We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropical Tambau

Av. Almirante Tamandare 229 | Praia de Tambaú, Joao Pessoa, State of Paraiba 58039010, Brazil
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tropical Tambau
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I paid for a two bedroom, a balcony and view. Got a living room and bedroom, balcony does not exist and view is not to the ocean but to a horrible garden.... And this is the "view" they sell. Place is sold out, hate my room and where I am. Never again. Be very careful placing a reservation at this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walt-FL
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Walt-FL, We thank you for your comments and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services and correct operational flaws. We encourage our guests to contact the Front Desk during their stay in case of any problems,... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

Tropical Tamabu in Joao Pessoa is located at a terrific place on the beach. The property is a somewhat old, and the lack of funding for maintenance is now showing. Nevertheless, I had a comfortable stay. The hotel is shaped as two concentric circles, with the reception at the centre of the ring. The rooms are not the most modern,... More 

Helpful?
Thank SierraBravo
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr. SierraBravo, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Hotel. We are constantly seeking to improve our quality, therefore, feedback from our guests is very valuable to us. We inform that, currently, our Hotel is undergoing a gradual restauration of its facilities, due to our proximity to the ocean, which imposes special care. This... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

I was part of a large group attending a conference in J.P. The common conclusion was an important degree of insatisfaction, tempered by some attractive amenities. Rooms are rather bare and more suitable for families on a beach vacation. Cable TV: all channels are dubbed to portuguese. Wifi is spotty, tends to saturate quickly if many people online. Breakfast is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Anthony H, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Hotel. We are constantly seeking to improve our quality, therefore, feedback from our guests is very valuable to us. Regarding the wifi, we are sorry for any inconveniences, and would like to inform that we are working with specialized professionals to improve the quality... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

I have had one of the worst stays in a long while here. The rooms haven't been updated since 1973 and the wifi is basically non-existent in spite of asking in advance of booking the room. Also, the rooms are infested with several different types of ants. The locks on the doors are sketchy at best and so are the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lazanski
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. lazanski, We thank you for your comments and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services and correct operational failures. We inform that, currently, our Hotel is undergoing a gradual restauration of its facilities, due to our... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

It´s hey day was probably on the 80´s. Great pool area and efficient staff, although rooms need renovation urgently. Good value for the price but off course they cannot charge more for that. I would return just because of the decent price I got.

Helpful?
Thank Tony H
Teresa D, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tony H, We thank you very much for your comments. Our guest’s observations are very important to us, since they allow us to constantly analyze and improve our services. We would like to inform that our Hotel is undergoing a gradual restauration of its facilities, and this process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Our room is "renovated"...yes...in 1980! It is clean...with a terrible stench of desinfectant. Rooms with a seaview may be smelling of algae... some people did mind. Building is nor ugly nor beatiful. Breakfast is correct but not even up to par with regular Brasilian hotels' breakfast for that same price range of hotels. People were nice... i wouldnt have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mhellerman
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mr(s). Mhellerman, We thank you for your comments and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve our services. We inform that our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations, and this process occurs in a... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This hotel is listed as a four star, however, I wouldn't give it more than 3. Back in the days it must have been ultra modern and fancy, but those days are long gone. Most of the place needs urgent renovations. The location (on the beach) and its pool facilities are amazing. Breakfast is also a big plus, lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chuchi60
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Tambau, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Chuchi60, We thank you very much for your comments. We highlight that our guest’s observations are very important and allow us to improve our positive aspects and to correct our operational failures. Our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

once upon a time this must have been a fancy place. The circular structure is like the new Apple HQ in California. Rooms are basic. Really basic. Try to get one facing the sea. Breakfast was good lots of choices with local flavours. It was good! the pool and poolside is nice. The beach is ok. lots of food choices... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZuluMike
Oporto
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was a very nice hotel in the eighties when it belonged to VASP airline company. They did some renovations inside some rooms but the outdoor look needs as well. Breakfast is a plus-lots a variety. Staff very kind.

Helpful?
Thank henriquemourao
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is nice architectural speaking, but is very old with a lot of problems on maintenance, with poor wifi, outdated TV and cable, weak shower and bath.The breakfast is unusually bad for Brazilian pattern and take in account the high rate paid. The pools are clean. No service on the beach. Location is great, walking distance to good restaurants,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AldoMF
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

644 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (632)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (133)
Viewed
View from room (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
Family/play areas (15)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (246)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joao Pessoa hotels
Cabo Branco Atlantico Hotel
#17 of 38 in Joao Pessoa
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Hardman Praia Hotel
#14 of 38 in Joao Pessoa
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Manaira
Verdegreen Hotel
Verdegreen Hotel
#1 of 38 in Joao Pessoa
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Corais de Tambau
#5 of 38 in Joao Pessoa
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Laguna Praia Hotel
#3 of 38 in Joao Pessoa
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Ibis Joao Pessoa
#8 of 38 in Joao Pessoa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay