friendly staff, good rooms and amazing atmosphere! The common areas are great! We stayed in a 4p dorm, which was good. Big lockers for your valuables and good kitchen facilities, where you can store and make your own food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you liked our staff, rooms and atmosphere (one of the things we are really happy to have as a big hostel :)). We hope you will come back! Safe travels and best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is perfect, it's located in a quiet area close to Copacabana (like 5-min walk), the staff is super nice and helpful, the rooms are clean and there is a pretty decent kitchen for cooking. This is not a high class hotel, so don't expect everything to be in order at all times. We did have some trouble with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply. We are happy to hear you have such positive things to say about our hostel and that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope you will be coming back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The place has so much faults i will specify them objectively. Honestly I think the only reason anyone goes there is probably because they are in the lonely planet book or something. It just horrible. Location is in copacabana but the furthest away from the beach thats possible, on a HILL. The place has much too much rules, they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Well our hostel made it to the lonely planet for a reason and we had plenty of guests coming before we were featured in the book. Our cosy location is tucked in next to a national park in the heart of Copacabana, 2 min from the metro & beach, this is a great location and being on a hill is... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in this hostel for only one night then moved to another as it was extremely overcrowded. The breakfast area was very small for the amount of people they had staying in the hostel. I also had to wait half an hour to use the toilet in the morning!I think we were staying in an extension recently added to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi & thanks for staying with us! You came during the highest season and the only place that isn't overcrowded is in a favela/slum like the place you moved to. All hostels near the beach in Copacabana & Ipanema are very busy this time of the year. Our new house has one common living room, kitchen and view to the... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I arrived in Rio as a solo traveller and was dubious about meeting other people. I need not have worried as this hostel is extremely sociable. I stayed in the all female dorm on the top floor ( big one). It was very clean and spacious. Good size lockers that hold your whole backpack! It's also on a private and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and taking time to write the review. We are glad you liked our facilities, breakfast & social atmosphere (best part of our hostel :). We hope you will be coming back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

Kamloops, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The people here made my experience the best! Livia is super nice! She was very helpful and always smiling! Carlos was perfect - Great conversation, a wealth of knowledge and all around an awesome dude! And mister Gabriel...you rock! Always a nice smile with genuine chit chat and damn can that boy make caipirinhas! Everyone else was friendly and helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a reply! We are glad to hear you got to know and like our staff and the cleanliness and location of our hostel. We hope you will be coming back! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Don't stay here unless you have the patience of a saint. The staff alone were enough to turn us off this place. This was a shame as the place has potential... Although the layout is cramped (the bar is the reception desk) it could be fine. The situation with the staff turned into a comedy of errors... from the 40... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian P, Diretor de vendas at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi & thanks for staying with us. Our staff clean all rooms once & bathrooms twice daily. We are sorry for the delay checking in, some of our staff were still being trained. The errors in your bill were due to the special discount your friend got to you because he is a guest who stayed with us before. Due... More

Been to CabanaCopa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CabanaCopa Hostel

Also Known As:
Cabanacopa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Cabanacopa Hotel
CabanaCopa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Address: Travessa Guimaraes, 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-100, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 339 Specialty lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CabanaCopa Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from the famous Copacabana beach, next to the metro and a beautiful national park, CabanaCopa is a new quality backpackers hostel in a street w/ 24hrs security with a warm & welcoming atmosphere of our friendly & helpful staff.A large colonial house fully renovated with clean spacious dorms and bathrooms, excellent social areas (indoor and outdoor) that include our CabanaBar w/ Live sports & music, a Games room w/ Pool table, cards etc., a Cinema room w/ 52” LCD HD Cable TV & DVD, a Computers lounge w/ Free 20Mbs Internet & Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Tingo, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your CabanaCopa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CabanaCopa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.