We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 441 Rio de Janeiro accommodations

El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro

Praia de Botafogo, 462 Casa 9 | Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22250-040, Brazil (Botafogo)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro to your Saves list
El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
68%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Bernard B Paris, France
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    77
    44
    20
    22
See reviews for
11
22
90
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The worst hostel ive been at in whole south america. The crew is unpleasent and some of them are even mean. Iv'e been roobed there and in return the staff expeled me from the hostel, in claim that my searching bothering the other guests, without even trying to help (or check the cameras?!). Moreover, There is not enough bathrooms and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear guest We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management More

Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very friendly staff. Very basic private room without private bath. But I also stayed at another hostel/pousada in the neighborhood which offered much better value at same price. Close to Botafogo metro station which is convenient to all tourist spots

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear Bernard Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay was very short, so I have little to say about the facilities. Knew the surroundings, but not the hostel. I can say that the service was excellent. The people working there are very friendly and competent. I'd go back another time and recommend it to all who are in Botafogo.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear Wilson First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The First Hostel in Rio I stayed. I love it!!! location; close to the Metro, lots of restaurants, banks and near the Botafogo beach. meet a lot people in this hostel with great stories that they tell. lots of positive energy in the living room/bar/desk area with great music tunes always playing. yeah the toilets and beds aren't number 1... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear Gianfranco First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in the Misti for 5 nights. It was a great experience, the Botafogo beach isn't for swiming but it's great to spend some time thinking about the void ! The breakfast is great but you have to wake early because if not there will no be food for you. The place isn't a palace and there are a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear Marcus First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A cool place with attentive and friendly staff. Well sanitized and close to everything that matters in Rio de Janeiro. The accommodations are what you expect from a hostel, however, left nothing to be desired.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When you charge $100 US per night I would expect certain things to work to stay in a hostel. Only 3 out of the 5 toilets were working during the World Cup, I was told I had to move rooms because a girl wanted to have her boyfriend in the same room after I had already stayed there for 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The staff were very friendly! The hostel is in a great location right next to the underground, great for getting to Copacobana. The breakfast was amazing, great way to start the day. The only problem was the wifi was awful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear Michel Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More

Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great place, really good location, near everything and have a great view of the christ.The staff is great (lucia, mariano and nico) they help me with all, is awesome to find help in the city. Botafogo is one of the best places in rio, good bars, restaurants, shoppings, you have principal streets to go everywhere

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear Joha First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Right in the middle of Copacabana, Lapa, and Santa Teresa. Right next to the metro too with access to lots of bars and restaurants. Mariano, Clemente, Carolina, and the rest of the staff...awesome!!! Really good for the value, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review

Dear Nick! First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro

Address: Praia de Botafogo, 462 Casa 9 | Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22250-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Hostel Botafogo - Rio De Janeiro Brazil

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Other (30)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Rio de Janeiro with
any amenities