We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pousada Caminho Do Ouro

#3 of 25 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Estrada Paraty-Cunha no km 4 - Caixa Postal 74.660 | Ponte Branca, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970000, Brazil
Special Offer
Package Deal
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Caminho Do Ouro
Management photos View all
Pousada Caminho Do Ouro
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    92
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
274
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (388)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (93)
All months
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Certainly the greatest discovery of our trip to Brazil. My friends and I booked 3 rooms right after Christmas and wanted a change from the classic near beach accomodations to something a bit more special or exclusive. We opted for Caminho do Ouro as it seemed more in touch with the local culture and located just outside central Paraty which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho Do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Smail, What a delightful words to read! We do thank you for the friendly visit that you and friends made us in last December. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. We know you are on the other side of the Atlantic, but if one day you come back to Brazil, think of to visit us again.... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We choose this B&B because of the great tripadvisor ratings. Maybe that's why we were a little disappointed. Positive points The accommodation was nice, if a little basic. The breakfast area was on a wooden deck above the secluded leafy edge of a river and the breakfast was good and very satisfying. The restaurant (usually weekends only) is highly rated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho Do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Nigel, Thanks for your comments, even though not all of them are as good as we would appreciate hearing or that we do not fully agree with your views. In fact, we regret that you did not understand our proposal and have been led to believe that you would find here some kind of therapy (applied by the owners),... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

It was a magical weekend. Calm and comfortable place. The French restaurant is magnificent. Highlight for the excellent care given by the owners. Recommend for couples seeking tranquility and good food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho Do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Eduardo, Thanking you so much for your wonderful review. It was a great pleasure having you stay with us and we're so pleased you enjoyed Pousada Caminho do Ouro. We hope see you again soon. Our best wishes, Adriana & Christophe Legond More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My experience: A quiet and charming place. The water river sound embrace your sleep. The warm and simpatetic welcome of the owners was completed by the delicious meal offered by the Cheff of the Le Bistrô. Voilà.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho Do Ouro, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado Juarez, Obrigada por sua visita e, também, por esta gentil avaliação. Foi um prazer ter recebido vocês em nossa... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I went there last weekend with my husband, and everything was perfect. Marvelous place, perfect food, and best treatment by owners. And Paraty is very close, and very easy to leave your car in a parking area, so you can stay there, and enjoy your stay, and will not be a problem to go to downtown. The restaurant was amazing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho Do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Giovana, It was very nice meeting you at last week-end. Thanks for you visit and also for this kind review. We hope to have another chance to welcome you into our home one day. It will be a pleasure! Kind regards, Adriana & Christophe Legond More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My partner and I spent two nights during the week between Christmas and New Years. The poussada has four rooms, all nicely decorated. The gracious and very helpful owners are a husband and wife, and their niece helps out and showed us our room. The café da manha is excellent with fruit, homemade pastries and crepes, cheeses, juices, and coffee,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho Do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Gregory, Thanks for your very kind and extensive review about us. .We are sure future guests will be able to use most of your information as a guideline for future visits. We hope to have another chance to seeing you again at Pousada Caminho do Ouro. It will be a pleasure for us! Best regards, Adriana & Christophe Legond More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just passing by Paraty, was there only for one night but it was enough to convince me for the next time I am in Brazil I will make sure to go back and stay a couple of nights. Have been to Paraty many times and always stay in different places but that one was the best. The owners are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho Do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Vitor, Thanks for your very kind review. It was nice meeting you here. We hope to have a chance to see you again one day. It will be a pleasure for us! Best regards, Adriana & Christophe Legond More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A wonderful place to stand. Great room service (they cleaned up all my clothes!! unbelievable), the breakfast is a greatfull differential (thay have salt caramel and is suits with anything! Tasty!!)and the Voilà Bistro has a wonderful french food, good music, good wine and good vibe. And Paraty is not so far. With a car you arrive in 5, 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho Do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Mari Nogueira, Thanks for all your comments and compliments. The satisfaction of our guests is always our double satisfaction. We love to host people and pamper them from beginning to the end. Only one point left us unhappy and we would like to clarify it. You say we put a cleaner that smelled strong (capim limão) and it bothered... More 

Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay near Paraty! Much has been said, and yes: it's a wonderful place, very well run by lovely Adrianna and her husband, very good (even though expensive) French restaurant. Rooms are beautifully designed (we stayed in Nr 3) and delicious breakfast is served on a balcony over a river. It's a 10 minutes ride to the city,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho Do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear J V, Thanks for your comments. We are very helpful you had apreciated our place. Best wishes, Adriana & Christophe Legond More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Previously to booking this pousada I looked at some reviews on tripadvisor. I was looking for a charming place with good service and the reviews here were giving me this impression. When we arrived at the pousada, I found it cute but not a paradise as some here says. We didn´t receive any special attention from the owners. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho Do Ouro, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezada Renata, Agradecemos por sua avaliação, embora ela não tenha sido muito amistosa ou construtiva. De toda forma, sempre relevamos... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

282 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (220)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (60)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (19)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities