We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bahia Othon Palace

#36 of 108 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Avda Oceanica 2294 | Ondina, Salvador, State of Bahia 40170-010, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Bahia Othon Palace
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #36 of 108 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015
Dileusa D
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    656
    293
    64
    34
See reviews for
398
419
58
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1435)
  • Mar-May only
    (320)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (263)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (418)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (434)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where can i start.... this hotel advertises on booking.com as a 5 star hotel but it's not, and they know about it but don't care.... we couldn't believe it! the rooms are 40 years old and have never been refurbished at all... the rooms where really dirty with cigarette buts next to the toilet paper and the sink was leaking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for publish your evaluation in Trip Advisor. We regret, however, that our facilities did not reach your expectation. We are renovating the rooms in order to increase our guest´s satisfaction. We apologize for the inconvenient and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is very old, probably from the late 80's or early 90's so it really needs renovations. During my visit, I ordered a burguer which was clearly not made with fresh meat. Internet speed was terrible, which made me prefer 3G rather than using the Hotel's wifi. Breakfast was fine, but should be better for this size hotel. The worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We regret, however, that some of our products/services did not reach your expectation. In the period you stayed with us all the city was without water because of a technician problem with the supplier. So, we didn´t had sufficient to warm.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

My, sister Janaina and daughter had a wonderful time the property is gorgeous the hotel is very well located near to all attractions, the reception staff was very polite and friendly breakfast oustanding the room was confortable with a splendidly view , the location perfect the pool area was also nice the staff all of them Jussara from reception also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for telling us about your recente stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time with us and look forward to receiving you again in a near future. Best Regards, General Manager More 

Vancouver
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
74 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

This beautiful hotel is on the south coast some distance from Barra and the more popular Pelourinho in Salvador but that is more than made up for by the spectacular sea front setting. It is a big hotel with all the amenities the Othon chain is known for. There are two towers and all rooms have a sea view and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your opinion in Trip Advisor. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to accommodating you again in a near future. Sincerely, General Manager More 

Taubate, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We spend a good time. Othon Palace have beautiful panorama; good food, good swimming pool and excellent breakfast. For Family, this Hotel is a good place! And the people than work in this place was friendly and verry nice! In the apartament we saw a turistic point of Salvador.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for telling us about your last stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We are delighted to hear you did appreciate the service we provide. It will be a pleasure to host you again in your next visit to the city. Best Regards, General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I have been to Salvador many times but this was my first time at Bahia Othon. The hotel is in a very good location, it’s a little bit dated, but very clean. I have booked the DELUXE OCEANFRONT ROOM, so I supposed oceanfront would be with a nice sea view. The check in was at 3 pm and we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us due to our location and attendance. We are renovating the building and furniture in many areas of the hotel and several investments have been done to meet our guest needs and expectations. We feel sorry for... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during the World Cup. As many of the other reviews note, this place, while prominent in the area, is not close to anything else. The good news is that every taxi driver seems to know where it is, but that is probably because the place feels like it's been there since the 50s. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us, during the last World Cup. We feel sorry if you were not entirely satisfied and appreciate the fact that you pointed out some flaws, as those constructive comments can help us to improve our facilities in order to provide satisfaction to our... More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a huge hotel with magnificent ocean view from the room. However, the rooms need serious updating. The air conditioning is very noisy, giving you the selection of ice cold or too hot. Balcony door won't close, so you should count on some noise from the ocean as well (charming for the first 5 hours of the night...) Wi-fi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor. We regret. However, that some of our services did not reach your expectation. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our hotel. We would like to thank you... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Checking in and out was very quick, even during the World Cup. Room was large, with a king bed and a single bed (2 adults and one child). Mattress on the king bed was very hard, awful pillows. Room needs to be updated really bad, furniture and closet were very old. AC working fine. Shower OK. No wi fi at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at Bahia Othon Palace. We are happy to know you had a good experience and your comments are very important for us to continue improving our service. We are renovating the building and furniture in many areas of the hotel and several investments have been done to meet our... More 

Rock Springs, Wyoming
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very unimpressed with this place. There is no beach. There is a TINY beach about 5 minutes walking distance. Not really worth visiting compared to the beaches in Salvador. There are no restaurants, convenience stores or grocery stores in walking distance either. So you are at the mercy of the hotel restaurant, which is decent, I have to say. Still,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you for taking your time ad share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. The will be taken into consideration and shared with the relevant members to improve our service, especially the wi fi. We offer a magnificent ocean view in every room of the hotel and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

792 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (772)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (138)
Viewed
Room/suite (95)
Viewed
View from room (134)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (185)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question