We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Rock Inn & Bait Shop

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1200 Lake Shore Drive, Ashland, WI 54806
River Rock Inn & Bait Shop
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    99
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
57
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Bristol, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

When traveling with dogs its often difficult to find decent lodging. We were pleasantly surprised when we found this place. The decor is very cute, you feel like you are in a cabin not a motel. And it is impressively clean!! There is a shop with fresh fish and an outdoor grill and patio available for guests to cook their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverRockInn1, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. Happy you and your dogs enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the future.. possibly for a longer stay :) More 

Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a nice clean place to stay. Good location. You can walk to bars and restaurants or walk across street to bike trail. We loved the bed. Very comfortable. We will definitely be back. The room was small, but had everything we needed: micro, coffee, tv, shampoo ad soap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverRockInn1, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the room. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Minneiska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Truth be told I have only been to the bate shop/store but it's a must stop when I'm in town for the charm and smoked fish. Nice local food- love buying local! They have sausage, cheese, honey and of course bate. The shop is small and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverRockInn1, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to stop in our shop and write us a wonderful review. Maybe next time we can show you the rooms as well. Look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We ere very happy with our accommodations. The room was clean, comfortable and we loved the unique north woods decor. As a fisherman I felt totally at home. We were in the middle of a 9 day road trip and whereas we may have stayed in fancier hotels, none was more comfortable. We had no complaints. Would return any time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverRockInn1, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. We want our guest to feel at home and comfortable so we are glad to hear you felt that way. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had high expectations after reading the reviews, but, unfortunately, we can't write another glowing review. Here are the flaws. When we opened the door, the room reeked of pine sol and we had to open the windows to air it out. Now, I appreciate the disinfecting of the room, but it was too much. When I went to bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverRockInn1, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review; we appreciate all feedback. Sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We hope you come back to our area to visit again even if you choose not to stay with us. More 

Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose to stay at this inn based on great to excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We booked room for two nights - Check in went well, customer service was fast, efficient and friendly. Room was nice; clean, and bathroom/shower was quite modern. We were in Room #5, definitely more character (decor) than your usual hotel room "(Very North woodsy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverRockInn1, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was helpful. Hope you will think of us again the next time you are in the Ashland Area. More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Drove seven hours for a night away for Father's Day. Arrived at 3:30pm and was given a room. Was extremely excited because the outside looked lovely. Opened the door and room was not clean. Went back into the office and was informed that it would take the young sweaty boy a couple of hours to clean the room. That is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverRockInn1, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review

The only accurate statement from this individual is that their room was not clean when they arrived. This person did not stay at River Rock Inn. They were asked to leave our property when they used very foul language. I as the owner attempted to apologize to them but they would not have it, instead I was insulted and berated... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came across this place while driving from California to Michigan. Great little place, bait shop/office. Lake superior across the street. Room was beautiful! Wood floors, king size bed, huge bathroom with very large shower. Kitchenette if wanted. Nice kitchen table. Bistro table/chairs outside each room. People so nice. Pet friendly. Motel like with parking in front of room. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiverRockInn1, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while on your long trip and hope you will consider us again when traveling through Ashland. More 

dhahran
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I admit it, we tend to pass by old-style, park-at-the-door motels unless we've read some awesome reviews. so, when my hubby suggested we pull into the River Roxk Inn & Bait Shop along the shores of Lake Suoerior in Ashland, WI, I stayed in the car surfing for alternatives and let him check out the room. I shouldn't have bothered.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RiverRockInn1, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. We love when people are unexpectedly surprised by the room. Hope to see you again in the future. More 

Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the 3rd time that we have stayed at this hotel and I will only stay here from now on. We have previously stayed at the Best Western and the Americinn but this place is much better as it is so much cleaner. Hard wood floors and no carpets make me so happy. You have to wonder how many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RiverRockInn1, Owner at River Rock Inn & Bait Shop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review...glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and appreciate your continued business. We are in the process of switching all our lights to LED so hopefully that will give the rooms a little brighter light. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities