We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pousada Aquarela do Brasil

Hotel website
Rua Maciel de Cima, 23, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-250, Brazil
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Pousada Aquarela do Brasil
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #19 of 138 Salvador B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014
oceanwanderer Brisbane
Review This Hotel

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Brisbane
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
59 hotel reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Although the staff were quite helpful and went to some trouble to sort out my airline booking, I did not find the accommodation particularly enjoyable. The room was large with comfortable beds but there was no fridge, no tea and coffee facilities and whilst they made some tea when requested, we could not wake up and have a quick cup... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GutootuG, Gerente at Pousada Aquarela do Brasil, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, its always good to hear what our costumers think about the service and the place. We are always trying to improve the place, as you may know the building is from the 18th century. We always are crystal clear with our costumer in what we are offering. A home like place inside Pelourinho, with the basic,... More 

Adelaide
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

When i booked this place Aquarela Do Brazil, it was advertised as a hotel, which it is not, far from it, more like something in between a bed and breakfast and a hostel. They have a list of rules stuck on the back of the door, see pics. Located near the main square of Pelourinho in Salvador (I would avoid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GutootuG, Gerente at Pousada Aquarela do Brasil, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience, its very important to us to know what´s good and whats not so good about our place and service. Your booking was not made directly with us. We provide full and truly information to our suppliers, but unfortunately we cannot grant that the third parties envolved are always working as they are supposed to be.... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Comfortable spot, steps from the main square in Pelourinho. I really appreciated Cesar and Edina's warm hospitality. Don't miss the record shop across the street, and Geronimo's performance nearby on Tuesdays. Simple rooms without A/C, but the breeze in the evening and a fan kept the room comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GutootuG, Gerente at Pousada Aquarela do Brasil, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for staying with us and sharing! It’s a pleasure for us to have such a great opportunity of working with well-being of many good people coming from so different places. We always try to provide useful information when we see the person wants or need it. On the future we may be installing A/C, but its a long... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Pousada is very well located if you want to be located in the old part of Salvador. It's a couple of hundred yards from the Pelourinho square and close to everything you would want to see in this fairly compact part of the city. The people who run it are very friendly, very helpful and easy to communicate with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GutootuG, Gerente at Pousada Aquarela do Brasil, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for sharing your experience with us and the community. Sorry for the salty eggs! I had it too, thought it was just an error on mine, but we have warned Ninha again to avoid excess on salt and sugar. (By the way our juices are made from the fruit, with no sugar added). Waiting for you next year!... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
80 hotel reviews
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This B & B is right in the heart of Pelourinho and an easy walk (wear good shoes as it is all cobblestones) to all the attractions. Edina and Caesar were good and helpful hosts. Caesar spoke English, Edina spoke Spanish and French or we often used the translator on the PC which worked quite well. Our room was basic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A really comfortable place in the heart of Pelo with caring owners and very reasonable rates, which are hard to find in this area if you wish to have a certain standard. The beds are new and very comfy, room is clean, tv and fan available; though the decoration is quite simple, the room feels cozy. You can close the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lima, Peru
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were lucky, we met the owner who was very kind. Eventhough they were renewing the hotel, they received us and treated us family. Delicious breakfast and located in the center of Pelourinho. The street at night was amazing. Im definitevely coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question