We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 340 Rio de Janeiro accommodations

Rio Dolphin House

Rua Bulhoes De Carvalho 480, Casa 6 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081-000, Brazil (Ipanema)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
World Cup dates available
Rio Dolphin House
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
54
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at Rio Dolphin Inn for about five days in early August 2013. We had an excellent time staying here and wholeheartedly recommend it. The hosts, John and Cindy, were extremely helpful, friendly and gracious. This groovy little place was way way better than staying at a larger, more impersonal and more expensive hotel. There are many positives, here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

You can't go wrong with over 100 5* reviews and it's hard to say what hasn't already been said! Although, cliche, you DO feel like you're visiting an old friend! The location is fantastic, you have an abundance of food choices and you're right in between Copacabana and Ipanema Beaches so it's easy to take your pick and arrive at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Longwood
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thanks to a creative décor that mixes surfer-beach themes with Old Rio touches, plus a modern hot, powerful shower, my stay at the Rio Dolphin Inn scored five stars. Tucked in a cozy block at the point where Ipanema and Copacabana just about meet, the inn was close to both beaches—minutes away. With access to the kitchen, I was able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best location - a beautiful and peaceful place hidden like a pearl. 10 walking minutes from both beaches. You are both in the city with all kinds of nice restaurants nearby - and at a beach. It works perfectly well wandering between those two worlds. Very generous and supportive hosts who will show you around, help out with maps... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in rio dolphin inn for carnival. We are backpacking around south america for 5 months and planned to be in rio for carnival. After a lot of research before we left, I booked rio dolphin inn. Was it the right choice? Most definitely yes! The inn is located in a very secure street with gated access. We felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnMaier, Owner at Rio Dolphin House, responded to this review

We just want to thank everybody who takes the time to comment on the Rio Dolphin Inn, and to let all our friends and guests know that our beloved Dalmation Genki, who was mentioned in several reviews, is now in doggy heaven frolicking with his friends and family. More

Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My comment comes a bit late, but since we got back in January I was too busy to find the right words to describe the Rio Dolphin Inn ambiance. We did expect quite a lot from the Rio Dolphin Inn given all the good reviews found on TripAdvisor. So if you expect a lot you can also be disappointed, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The reviews sited previously are quite misleading. Travelers beware. Prior positive reviews appear contrived. Positives: The location of this place was convenient, and safety was no concern. Downside: The room was subpar and the bathroom tiny. The bathroom attached to our room was small, and open to the outdoors. The only thing separating the bathroom from outside was a rudementary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JohnMaier, Owner at Rio Dolphin House, responded to this review

Aloha friends, Wow, how do you respond to something like that? This  was only  our second three-star review  out of nearly 100 so we take it quite seriously. Normally  we do not reply to reviews because we think  everybody is entitled to their opinion but in this case the reviewer made such outlandish and spiteful remarks  we feel we  have to... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

No better place to stay if you are looking for a great location and an inkeep who has a wealth of knowledge. John could not have treated us any better if we were his friends. Rio Dolphin Inn is a place I have recommended to friends of my own. My husband and I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Rio Dolphin Inn for 6 nights, and found it to be a nice little B&B in a perfect location. If you walk out onto the sidewalk and look left, you can see Copacabana beach a few blocks away. If you look right, you can see Ipanema. The only problem is, which way to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at the Rio Dolphin in early Oct. I picked it mainly because of its central location & its proximity to both the Ipanema & Copacabana beaches. Yes the price was higher than other pousadas but I didn’t mind because safety was important to me. I was a lady travelling by myself you see. When I arrived at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Rio Dolphin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Dolphin House

Also Known As:
Rio Dolphin Hotel
Rio Dolphin Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Dolphin House Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Address: Rua Bulhoes De Carvalho 480, Casa 6 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 340 Specialty lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rio Dolphin Inn is a top quality yet quaint and cozy home on a quiet cobblestone street on the border of Ipanema, Copacabana and Arpoador beaches. You will not find a better location: you can actually see the beach from the entrance, the metro station is a block away and the main city bus lines pass right in front of the gate. This exclusive home has 2 bedrooms, both of them comfortable suites with modern bathrooms, air conditioning, fans, new comfortable beds and large bright windows. It's the perfect spot for couples, families, friends and single travelers. The inn is acclaimed as one of Rio's best bed and breakfasts. It is rated 5 stars and was winner of Trip Advisor's Excellence award in 2012 and 2013. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and helping them get the most of their visit. Check out our reviews on bedandbreakfast and TripAdvisor. We were closed for renovations but opened in April of 2014 again. World Cup dates still available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Dolphin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rio Dolphin House to your Saves list