We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Anacortes B&Bs / inns

Islands Inn

2.0 of 5 Inn   |   3401 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98211
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Islands Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Islands Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 9 Anacortes B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
NorthVan BC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as we need a one night stop that was dog friendly. Booked a king room with fireplace. Room was a bit dated but clean and comfortable. They provided a log for the fireplace. The continental breakfast was great with hard boiled eggs and fresh bread- a nice touch. Location is close to a few eateries but not close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seemore59, Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review

Dear NorthVan, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated our breakfast. While we do have an older basic building, we strive to add personal touches to make your stay special. I hope to get to see you again in the future! Yours, Lela More 

Bothell, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I go up to Anacortes about 2 times a month during whale season. I volunteer at the whale museum to keep orcas wild. I have to leave really early in the am and the night before the front desk make sure I have a "care package" of food to go with me. They find a room for me to fit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seemore59, Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review

Holly P, You are such a delight! We always love to have you here, and love that you help out our friends the whales too. Look forward to when we can see you again!!!! Yours, Lela More 

Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We stayed in a big, clean, well-furnished room with a fireplace for one night in October. The front desk was very accommodating and eager to do anything in their power to make our stay more enjoyable. For a couple looking for a quiet, affordable getaway in Anacortes, this place won't disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seemore59, Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review

Hello Amanda G, Thank you for the kind review! I'm so glad you had a lovely stay and that you got to take that important romantic getaway! Should we get to see you again, I have now gotten in those locally made chocolates to go with the wine in the Romance package :) Have a grand day, Lela More 

Redmond, WA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We've stayed at Islands Inn several times over the past years. The staff is wonderful. The rooms are a bit dated, but always clean and comfortable. The breakfast is great, much better than the typical motel's free breakfast. Some of the rooms have a murphy bed in the living room, which is perfect for when our grandson stays with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seemore59, Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review

Dear sshifton, It is our joy to have you here with regularity! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you the next time you can visit. Lela More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

First the good parts. The desk clerk was very helpful. We had reservations for two queens but I asked about anything larger and she was helpful enough to let me look at alternatives. The family rooms with the Murphy bed had several rooms but the Murphy bed came down and took up the entire living space, so we stayed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seemore59, Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dee W, Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm so glad you enjoyed our dedicated service and our breakfast. We take pride in these items. It sounds like you were in a standard room on the ground floor. The rooms on the upper floor have the lovely view, but the rooms with multiple beds are... More 

Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Anacortes for a family reunion. The reviews on Tripadvisor weren't spectacular, but acceptable. Plus, the hotel had a pool. Although the place was dated, the new owners had tried to spruce things up with new paint, that is, until they ran out. The stairs were only half-painted. The flight to the top floor had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seemore59, Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review

Dear Milhaud 12, We are utterly ashamed of the poor job done by housekeeping in the case of your room. We hold to high standards here, and although the very large majority of our guests find their rooms very perfectly cleaned, this incident was so unacceptable in our eyes that it has sparked an overhaul of the housekeeping department. Quite... More 

Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Let me start by saying that the young lady working at the counter on the night (8:30pm) of Friday, September 5th deserves a raise. She was extremely polite and helpful and is an asset to the motel. We arrived late on a Friday night for a weekend event in Anacortes. We needed a motel that would allow a dog, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seemore59, Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lyoninfire, Thank you so much for your review of our Inn! I'm so glad that our staff provided you with excellent customer service! I will make sure to bring your comments to the owner. I will also discuss the issue of getting air-conditioning in the rooms that do not have it. We will be making many improvements to our... More 

Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed in the fireplace room on the upper floor. The inn is more of a 60s style motel, with access to the rooms from the outside. It's a bit dated, with green carpet, but was clean and roomy. The fridge and coffee maker were in the bathroom, which seemed odd, and the alarm clock was across the room, inside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seemore59, Front Office Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review

Dear Evelyn A, Thank you for your review of our Inn! While our building is dated, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here, our pool and our friendly staff. While very few rooms have green carpet, we will be looking into some improvements this winter to update some of these items that you've mentioned. We pride ourselves in taking the... More 

Lacey, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The website makes it much more enticing and the reviews on Trip Advisor were positive, so I was a little Leary when we pulled up to find a 50's style motel. The decor is definitely dated..but the king size bed had new mattress and was very comfy. The staff were very responsive to the one issue we had ( the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seemore59, Front Office Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review

Dear AnnaDan M, Thank you for the lovely review! While we know our motel is dated, we pride ourselves in providing our guests with quality service and cleanliness. I'm so glad you enjoyed the breakfast! should you stop in again, ask for Lela: I'd love to greet you personally! Yours, Lela More 

Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I planned for a 2 night stay at this Inn. The room was dirty, the carpet stained and did not appear to be vacuumed, dust on the furniture, and had a general feel of griminess. We even were charged NIGHTLY for our small dog. We figured we could endure almost anything for 2 nights - until we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Seemore59, Front Office Manager at Islands Inn, responded to this review

Dear Harry W, I am so sorry you had such a poor experience at our motel! Honestly, I am shocked and appalled as our standards of cleanliness are much above your description, and I am gravely disappointed that we did not show you the levels of service and cleanliness that we expect at this hotel. While we now that our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Islands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islands Inn

Address: 3401 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Islands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Islands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islands Hotel Anacortes

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay