We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Misti Hostel Salvador

2.0 of 5 Rua Odilon Santos, 158, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-350, Brazil
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Misti Hostel Salvador
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
El Misti Hostel Salvador
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
4
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

It's very nice to stay in the hall, the staff are very welcoming, great people that give any indications without doubt. I would however avoid to pay the low cost suit, wich cost/quality ratio is not as interesting as the shared room, where you can anyway meet very interesting people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Manager at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest, Bernardo. Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable,... More

Recife
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

In the middle of nearly everything with easy connection by public transportation to the rest of the city, great breakfast buffet that pays for the room by itself. Staff was quite helpful, giving information as required and always smiling.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti Salvador and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable,... More

Cali, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

It's good for its price... It's easy to get there (Get down in the "Rio Vermelho" bus stop), staff is pretty kind and the breakfast is nice but bathrooms are often busy, the bed sheet and covers are too old and hygenic conditions aren't the best ones.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management More

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Rooms and bathrooms are old and dirty . Most of the linen are just rags, some sheets and pillow cases are just very old, but pillows are dirty. The bedrooms are tiny, little ventilated for the number of beds. Not even private dorms have a lock and the rooms that are next to the street are noisy even at night.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

this is my honest opinion of the place. location: from the bus terminal, you need to walk over the bridge and catch a local bus. It will take you to a parallel street where you need to cross the road. Pick up a local map from the bus terminal. customer service: extremely helpful, spoke English . cleanness: place was clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear Guest We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management More

Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It's a basic place, which explains the price. Pros: good breakfast, friendly staff, close to Rio Vermelho's nightlife. Cons: if crowded, bathrooms are often busy and hygienic conditions go down. some rooms face a very busy and noisy road. Wi-Fi doesn't work most of the times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you are looking for a place just to sleep and cheap, El Misti is a good choice. The place is not so confortable, but is ok if you are going to spend the whole day out. Breakfast is good, but wake up early, by 10 you won't have much to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

incredible breakfast, extremely lovely staff, good open spaces for meeting people! loved it. on top of it all, very cheap and close to the Rio Vermelho square or otherwise known as Dinha which is must go at least once. highly recomended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest Allister Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable,... More

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The only reason I found it is due to its price. The place is pretty small. The room doesn't look to be very clean. There is a window, but it seems the light is not so good. However, the service is not bad, and the location of the hostel is pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest. We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management More

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights in an 8 bed dorm. Whilst it's not the best hostel we've stayed in the staff and the other people staying here made it. The breakfast is very good, beds comfortable, bathrooms kept as clean as possible with that many people and there's good places to hang out. The not so good things are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Manager at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest Rachel Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable,... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to El Misti Hostel Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Misti Hostel Salvador

Address: Rua Odilon Santos, 158, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-350, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Misti Hostel Salvador 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Misti Hostel Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Hostel Salvador Bahia, Brazil

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay