We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 449 Rio de Janeiro accommodations

El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada

Praia de Botafogo, 462 Casa 9, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22250-040, Brazil (Botafogo)
Hotel amenities
El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada to your Saves list
70%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mhbnr Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    88
    48
    24
    23
See reviews for
14
27
106
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (315)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (131)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a huge hostel, with lots of people. We also had a room right next to the where the food is served, so it was very loud. However, the homemade(!) food was very nice and we only stayed for one night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear! First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

fresh cocktails, outstanding cuisine, always very fresh and plenty off if you chose to eat there but very handy with affordable restaurants . Mariano was very helpful with hardly any language barrier.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear George!! We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management More

Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

me and a friend stayed there for nearly a week: - very friendly and helpful staff! I was sick on my first day in Rio, and one of the staff members accompanied me to a hospital to translate for me as I don't speak any portuguese (thank you Mariano :-)) - excellent breakfast is included (fruit juice, coffee, tea, cheese,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear Anna!! Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

The worst hostel ive been at in whole south america. The crew is unpleasent and some of them are even mean. Iv'e been roobed there and in return the staff expeled me from the hostel, in claim that my searching bothering the other guests, without even trying to help (or check the cameras?!). Moreover, There is not enough bathrooms and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear guest We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management More

Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Very basic private room without private bath. But I also stayed at another hostel/pousada in the neighborhood which offered much better value at same price. Close to Botafogo metro station which is convenient to all tourist spots

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear Bernard Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My stay was very short, so I have little to say about the facilities. Knew the surroundings, but not the hostel. I can say that the service was excellent. The people working there are very friendly and competent. I'd go back another time and recommend it to all who are in Botafogo.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear Wilson First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The First Hostel in Rio I stayed. I love it!!! location; close to the Metro, lots of restaurants, banks and near the Botafogo beach. meet a lot people in this hostel with great stories that they tell. lots of positive energy in the living room/bar/desk area with great music tunes always playing. yeah the toilets and beds aren't number 1... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear Gianfranco First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed in the Misti for 5 nights. It was a great experience, the Botafogo beach isn't for swiming but it's great to spend some time thinking about the void ! The breakfast is great but you have to wake early because if not there will no be food for you. The place isn't a palace and there are a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear Marcus First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

A cool place with attentive and friendly staff. Well sanitized and close to everything that matters in Rio de Janeiro. The accommodations are what you expect from a hostel, however, left nothing to be desired.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

When you charge $100 US per night I would expect certain things to work to stay in a hostel. Only 3 out of the 5 toilets were working during the World Cup, I was told I had to move rooms because a girl wanted to have her boyfriend in the same room after I had already stayed there for 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada, responded to this review

Dear We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada

Address: Praia de Botafogo, 462 Casa 9, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22250-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Botafogo Hostel & Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Other (30)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay