We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Othon Palace

Avenida Oceanica, 2294 | Ondina, Salvador, State of Bahia 40170-010, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bahia Othon Palace
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,806 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an affordable hotel, well located, but not that nice! Rooms are big, but simple decoration, old tv. It really need to be remodeled, since it is a lot older than seems in the pictures. It was ok so far, and one mints is the breakfast buffet without options..

Helpful?
Thank Marcilio C
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Marcilio, Thank you for taking time to tell us about your recent stay. We feel sorry for the occurrence and apologize for the inconvenient. On the other hand, you may notice we are renovating the building and furniture in many areas of the hotel and several investments have been done to meet our guest needs and expectations. We sincerely... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff is stressed. The breakfast is bad and lacking alot of stuff 15 min after opening. The wifi can't support all the guests. We were lacking warm water one of the days and the hotel rooms equipment are not repaird when broken. Only 2 people who made it worth staying there were Gustavo and Wesley from the reception. Also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hr K
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the fact that you pointed out some flaws, as those constructive comments can help us to improve our facilities in order to provide satisfaction to our guests. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better on another occasion. Best regards, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Last time I stayed at Sheraton in town, hotel itself was beautifully furnitured and maintenance was very nice, but view was not attractive. Othon Palace is contrary less expensive furniture, but nice location, nice view and convenient to access several points of sightseeing.

Helpful?
Thank carlosdelima
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recente stay with us. We hope to receive you again in your next visit to the city. Best Regards, General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

After reading all the reviews prior to our stay , we were not expecting a 4-5 star hotel. We had also read about all the rooms above 7th floor to be in better condition and recently renovated. Upon our check-in, I casually mentioned we had read the reviews regarding the room conditions. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to... More 

Helpful?
Thank nnaess
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recente stay with us. We hope to receive you again in your next visit to the city. Best Regards, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

The male receptionist who welcomed us was very good and professional and the layout of the hotel itself is good. The hotel is close to the beach and center, but personally Salvador is the worst place I've been to in Brazil (mainly due to high amount of road works) and I really didn't enjoy anything there other than the hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RhysWeston1995
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your trip to Salvador and for sharing your comments with other travelers. We are happy to known you had a good time in our hotel and hope to receive you again in your next visit to the city. Best Regards, General Manager More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

A hotel to avoid; in fact, we shortened our booking, and found somewhere else. From the clumsy internet connection, for one device only, the missable breakfasts, poor service and the generally unhelpful staff. Very few staff speak anything other than Portuguese. The gym summed it up: in dire need of new equipment and tender loving care. I could find very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg M
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We appreciate the fact that you pointed out some flaws, as those constructive comments can help us to improve your facilities and services in order to provide satisfaction to our guests. A new equipament of internet will be installed soon and... More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and found the information on the hotel and the reality to be mis-matched. The reality is that this is a two star hotel at best and one not suited to the business visitor. The rooms are tired, but functional. The gym is hot and most of the equipment is broken. The restaurant has such... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hoofedit
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during you visit to Salvador and for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our facilities and service. The entire team look forward to welcoming you back. Best... More 

Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

I arrived at the Othon after refusing to stay at another property that I had initially booked. So I'll start off by saying I was glad to be there. They put me in a room on the 6th floor. It had a great view of the water but it was really dated. I also began to see small bugs throughout... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim R
GERENCIABOPH, General Manager at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We were most pleased to learn that you had a good time with us. Guest opinion is very important and help us to improve the service we provide. We look forward to receiving you again in your next visit to the... More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
221 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

Since staying at this fine hotel almost a year ago some things have changed. The hotel is a large and aging property on the coast in Ondina and as it ages it requires maintenance. They are quite busy with the repairs and upgrades now. Good work. Some items to note include windows on the room so covered in dirt and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ajaceman
GERENCIABOPH, General Manager at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your views with other travelers. We are renovating the building and furniture in some areas of the hotel and several investments have been done to meet our guest needs and expectations. We do appreciate hearing from customers, as their comments are vital for... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel on the beach in Salvador. ...great location. .. The staff from the front desk. ..just perfect. .being.Australians with no Portuguese. ...so to be greeted with perfect English. .a joy. ..we were so well receive. . The service staff prefect ( as I was sick) they treated me like gold and with great respect as they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tyhgf T
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your review with other travelers. We are happy to know that you had an excellent experience with us and hope to receive you again in a near future. Sincerely, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,043 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1015)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (232)
Viewed
View from room (161)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (162)
Viewed
Room/suite (118)
Viewed
Dining (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Other (236)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
12.5 mi away
Catussaba Resort Hotel
Catussaba Resort Hotel
#44 of 110 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 stars 1,162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Salvador
Vila Gale Salvador
#35 of 110 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
11.4 mi away
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
1.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho
Golden Tulip Rio Vermelho
#36 of 110 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay