We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Othon Palace

Avenida Oceanica, 2294 | Ondina, Salvador, State of Bahia 40170-010, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Bahia Othon Palace
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #35 of 108 Hotels in Salvador
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
vanicevalle Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Add Photo

1,506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    401
    685
    314
    72
    34
See reviews for
413
436
59
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1506)
  • Mar-May only
    (360)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (296)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (417)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (433)
All months
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first stay at the Bahia Othon had happened 30 years ago - and the Hotel has not changed that much - in the bad way. It is located in a gorgeous place, facing the sea, but nowadays, this is almost all that lasts. It is a big hotel, but maintenance clearly is not the priority. The furniture is outfashioned,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We appreciate the fact you pointed out some flaws, as those constructive comments can help us to improve our facilities and service in order to provide satisfaction to our guests. We are renovating the building and furniture in many areas of the hotel and several... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very helpful staff, good breakfast, silenced rooms, but old furniture and decoration. Not very close to restaurants and the beach you can use, because the beach close to the hotel is not safe to use. The gym is old and it opens late.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for telling us about your recente stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us due our staff and breakfast. We are renovating the rooms and furniture in order to elevate our guest satisfaction. We look forward ro receiving you again in your next visit to Salvador. Best Regards, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Where can i start.... this hotel advertises on booking.com as a 5 star hotel but it's not, and they know about it but don't care.... we couldn't believe it! the rooms are 40 years old and have never been refurbished at all... the rooms where really dirty with cigarette buts next to the toilet paper and the sink was leaking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for publish your evaluation in Trip Advisor. We regret, however, that our facilities did not reach your expectation. We are renovating the rooms in order to increase our guest´s satisfaction. We apologize for the inconvenient and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is very old, probably from the late 80's or early 90's so it really needs renovations. During my visit, I ordered a burguer which was clearly not made with fresh meat. Internet speed was terrible, which made me prefer 3G rather than using the Hotel's wifi. Breakfast was fine, but should be better for this size hotel. The worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We regret, however, that some of our products/services did not reach your expectation. In the period you stayed with us all the city was without water because of a technician problem with the supplier. So, we didn´t had sufficient to warm.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

My, sister Janaina and daughter had a wonderful time the property is gorgeous the hotel is very well located near to all attractions, the reception staff was very polite and friendly breakfast oustanding the room was confortable with a splendidly view , the location perfect the pool area was also nice the staff all of them Jussara from reception also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for telling us about your recente stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time with us and look forward to receiving you again in a near future. Best Regards, General Manager More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
183 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

This beautiful hotel is on the south coast some distance from Barra and the more popular Pelourinho in Salvador but that is more than made up for by the spectacular sea front setting. It is a big hotel with all the amenities the Othon chain is known for. There are two towers and all rooms have a sea view and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your opinion in Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to accommodating you again in a near future. Sincerely, General Manager More 

Taubate, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We spend a good time. Othon Palace have beautiful panorama; good food, good swimming pool and excellent breakfast. For Family, this Hotel is a good place! And the people than work in this place was friendly and verry nice! In the apartament we saw a turistic point of Salvador.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for telling us about your last stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We are delighted to hear you did appreciate the service we provide. It will be a pleasure to host you again in your next visit to the city. Best Regards, General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I have been to Salvador many times but this was my first time at Bahia Othon. The hotel is in a very good location, it’s a little bit dated, but very clean. I have booked the DELUXE OCEANFRONT ROOM, so I supposed oceanfront would be with a nice sea view. The check in was at 3 pm and we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us due to our location and attendance. We are renovating the building and furniture in many areas of the hotel and several investments have been done to meet our guest needs and expectations. We feel sorry for... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during the World Cup. As many of the other reviews note, this place, while prominent in the area, is not close to anything else. The good news is that every taxi driver seems to know where it is, but that is probably because the place feels like it's been there since the 50s. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us, during the last World Cup. We feel sorry if you were not entirely satisfied and appreciate the fact that you pointed out some flaws, as those constructive comments can help us to improve our facilities in order to provide satisfaction to our... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a huge hotel with magnificent ocean view from the room. However, the rooms need serious updating. The air conditioning is very noisy, giving you the selection of ice cold or too hot. Balcony door won't close, so you should count on some noise from the ocean as well (charming for the first 5 hours of the night...) Wi-fi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor. We regret. However, that some of our services did not reach your expectation. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our hotel. We would like to thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

821 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (801)
Viewed
View from room (137)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (140)
Viewed
Room/suite (103)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (192)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay