We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Galeria 13

Certificate of Excellence
Rua da Ordem Terceira, 23 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-260, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Hostel Galeria 13
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Hannah W Davis, California
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    326
    125
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
96
168
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (478)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (128)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Davis, California
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a great hostel for solo travelers. The breakfast in the mornings is a great way to meet people and plan activities for the day, and the capirinha happy hour (be careful they are strong!) brings everyone together in the evenings. The location is great, right in the middle of Pelouhrino, and it's an easy walk to Escalera Ladera.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I really appreciated the breakfast with fresh fruits and home-made juices and cakes. The caipirinhas during the free hour are really good and appreciable ! The staff was really kind and the situation very good too. I hightly recommend !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a lovely time staying at Galeria 13. The staff was friendly and it was a good place to meet fellow travelers. The delicious breakfast until noon was the jam! The place was clean and totally affordable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gotta say, thoroughly enjoyed our time at HG13! Albert, Barbara and all the staff were efficient, helpful and super-friendly. Private room was good size and clean. Breakfast was delicious, location is nice and central in the Pelourinho. Really nice relaxed and social atmosphere, not to mention the FREE Capirihna-Hour! Also, really nice to have Spartan The Dog wandering around -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a really nice stay in Galeria 13. The hostel is situated in a nice location. Dorm rooms were as clean as they can be if 10 travellers stay in the same place. One fact that really makes the hostel stand out from others is the very sympathetic receptionist Barbara, who helped in anyway she could to make you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for 4 nights to celebrate my 30th birthday, travelling alone. I'm not really a backpacker and comfort was a prime consideration. I booked a private room which was basically like the comfort and privacy of staying in a hotel (complete with private bathroom) but the social culture of a youth hostel. The late breakfast and caipirinha happy hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed 2 nights and then came back for another 3 after going to chiapada diamantina. Great hostel that take cares of its guest. Salvador is a little dodgy and the pelourinho is no exception so they only have one door entry controlled with multiple cameras that provide great control over who enters and exits. Awesome for security! Everyday they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An oasis of calm when those hot bahian days get TOO hot, the place to start some wild nights with refreshing, super boosting, wonderfully dangerous free caipirhinas shared with beautiful people in a perfect location. Woaw! Could not have hoped to find a better stay to end my 8 months of travelling. So go, gooooo explore the beauty of Salvador... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

I've stayed couple of nights in galeria 13, and for me it's just the best hostel I've been to since I'm traveling. The staff is so lovely, the location is right in the center of Salvador, and the atmosphere is awesome!! It's really easy to meet people and to make friends (thanks everyday free caipirihnas from 5pm to 6 ^^).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Hi, to whoever's listening, this is the first time I've been bothered to write a review, as I had such an awful experience. Please don't stay here there's a good hostel called Acai which will be a much much better option. Reason being, they put us in a room in a different building round the corner with no other guests,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
paulomarrtinho, Proprietário at Hostel Galeria 13, responded to this review

Acai is indeed a great hostel ,probably helped by the fact he lived in ours for a year,but heh you booked a double and they dont have doubles. You actually booked the wrong day so we kindly saved the last of our 7 doubles ) for you( so we were certianly not only a 3rd full otherwise we would have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay