We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 470 Rio de Janeiro accommodations

El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada

Praia de Botafogo, 462 - Casa 9, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22250-040, Brazil (Botafogo)
Hotel amenities
El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
FlaviaRosaBR Uberlandia, MG
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    114
    56
    25
    23
See reviews for
17
30
125
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (378)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (174)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Uberlandia, MG
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's a hostel, and a hostel for many people, so your expectations should consider that. One point is that this place will suit better party/laid back people. Positive: 1-Staff nice and helpful in an informal way 2- as clean as possible considering quantity of people in 3- good location, near the metro, many bus lines, bars, restaurants, a mall, banks,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Misti H, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management More 

Monce-en-Belin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel would be the one with the best location in the neighbourhood. At walking distance from both the metro and the beach. With a few choices of restaurants and juice parlours in the vicinity. It can be quite noisy if you're staying by the courtyard though. Or else this hostel is located in a one way alley which makes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Misti H, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Just stayed there and I`m amazed with the nice ambience, extremely gentle staff and great structure. Remarking it was my first time staying in a hostel, I really recommend the El Misti Botafogo, coming as a tourist or even (like me) for a quick business travel. Wifi internet is great, no complaints at all. Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Misti H, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear… First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

If you want to be close to everything, and I mean Everything, be in the coolest environment and with all the info about every single outing and activities possible, El Misti, in any of their locations, is your call! I absolutely loved it since I got at the door, the location, the music, the house, the incredible vibe and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Misti H, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear… First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I really liked my staff at Misti Botofogo. The staff were super helpful, directing me all around the city public transportation, food, and entertainment options. They speak English, Spanish, and Portuguese, which is awesome. I stayed in a room with 5 others, but the bed was comfy. There were a lot of Brazilians staying in the hostel, and I heard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Misti H, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More 

Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

It is a huge hostel, with lots of people. We also had a room right next to the where the food is served, so it was very loud. However, the homemade(!) food was very nice and we only stayed for one night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear! First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

fresh cocktails, outstanding cuisine, always very fresh and plenty off if you chose to eat there but very handy with affordable restaurants . Mariano was very helpful with hardly any language barrier.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear George!! We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management More 

Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

me and a friend stayed there for nearly a week: - very friendly and helpful staff! I was sick on my first day in Rio, and one of the staff members accompanied me to a hospital to translate for me as I don't speak any portuguese (thank you Mariano :-)) - excellent breakfast is included (fruit juice, coffee, tea, cheese,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear Anna!! Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

The worst hostel ive been at in whole south america. The crew is unpleasent and some of them are even mean. Iv'e been roobed there and in return the staff expeled me from the hostel, in claim that my searching bothering the other guests, without even trying to help (or check the cameras?!). Moreover, There is not enough bathrooms and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear guest We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management More 

Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Very basic private room without private bath. But I also stayed at another hostel/pousada in the neighborhood which offered much better value at same price. Close to Botafogo metro station which is convenient to all tourist spots

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear Bernard Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada

Address: Praia de Botafogo, 462 - Casa 9, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22250-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Other (30)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby