We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropical Tambau

Certificate of Excellence
Av. Almirante Tamandare 229 | Praia de Tambaú, Joao Pessoa, State of Paraiba 58039010, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Tropical Tambau
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Joao Pessoa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Review This Hotel

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    414
    184
    44
    27
See reviews for
427
211
45
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (936)
  • Mar-May only
    (167)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (230)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (315)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (224)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Our room is "renovated"...yes...in 1980! It is clean...with a terrible stench of desinfectant. Rooms with a seaview may be smelling of algae... some people did mind. Building is nor ugly nor beatiful. Breakfast is correct but not even up to par with regular Brasilian hotels' breakfast for that same price range of hotels. People were nice... i wouldnt have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr(s). Mhellerman, We thank you for your comments and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We inform that our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations, and this process occurs in a... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This hotel is listed as a four star, however, I wouldn't give it more than 3. Back in the days it must have been ultra modern and fancy, but those days are long gone. Most of the place needs urgent renovations. The location (on the beach) and its pool facilities are amazing. Breakfast is also a big plus, lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Chuchi60, We thank you very much for your comments. We highlight that our guest’s observations are very important and allow us to improve our positive aspects and to correct our operational failures. Our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel... More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

once upon a time this must have been a fancy place. The circular structure is like the new Apple HQ in California. Rooms are basic. Really basic. Try to get one facing the sea. Breakfast was good lots of choices with local flavours. It was good! the pool and poolside is nice. The beach is ok. lots of food choices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oporto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was a very nice hotel in the eighties when it belonged to VASP airline company. They did some renovations inside some rooms but the outdoor look needs as well. Breakfast is a plus-lots a variety. Staff very kind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is nice architectural speaking, but is very old with a lot of problems on maintenance, with poor wifi, outdated TV and cable, weak shower and bath.The breakfast is unusually bad for Brazilian pattern and take in account the high rate paid. The pools are clean. No service on the beach. Location is great, walking distance to good restaurants,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Natal
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I always wanted to stay at Tambaú Hotel. The hotel is considered to be a post card of the city and I was curious about how it would be from the inside. The rooms are quite old dated, but are spotless and all the other shared spaces are quite clean and neat. You have the ocean bumping at your window,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Very nice infra, two pools near the beach. Mid size room low equipped, old tv set, no room sound system. Silent air conditioned. Ask for a Remodelled room facing the sea. Don't accept old stink ones. The beach is 20 meters from the hotel door. Its a very calm, no waves beach. The medium temperature allong the winter is about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kent
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
54 hotel reviews
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on several occasions and have given it good to average reviews depending on the room. The hotel is in a good location on the beach at Joao Pessoa near all the restaurants and beach facilities. Unfortunately on this occasion we had a disastrous experience. We were located around rooms 460 as a large family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very disappointing experience and such a ling walk to get out to the street from your room !! This place was once no doubt The Best Hotel in this City but like many places in Brazil it was not kept up just bled for the dollars !! and now living off it's reputation. Rooms are terribel and so is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Campinas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

A good hotel for big events, service/apartments are OK too. On the downside: the beach where the hotel is placed is not a good place for swimming/diving, since there is too much sand in the water. Also, the wi-fi is not free, and is not available in the apartments (at least not in the one where I stayed).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

377 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (365)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (102)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question