We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Galeria 13

Certificate of Excellence
Rua da Ordem Terceira, 23 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-260, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Hostel Galeria 13
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015
AlexandraJ1983 Copenhagen, Denmark
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    124
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
95
160
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (467)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi, to whoever's listening, this is the first time I've been bothered to write a review, as I had such an awful experience. Please don't stay here there's a good hostel called Acai which will be a much much better option. Reason being, they put us in a room in a different building round the corner with no other guests,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
paulomarrtinho, Proprietário at Hostel Galeria 13, responded to this review

Acai is indeed a great hostel ,probably helped by the fact he lived in ours for a year,but heh you booked a double and they dont have doubles. You actually booked the wrong day so we kindly saved the last of our 7 doubles ) for you( so we were certianly not only a 3rd full otherwise we would have... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Normally: I would never stay in a place where you are not allowed to use the kitchen. Having said this, I had too many positive experiences at the Galleria 13 that all of this completely makes up for this one single disadvantage. First of all, and most importantly, all staff are very serviceminded, attentive, happy, smiling and helpful. No matter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Fantastic hostel in the heart of the Pelourinho. Generous breakfasts, small pool to cool off in, friendly helpful staff, lots of advice for getting the best out of Salvador, highly recommended. Lively main hostel, plus quieter lodgings around the corner in a beautifully restored colonial house. Complimentary caipirinhas were also much appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colombia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Very well organized, clean, helpful staff, nice pool area.Best breakfast ever, until noon, even if you arrive early in the day. great place to meet people during one hour of free Caipis! Absolutely recommendable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canton of Solothurn, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

The hostel is very good located (in the city center), from where you can reach everything in short time. The staff is friendly, the location nice and there were a lot of travellers (i was there when it wasn´t high season. And there´s everyday free Caipirinha from 5-6pm. Great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights in Galeria 13 on route to a surf camp in Itacare. The hostel was brilliant. Refreshingly welcoming and helpful (after less positive experiences between São Paulo and Rio), great atmosphere, clean and spacious double room, free yummy caipirinhas, fantastic breakfast and outside dining area, and located in the centre of Salvador. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Lovely welcome by Alberto as we arrived late and I was ill so I couldn't stay to talk. Great location in the historic centre, and staff can show you where not to go. One gripe would be that our bed must've been infested with something - I got no sleep on the last night as I was eaten alive. Left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berg
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Good choice in Salvador (R$40 for the dorm) with excellent location. The common area is not huge, there are only two big tables for breakfast for example. This really encourages the guests to talk to each other, as well as the caipirinha happy hour which gets the whole hostel together to chat and have a good time. I'm not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The place to stay in Salvador especially during carnival. Nice, clean and friendly! I have meet so many amazing people :) and the owners are sooooo cool and I'm not only talking about the dogs ;) More...the best caipi of Salvador is here, made by nice people and the breakfast?! Perfect! I will definetly go back there :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

I loved every minute of my stay here at galeria 13. The owner Pablo is super helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. The rooms are clean and with air con. The only improvement I would suggest is to add some ladders on the bunk beds as they are difficult to get into if you have the top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities