We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 431 Rio de Janeiro accommodations

CabanaCopa Hostel

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Travessa Guimaraes, 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-100, Brazil (Copacabana)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Save Saved
You added CabanaCopa Hostel to your Saves list
CabanaCopa Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
73%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
nicksnow83 Derby, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (238)
  • Photos (79)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    68
    31
    11
    25
See reviews for
5
27
77
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brilliant hostel, possibly the best in Rio. My friend and I stayed here for a few days and extended our stay for two weeks because we liked it here so much. The hostel has a brilliant and lively vibe that is just perfect for young travelers. The hostel is located on a quiet and private street, two minutes from a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are glad to hear you like our vibe, location, cleanliness and staff. Sounds like you had a good stay! We hope to see you again. Best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here 4 nights during FIFA World Cup. The Bad: Check-in took almost 2 hours long. There was a lot of confusion over the bed situation. We found out they had overbooked, and they told my friend to sleep in the hostel down the block. When we came back to the hostel later that night, the hostel told us there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Truro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed for the World Cup only a few days, felt it was reasonably priced for the fact it was the World Cup! All in all no complaints, good location and would stay there again! Also the staff were friendly and helpful.. Secure, and clean enough to make me happy! Kinda lively but that was more the folks around rather than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with is and for writing a review. We are happy to hear you like our location, staff and cleanliness. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

101 av du marechal de lattre de tassigny, saint andre
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We spent 5 nights in this hostel and have been really disappointed by hotsl's management. Location is good and the facilities in the bar are nice and comfortable but hostel policies are really bad. Everything is done to get maximum amount of cash out of you 1. Price of washing  30 reais. 3 tile more than in the lavatory next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

There's not enough open space for all guests to dry their clothes in the hostel, therefore we sell washing and drying together. We have a pretty high water consumption already due to showers etc, since we're a hostel and not a laundry business we do charge more than an actual lavatory does. Hostel and hotel prices naturally fluctuates due to... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

What makes this place awesome is the people. They are willing to go the extra mile for you. It is literally four blocks from the beach! What more could you need?!? Great people, cheap drinks, and great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are happy to hear you found the people helpful and that you like our location. We hope you will stay with us again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

Buenos Aires
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I really enyojed staying in cabana copa, its tiny, clean, and they have an amazing breakfast buffet with pineapple, scumbled eggs and juice all this in the price incl. nice and friendly stuff, helpful adives...thank you for everything, i will definetly come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad you like our cleanliness, breakfast and staff. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Cabanacopa hostel was the best! The location was prime time, atmosphere was safe, clean, and so much fun! The staff were excellent! Staff Agata, Pablo, Enya, Evelyn, and all the others were so friendly, informative, respectful, funny, helpful with directions...and more! I even played a game of fudbal on the beach with staff Pablo! I would recommend this hostel to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location. atmosphere and cleanliness. We are also very happy you recommend our hostel and that you have gathered some nice memories from your time here. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The hostel itself is nice- great environment, friendly staff, good breakfast, and enjoyable night atmosphere. Unfortunately the hostel is giving away free FIFA 2014 t shirts for everyone who leaves a positive review of the hostel so you can't help but think it's going to be amazing. The bedrooms are absolutely disgusting. My pillow and mattress was covered in large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

From the picking you up at the story service to the location this place is a hidden been in copa cabana. Be open minded and great place to meet other travelers. I stayed during the world cup and we were 19 minutes away from the FIFA Fan Zone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I really enyojed staying in cabana copa, its tiny, clean, and they have an amazing breakfast buffet with pineapple, scumbled eggs and juice all this in the price incl. nice and friendly stuff, helpful adives...thank you for everything, i will definetly come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness, breakfast and staff. We are also happy to hear you'll return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage CabanaCopa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to CabanaCopa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CabanaCopa Hostel

Address: Travessa Guimaraes, 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-100, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CabanaCopa Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your CabanaCopa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanacopa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
CabanaCopa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (45)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Rio de Janeiro with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just three blocks from the famous Copacabana beach, next to the metro and a beautiful national park, CabanaCopa is a new quality backpackers hostel in a street w/ 24hrs security with a warm & welcoming atmosphere of our friendly & helpful staff.A large colonial house fully renovated with clean spacious dorms and bathrooms, excellent social areas (indoor and outdoor) that include our CabanaBar w/ Live sports & music, a Games room w/ Pool table, cards etc., a Cinema room w/ 52” LCD HD Cable TV & DVD, a Computers lounge w/ Free 20Mbs Internet & Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from CabanaCopa Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer