We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bonito Ecological HI Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Rua Dr. Pires, 850, Bonito, State of Mato Grosso do Sul 79290-000, Brazil
Bonito Ecological HI Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015
SamfromNZ Wellington, NZ
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    233
    152
    47
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
103
104
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (443)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (124)
All months
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

My partner and I stayed at HI Hostel Bonito for 4 nights. Overall it was a positive experience, but there were a few things that surprised us. The kitchen was the biggest issue for us. Although they provided kitchen facilities, there was only one gas cooker with two hobs. (I wouldn't come expecting to cook in high season!) No pans... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Ecological HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sam - thank you for your review. The rules must be respected not challenged, we care about the safety of our guests, in the past the stove was 6 hobs but some people do not take care, there was fire and frying with severe burns, also a stove oven explosion because they forgot to put out the flames. In... More 

Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

The hostel it's self is nice, we only camped so cannot comment on the rooms. But the staff are not the friendliest, the WIFI Internet is weak and the excursion booking office are extremely unorganised. Finally the 11pm curfew is very strict which is annoying as the town centre is a 25 min walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Ecological HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hi - you were drunk with other passengers of your group flouted the rules, schedules and vomited. You foreigners have rigid rules and laws in your countries, come to Brazil to mess up ! If you want to mess up go to the streets, in the Hostel have rules and schedules because always have families and people respectful. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Nice hostel with a very nice outdoor facility . Breakfast is very average but lunch and dinner you can order is nice . Be prepared for hot rooms as majority of them do not have aircon and it's uncomfortable to sleep. Staff are helpful some couldn't care less figured out who to talk to quickly . Pretty far from town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Ecological HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hi - thanks for your post - Of course it's hot in the summer ! The hostel has rooms with air conditioning, just ask and pay, but in January is high season period with limited availability - the city center is 800 meters from the hostel - Cherrs More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Not a bad little hostel pool and relaxing areas nice but need a few more hamocks and chairs that are not broken. Staff mostly friendly some couldn't care less. They run the tourist office out of the hostel so all activities are on tap. Be advised that all activities are expensive so be prepared to spend $$$$. Some rooms air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Ecological HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hi - thanks for your post - everything is explained on the website and also at check in, are more than 30 tours with varying prices, from 25 to 200 $real - No tour is expensive, if you see that there is the tour guide, equipment, food, security. You should plan your trips as most do. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We had 6 nights at this hostel. Very good. Nice clean pool, great food at good prices, has a tour office which makes life easier. My only complaint is we were put in rooms with no air conditioner. Other rooms had them. We asked for a move but they were booked out. The best solution was to leave the doors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Ecological HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hi - thank you very much for choosing the Bonito Hi Hostel - sorry, you came in high season, all rooms were already booked - Happy 2015. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

This hostel was a busy and happening place, which says something about its popularity! In close proximity and well connected to many nature trekking excursions, such as the famous bonito river snorkeling adventures. The hosts were fairly nice but this location is definitely not close to a lot of options. We had to walk very far to a single restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Ecological HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jordan - thank you for choosing the Bonito Hi Hostel - We also have private rooms but you come a very busy time to visit Bonito. Happy 2015. More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

I decided to go to Bonito just 1 day before buying my flight ticket. When getting there, the front desk helped me with everything, giving me fair feedbacks about the attractions and to match them with my tight schedule. Furthermore, they offer a complete infrastructure with swimming pool at fair prices!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Ecological HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hi - we appreciate the choice of Bonito Hi Hostel and your post - thank you so much - cheers. More 

Lokeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I went in september, which apparently is low season, few people there. My room didn't have airco, but in september that wasn't necessary. The rooms are basic, but clean and shower was ok. Breakfast was good, you can order some snacks anytime you want with their cook, it's decent, nothing more. They have a travel agency inside which is good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Ecological HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Hans - we appreciate the choice of Bonito Hi Hostel and your post - thank you very much. More 

Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Everything was quite nice including the attitude of staff, clean rooms, common area, good breakfast. It was funny to find our bed every time with a cute style of sheet; unexpected from a hostel:) Nothing to complain and would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Ecological HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hello - we appreciate the choice of Bonito Hi Hostel and the positive evaluation that motivates us to improve more every day. Yes, come back soon. Happiness, success and peace More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Definitely a place for backpackers. You meet lot of people doing a road trip around Brazil who are very fun and interesting! And also people from Brazil, which is good to have a real chat about the country. We loved the hostel, the pool, the hamac area, the restaurant. The team is so helpful! Thanks to the guy who helped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Ecological HI Hostel, responded to this review

Hello - we thank you very much for staying in Bonito Hi Hostel - happiness and success. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

216 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Family/play areas (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay