We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baia do Joao Pousada

Rua das Primaveras, 32 | Praia de João Fernandes, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baia do Joao Pousada
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Baia do Joao Pousada
Baia do Joao Pousada
Baia do Joao Pousada
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    31
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
76
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Absolutely gorgeous! large balcony with a million dollar view. Breakfast was minimal but very good and I had no success getting the wifi to work, and the people that work there spoke 0 English so it was hard to ask for anything. But the rooms were nice with a large shower that also had an ocean view

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed in Buzios over World Cup. After trying to find hotels, I had to settle on booking a pousada as I couldn't find any listed online (dig a little deeper, there are tons of beautiful ones all around) for the same price. Baia do joao pousada is situated on an incredibly steep hill - I am not exaggerating, it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Beautiful little hotel with the most amazing view of water, beach and hills. Clean, comfy room with TV, big shower, large patio and a good bed. Super friendly staff, tasty breakfast, good food, drinks, pool, parking... Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here for a weekend in early January. A friend and I shared a room on the top floor and another friend and her husband stayed on the ground level. It was a really lovely little place with amazing views. It's totally worth paying up a bit for the top floor. Our friends' room downstairs was fine, but ours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BDJINSTITUCIONAL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in our simplicity and traditional feel, true to the real Buzios style. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes, More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The rooms are NOT AS ADVERTISED!!! We've were in Buzios for 4th of July. After reviewing the review from the airline pilot that stayed there for 8 nights in January, I figured that it was a good place to stay, what a mistake. First of all... I learned with tripadvisor and booking.com that if the place doesn't have a 90%... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BDJINSTITUCIONAL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We regret not to have been able to satisfied your request of changing to an see view room because we were booked-out. Best wishes. More 

Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at this Pousada for 8 nights in January. I am an airline pilot so I travel for a living. This is one of my favorite places that I have ever stayed. A beautiful Pousada with an incredible view, meticulously maintained, and very friendly staff and owners. The owner Ricardo is a great host and makes you feel like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Like most others, we enjoyed our our week. Buzios is a great place, and like other such resorts, there is a wide range of accomodations from quite basic to uber luxe. This hotel is moderately priced for Buzios, you get a great view of the bay from atop a hill, a nice sized pool, a very warm, personable staff, especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We found this place ourselves and went personally to book as we were loving Buzios so much that we changed our plans and needed two extra nights! As we were travelling with a teenager we needed a bit of space for us all. In the previous hotel we were cramped but here we had basically joining rooms and were much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed 10 nights at the hotel in April 2012 in one of the Seaview rooms were more than happy with the overall experience. Like every hotel there are positives and negatives but we felt the good things greatly outweighed any of the bad. In terms of the good things the views from the seaview room are amazing! You have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Baia do Joao is not the worst hotel we have stayed at but to be fair to all the other hotels around the world we have reviewed on Tripadvsior it can only get 1 star as the quality is so far out of proportion with the price. It is basically a B&B charging 5 star prices. Even if they reduced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MARIAGERENTE, Manager at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this review

We always welcome well-intentioned criticism from travellers like yourself, however I must inform you that in our country a 5-star hotel tariff is at least three times higher than ours. We believe all your demands were quickly met from the moment you checked-in, albeit without having seen your room or become aware of our services, until just before you left.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay