We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Misti Yellow Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Rua Mandragora, 13, Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Misti Yellow Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
El Misti Yellow Hostel
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    75
    51
    20
    5
    12
See reviews for
7
16
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hostel is very nice, it is always clean and the staff is very nice, it is also near downtown(10min) and some great beaches. We stayed there on a weekend and there was a party in the bar with live music. The caipirinhas are great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Misti H, Gerente at El Misti Yellow Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

Amazing place and the staff is great. It was a friendly experience!!! The breakfast is delicious !!!!!! The pool had and cool size and always clean!!! The tv program was perfect for me and the guys. Soccer all the time!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Misti H, Gerente at El Misti Yellow Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ivan, We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

the hostel is very warm (atmosphere).most of the people in that time was atgentinians...wich are always good company.the showers and the guest's computer is somehow always the weak side of el misti.the water was not very warm and the computer didn't work.but the great staff let me use the reception computer for that reason.the breakfast is good..but el misti botafogo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Misti H, Gerente at El Misti Yellow Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Nimrod, Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

really cozy place, nice people, i would definitely go back there. but keep in mind thats its a really simple hostel with really simple breakfast and really simple rooms and bathrooms that can be really messy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Yellow Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ana, We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Management El Misti Yellow More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights and since i got there i felt welcome, there was people sitting, singing and playing instruments every day. The hostel is well located, close to the center and close to the beaches. The staff was always willing to help me out, giving me information, suggesting me where to go and what to do. Thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Yellow Hostel, responded to this review

Dear C. First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management El Misti Yellow More 

Buzios, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hostel is a really nice hostel. Their facilities are good, great breakfast, nice dorms and clean! The atmosphere is perfect and on Saturdays they have really fun parties. I felt very welcome and had a lot of fun when I stayed there. Especially the receptionist and bartender Gary was very friendly and helped me a lot with information about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mistihostel, Manager at El Misti Yellow Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Malin, First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management El Misti Yellow More 

Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We originally came to Buzios for 3 nights but ended up staying for 4. We enjoyed Buzios for the relaxed feeling which is totally different to Rio. We stayed in a double room with bathroom. It was clean, not spotless, but clean enough. The breakfast was good and the staff very helpful and friendly. The hostel is a short walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Yellow Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Rachael! First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Nice, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Perfect location, and lovely staff. The pool was really nice althought is a hostel. I recomend this place if you want to spend a weekend in buzios and meet some people to go out. Meet some great people from Brazil and Argentina that were traveling around,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Yellow Hostel, responded to this review

Dear M. We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Management More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

It was a good hostel, I really liked the common areas and the environment. Although the rooms were not extremely clean they werent filthy neither. I met great people there, and we went doing tourism together. As I said, this hostel meets its main function

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was impressed how this hostel got so famous providing a service like that. Im gonna write down some of the problems i could notice on the really short time i spent there. First impression: I got to the reception and it seemed like there was no one there. I was looking for information and the guys in charge couldnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay