We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pousada Magia Verde

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Rua 5 - final | Bairro Portal de Paraty, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23.970-000, Brazil
Special Offer
LAST MINUTE - 15% OFF
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pousada Magia Verde
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

Staying at this hostel is awesome. They have very comfortable rooms with your own hammock. Clean and modern bathrooms, clean swimming pool, great breakfast. The only problem is the location. It's located at the end of the town and takes about 30-40 minutes from the historical center. All in all a great stay.

Helpful?
Thank parindshah
S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde, responded to this review

Really thanks for your comments and compliments, we are working to improve further the inn. We hope you come back again soon and next time you can use the bikes to go to downtown (it will take only 5 minutes as the distance is 1.600 meters – about one mile). Luís Audrá More 

Chatou, France
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

Ok my first impression was not that good. Location not ideal, only Portuguese spoken at the reception. And above all the double room suite I booked the day before was actually not available, what is a problem when we are 5 for 3 places to sleep. Fortunately, the owner (speaking well at least French and English) turned to be very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mordicus
S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We hope to improve a lot yet. Anyway a new English/French new receptionist began to work. Hope see you soon. Luís Audrá More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

This is a lovely pousada full of nature with a very friendly staff. We had a few slight disappointments. We did not get the room we had reserved, though we did get a similar one and it served our purposes. The room we chose had a tub, which was very nice and worked well. Ample hot water. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kacy B
S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde, responded to this review

Dear Kace Thanks for your compliments we were really happy and motivated with them. Sorry for the A/C problem, it suddenly has broken and we didn't know that he had that noise. We are fixing it now. Luís Audrá More 

hayling island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights during carnival week, everything in Paraty was booked up so we were lucky to get a bungalow for four, if you are used to trekking or camping then the accommodation will be ok although a bit tired everything was clean and comfortable fresh sheets and towels everyday, good breakfast every morning and if you are lucky... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank barneybing
S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde, responded to this review

We are happy that you’ve enjoyed your staying with us. Hope you’ll come again and sure you’ll see everything better. Cheers. Luís More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This "pousada" is a bit far from the center of Paraty. But not that far: forget the laziness, walk 20 minutes breathing this fresh air. Rooms are good, big comfortable bed, wi-fi, clean bathroom. Pool is so small that it seems more like a bathtub (do not be fooled by pro pics they show). But i's OK for relaxing a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Fernandosouzafilho
S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde, responded to this review

We’re happy that you enjoy your staying here, we hope you’ll come back soon and find out that the inn is better and better. Best Regards. Luís Audrá. More 

Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were really disappointed with our experience, unfortunately. Only when we arrived, we were told, they had fully booked and changed our reservation to nearby guesthouse, and not told us before. The next door guesthouse was not good. We would never have booked that place ourselves and thought of going home early. Not a good experience. This place also has... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Johannafamily
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This pousada is very nice in many ways, situated on the river in a quiet spot (there was dredging and trucking next door while we were there so relaxing round the pool, not quite finished with renovations, was not an option during the day) and surrounded by lush gardens. Our room and bathroom were fine, although when first entering it... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Niknikjw
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here three nights. We recommend this Pousada for those who look for a quiet place. On their website it makes the impression that the Pousada is near the center of Paraty - this is not the case. By foot it takes more or less half an hour to get there. Although the Pousada offers bikes for free -... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank retoandjenny
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Very nice staff, great location riverside (Pereque-Açu river), great continental breakfast, the hotel has been able to preserve nature and still provide great accomodations. If you're traveling to Paraty-RJ and you intend to be accompanied by friends or family this would be a perfect place to stay during weekends or hollidays. Great cost/benefit.They let me stay a little bit longer... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Scattolini
Emmen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

After the Big-City Rio de Janeiro we really enjoyed the silence in the small city Paraty. The Pousada Magia Verde has really a very beautiful garden with a little pool to relax. The garden in our room (bungalow) wasn't that nice so we hasn't use it...

Helpful?
3 Thank staerndli12
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.6 mi away
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
#12 of 25 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#19 of 25 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#14 of 25 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chale Recanto da Praia
Chale Recanto da Praia
#10 of 25 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pousada do Ouro
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 25 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
5.2 mi away
Casa Amarela Pousada
Casa Amarela Pousada
#92 of 255 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay