We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Hotel Afonso Pena

Certificate of Excellence
Avda Afonso Pena 3761, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30130-008, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Afonso Pena
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quality Hotel Afonso Pena
Quality Hotel Afonso Pena
Quality Hotel Afonso Pena
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    263
    45
    4
    6
See reviews for
77
107
37
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (575)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (119)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (176)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (142)
All months
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a gret hotel for business travelers or tourists, but their location is not near the main atractions of Belo Horizonte. The guests need a taxi or a rental car to go at Praca da Liberdade, Pampulha, Palácio das Artes, etc. The hotel is clean, good rooms, good breakfast, good staff, but it is not a trendy or boutique... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. Roberto, conforme citado nos comentários abaixo, o Quality Hotel Afonso Pena está em uma localização privilegiada: na região... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
59 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Busyness hotel in a central area of BH. Rooms are big and comfortable. Staff is attentive. Breakfast is decent. Wi-fi is very poor, this can be said about ALL the hotels in Minas Gerais. There is nothing special about this hotel, but it serves it's purpose. Though I think it does need updating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. Guilherme, o Quality Hotel Afonso Pena está em uma ótima localização: na região nobre da principal avenida da... More 

sao paulo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I stay there for one night and found the place very nice. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. It was also silent as well. The breakfast, which is included, has plenty variety of food, fruits and hot items. The wifi internet was included as well. Service was good. I also had dinner and lunch at the hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Sra. Flávia, ficamos muito contentes com sua satisfação e excelente experiência conosco! O Quality Hotel Afonso Pena está localizado na... More 

Sorocaba, SP
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean room, good quality amenities ( Natura) but only the basic. Good breakfast, nice pao de queijo, fruits and bread. If you stay in a high floor you may enjoy a really beautiful view from Serra do curral and the city. Drier did not work. Good shower and small but clean bathroom. We'll located. Quick room service, nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Sr Audrei, obrigada pela ótima avaliação de sua experiência conosco! Já verificamos o funcionamento do secador de cabelos, e intensificaremos... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here a number of times during the recent World Cup ( 15 days) its nice and clean and roomy, nice views from higher rooms. the staff are usually very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is quite small but is in the shade in the afternoon which isn't great. Restaurant is also clean and relatively good but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Sr Graham, agradecemos seus comentários e ficamos satisfeitos com sua ótima experiência conosco! Nosso lobby bar funciona de 15 as... More 

Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Good hotel - very clean and modern - bit far away from the main central area of Belo Horizonte but still has a taxi outside most of the time. Stayed here during the World Cup and there were a lot of FIFA staff here, staff seemed friendly even though they were busy. Recommended for biz and leisure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado hóspede, agradecemos seus comentários e elogios ao Quality Hotel Afonso Pena!! Estamos localizados na principal avenida da cidade, próximos... More 

Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Well located in Belo Horizonte but would say that this hotel is only average at best. The room was ok and the bed very comfortable but had a musty smell throughout my stay. Wifi and internet connection was a bit in and out. Compared to other breakfasts I have had in Brazil it was limited. The gym was well equipped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Sr Ben, estamos em uma ótima localização em Belo Horizonte, na região nobre da principal avenida da cidade! Verificaremos todos... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is NOT a 4-star hotel people. Just look at some of the photos I uploaded. The facilities are 3-star and the service is ok but nothing near 4-stars. The shocking thing is that the rooms are outdated and looks very unfinished. But then again... Brazilian hotels are never good, so unfortunately this is what you get here. This hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado hóspede, agradecemos a avaliação de sua estada conosco. Asseguro que estamos em constante processo de modernização, e a maior... More 

Santiago, Chile
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Granted we were in Belo Horizonte for the world cup when hotel rates are sky high. However for the outrageous rate we paid per night wed expected 5 start treatment and received 3 star. Hotel is well located in a centric nice part of town. Rooms are ok, specially if only to sleep. They had a strange smell so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ggeralqap, Gerente at Quality Hotel Afonso Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado hospede, obrigada pela avaliação de sua estada no Quality Hotel Afonso Pena! Analisaremos seus comentários e tomaremos as devidas... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

...except the fruit salad for breakfast, which is world-class! The hotel was much better in the past and gives a good reason to question, how Brazil with cope with increased influx of visitors during next years world cup. The reception tends to be crowded and most of the staff is overwhelmed with the paperwork, delaying the procedures unnecessarily. Fitness equipment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities