We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Misti Hostel Salvador

Rua Odilon Santos, 158, Salvador, State of Bahia 41940-350, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Misti Hostel Salvador
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
El Misti Hostel Salvador
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
2
6
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed there only for one night - luckily because I felt so uncomfortable there! Stayed in a 4 bed dorm - the sheets are so old and torn! As we returned to the room after a heavy rain we had a lake in the room - meaning everything was flooded including our backpacks. They told us it happend before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rennes, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I stayed in this hostel for six nights for Carnival 2015. It was one of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in. Before tackling the bad, I will take a moment to mention the two good elements: - The staff. The staff of the hostel are great. I found them always very friendly and smiley. It kills me to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

This review is based upon a five nights stay at the hostel. First off: the check in is easy, friendly and professional. The members of the staff are helpful and will give you any advice you will need. So far, so good. The rooms are very basic - I stayed in a 10 bed room dorm - and simple matters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

I know that for this price we can't ask si much. But even for free I would not stay one minute more in this hostel. I already went in a lot of youth hostel in the world, I know what it this to sleep in a dorm. But I never saw something like that. And come on, we are in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Our first stop in Brazil made us feel at home, the friendly staff helped us cet around the city and gave us tips on where to have a good time. The location is great and the price can't be beat! And the breakfast included is delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Misti H, Recpcionista at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

"Dear Maud First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon. Kind regards, Management " More 

Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

It's very nice to stay in the hall, the staff are very welcoming, great people that give any indications without doubt. I would however avoid to pay the low cost suit, wich cost/quality ratio is not as interesting as the shared room, where you can anyway meet very interesting people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Manager at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest, Bernardo. Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable,... More 

Recife
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

In the middle of nearly everything with easy connection by public transportation to the rest of the city, great breakfast buffet that pays for the room by itself. Staff was quite helpful, giving information as required and always smiling.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti Salvador and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable,... More 

Cali, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

It's good for its price... It's easy to get there (Get down in the "Rio Vermelho" bus stop), staff is pretty kind and the breakfast is nice but bathrooms are often busy, the bed sheet and covers are too old and hygenic conditions aren't the best ones.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear guest We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Rooms and bathrooms are old and dirty . Most of the linen are just rags, some sheets and pillow cases are just very old, but pillows are dirty. The bedrooms are tiny, little ventilated for the number of beds. Not even private dorms have a lock and the rooms that are next to the street are noisy even at night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services. We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

this is my honest opinion of the place. location: from the bus terminal, you need to walk over the bridge and catch a local bus. It will take you to a parallel street where you need to cross the road. Pick up a local map from the bus terminal. customer service: extremely helpful, spoke English . cleanness: place was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fabiana_Saantos, Gerente at El Misti Hostel Salvador, responded to this review

Dear Guest We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case. Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job. Kind regards, Fabiana dos Santos Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question