We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pousada Magia Verde

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rua 5 - final | Bairro Portal de Paraty, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23.970-000, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Magia Verde
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pousada Magia Verde
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    38
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
54
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

This is a lovely pousada full of nature with a very friendly staff. We had a few slight disappointments. We did not get the room we had reserved, though we did get a similar one and it served our purposes. The room we chose had a tub, which was very nice and worked well. Ample hot water. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde, responded to this review

Dear Kace Thanks for your compliments we were really happy and motivated with them. Sorry for the A/C problem, it suddenly has broken and we didn't know that he had that noise. We are fixing it now. Luís Audrá More 

hayling island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights during carnival week, everything in Paraty was booked up so we were lucky to get a bungalow for four, if you are used to trekking or camping then the accommodation will be ok although a bit tired everything was clean and comfortable fresh sheets and towels everyday, good breakfast every morning and if you are lucky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde, responded to this review

We are happy that you’ve enjoyed your staying with us. Hope you’ll come again and sure you’ll see everything better. Cheers. Luís More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This "pousada" is a bit far from the center of Paraty. But not that far: forget the laziness, walk 20 minutes breathing this fresh air. Rooms are good, big comfortable bed, wi-fi, clean bathroom. Pool is so small that it seems more like a bathtub (do not be fooled by pro pics they show). But i's OK for relaxing a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
S_PauloPancho, Owner at Pousada Magia Verde, responded to this review

We’re happy that you enjoy your staying here, we hope you’ll come back soon and find out that the inn is better and better. Best Regards. Luís Audrá. More 

Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were really disappointed with our experience, unfortunately. Only when we arrived, we were told, they had fully booked and changed our reservation to nearby guesthouse, and not told us before. The next door guesthouse was not good. We would never have booked that place ourselves and thought of going home early. Not a good experience. This place also has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This pousada is very nice in many ways, situated on the river in a quiet spot (there was dredging and trucking next door while we were there so relaxing round the pool, not quite finished with renovations, was not an option during the day) and surrounded by lush gardens. Our room and bathroom were fine, although when first entering it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here three nights. We recommend this Pousada for those who look for a quiet place. On their website it makes the impression that the Pousada is near the center of Paraty - this is not the case. By foot it takes more or less half an hour to get there. Although the Pousada offers bikes for free -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Very nice staff, great location riverside (Pereque-Açu river), great continental breakfast, the hotel has been able to preserve nature and still provide great accomodations. If you're traveling to Paraty-RJ and you intend to be accompanied by friends or family this would be a perfect place to stay during weekends or hollidays. Great cost/benefit.They let me stay a little bit longer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Emmen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

After the Big-City Rio de Janeiro we really enjoyed the silence in the small city Paraty. The Pousada Magia Verde has really a very beautiful garden with a little pool to relax. The garden in our room (bungalow) wasn't that nice so we hasn't use it...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Olympia Wa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Great Pousada set in lovely lush garden beside the river. There was misunderstanding with bookings we thought we were getting two bedroom apartment in fact we were offered a one bedroom bungalow with two beds. Not at all suitable for us. Owner was terrific and spoke English, arranged another room immediately . Breakfast great loads to eat . they have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We booked this trip with Booking.com who has confuse description of the acomodations, so the pousada is very good located, beautifull nature, the personal is kind and very friendly, despite the bad in weather in january we had fun and very relax NYE. but for the quality choose the apartments cause the bungalows have less space and are a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraty hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#17 of 25 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#15 of 25 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
#12 of 25 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pousada do Ouro
Pousada do Ouro
#4 of 25 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Brunello
Hotel Brunello
#58 of 241 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chill Inn Eco Suites
Chill Inn Eco Suites
#27 of 149 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay